8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385, +5 = 50 +6=61

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
Hello All, will someone look at my spreadsheet and tell me if the pmps of 385 today is a bounce?
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385

I think it could be. It looks like when he hits a blue, he tends to scoot back up to red or black pretty quickly (other than last night).
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385

Little tigger, please stop! You are making me dizzy watching you.
It does look like the blue streak was longer this time. Maybe we are on the right path.
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385

I'd suggest increasing Jean Luc's dose tomorrow. You can either wait until the bounce clears or, if you're able to monitor, you can increase in the AM. There's always the potential of the bounce breaking as you increase. If you can monitor, it's OK but if you're not going to be around, I'd wait until the bounce clears.
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385

I increased to 1.75 on Wednesday. Is it to soon to increase again? How much of an increase are you thinking?
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385

If you review the protocol, you can increase as soon as 4 cycles but we typically suggest an increase after 6 cycles. (I miscounted and the increase would be due tomorrow night.)
"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose:


Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385, +5 = 50

+5 = 50; Gave him 1 tbsp of canned w/d. Anything else I should give him? Lowest he has been. He is acting normal.
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385, +5 = 50

You should test again in 20 mins. Only feed about 1 teaspoon at a time, you don't want to fill him up. Woohoo, Jean Luc! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Get on that surfboard.
Liz
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385, +5 = 50

Guess I gave a little too much this time. Will test again.
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385, +5 = 50

Be sure and read the sticky about handling low numbers.

Especially this part:
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

Liz
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385, +5 = 50

Thank you for the reassurance. He is starting to go up.

10:00 50
10:02 48; gave 1 tbsp w/d canned
10:21 51
10:33 54
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385, +5 = 50

You're doing great. Make sure you post each time you test so we don't worry about y'all. :-D

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385, +5 = 50

Good job! Have you fed him any more? Do you know the % carb of the w/d? Keep coming up, JL, then get on your surfboard!
Liz
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385, +5 = 50

No food with gravy, but can dilute the w/d. At what point can i let him rest? I am exhausted!
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385, +5 = 50

Not to burst your bubble, but a 50 to a 54 is pretty much the same numbers. A 50 is safe so there's no need to panic. It can take a few more minutes for the food to be metabolized and bring numbers up. Just repeat the process until you have Jean Luc's numbers up a bit more.
 
Re: 8/24 Jean Luc Pmps 385, +5 = 50

Was JL diagnosed in May? If so, it looks like JL gets a reduction to 1.5u in the morning. Congrats! It would be nice if you would do a profile and include basic info like diagnosis, age and insulin in your signature so we don't have to guess. If you need help, someone will be happy to help you.

Also, please update the subject line as you get new readings. And you can remove the 911 symbol as that tends to raise blood pressures because people get so worried. You are doing fine and so is JL.
Liz
 
Here's the link for creating a Profile.

You'll want to get another test. Numbers can wobble around as the HC wears off. Also, don't be surprised if Jean Luc bounces. That was a BIG drop by +5.
 
We are at 61 now at +6. Knowing he will have LC food (1/4 can FF) available in 1 hour. I think I can try and sleep. My little guy is very happily purring on my thighs in the bed. He must like how he feels....

I will update/create profile tomorrow. He has been on Prozinc May 2012 to 8/16. Lantus 8/16 to current.
 
Good luck with the reduction.

One suggestion. If Jean Luc does bounce into high (over 300) numbers tomorrow, you can "shoot through the bounce." In other words, shoot the 1.75u and then take the reduction at the PM shot. By holding off on the reduction, you can help the bounce to clear.

(Remember to update your SS, as well.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top