8/24 HEATHY PMPS +2.5 -223 but w/ new meter!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heathy and Mommy

Member Since 2011
Dece]ased yesterday from 2Units to 1 Unit.
Checked PMPS +10 244
AMPS 266
+2 156
Will check again at +5

My Question still is. Is it safe to increase dose to 175Units since he earned a decrease yesterday and I messed up w/ the dose?
Do I follow the 6 dose reg...or go ahead and increase? Thanks
Also I'm working on the link from yesterday


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =9&t=50629
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY +2 162 after 1Unit decrease...

Good morning!! I don't have any advice but wanted to say hello. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY +2 162 after 1Unit decrease...

jill said go right back up to 1.75 to help him get back on track.

you're doing fine - there is just a lot to learn, but we'll help you learn it. hang in there. i remember how confusing it all was, even reading and re-reading the protocol it took people helping me understand it for it to sink in. just know that this is a proven technique for diabetic cats - i've been here since february and probably an average of once a week cats go off of insulin. not every cat, but enough to prove that this really does work.

with the way lantus works you might have wonky numbers for a couple of days - don't let it worry you. hold the 1.75 unless heathy goes below 50.

keep posting your questions and we'll try to help!
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY +2 162 after 1Unit decrease...

Ok Thanks for the replies. I almost wen w/175U AMPS BUT everwhere I read said to hold for 3 days. I'll go 175 this evening. Thank you thankyou and thanks Julie for the link from yesterday. I'll keep working on it.

BTW--Heathy seems to be doing FAB!
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY +2 162 after 1Unit decrease...

Hi guys .. yes, a very nice +2 for heathy this morning .. glad to hear that he is doing so well! It can be a lot to take in and it can be very confusing on upping or lowering doses but there is always someone here to help out with that .. have a great day!
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY +2 162 decrease +5 95 Worry?

tested at +5 95. Should I be worried? OOPs I just retested +7 116. ?????????????????? Still go ahead and increase dose from 1Uto 175U?
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY +2 162 decrease +5 95 Worry?

Yes, it's fine to increase the dose to 1.75u. I thought you did that for the AM shot.

Also, please do not omit the decimal. I would hate to think that you are shooting 175u vs. 1.75u.

The difference between a 95 and a 116 is nominal. There is a 20% variance in the numbers due to meter error (e.g., 20% of 95 = 19; 19 + 95 = 114 -- just about the same numbers)
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY +2 162 decrease +5 95 Worry?

glad you got an answer.

btw, don't forget to edit your subject line of the first post!

maybe it would help you understand if you mentally connect the insulin with the other things that affect the BG - you've got several factors. the insulin dose goes up and down, and we "steer" the BG using high carb food, or the gravy from it, or karo syrup, honey, whatever is sweet - even ice cream if you're in a bind!

then the fact that insulin is a hormone is another factor - think about when your own hormones have gone wonky . . . for me that was an :idea: moment of understanding the insulin!

in the normal course of things when you change the insulin dose the numbers will get weird. have you seen the post on wonky numbers? i'll see if i can find it (New Dose Wonkiness) and bump it up. it's counter-intuitive, but whenever you change a dose, including increasing it, the numbers will go high. in the normal way of thinking, you would increase insulin and the numbers would go lower. that does happen, but not always immediately. with changing his dose yesterday you can expect to not have a "normal" lantus curve until he settles down. changing it tonight is going to do the same thing. each change can take up to 72 hours to settle.

you don't have to panic with lower numbers. there's no danger to your cat til his BG is 30ish, but we start treating when they drop below 50. at 95 - that's a super number. that's in the range of a non-diabetic cat. but if it scared you, you can always give a little food. low carbs would notch the numbers up a tiny bit. high carbs would notch it up a little bit more. dry food would send it high til tomorrow, but it would take longer to take effect.

does that help make it clearer?

also, if you have time, i learned a lot from reading other new kitty's condos. everyone asks the same questions, although with a little twist, so it really helped me understand.
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY +10 225

I guess this is not too bad, especially after the dramatic 1U drop in dose. I'm still game to increase from 1Unit to 1.75U unless?????
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY +10 225; +11 266 PMPS 290 1.75U

Well...Husband & I got the nerve and did it. Upped dose to 1.75U. Whew. Now I guess I have to monitor! Still afraid opf a drop. Will test at PMPS +1 +2 +6 +10+11.
Got my fingers croossed for the Heath! Advice?
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY 266 PMPS 290 1.75U +1300! OMG!

Oh No! Heathy went up to PMPS +1 300. He did eat the hour before. Hopefully the Lantus will kick soon!?!
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY PMPS 290 1.75U +1300! OMG!

You typically want to take away any food after +6, because that's usually when numbers start to rise after the Lantus has had its peak, and giving food an hour before PMPS is a good way to get a false reading. You don't know what his actual BG is because it might be a food spike.
You might want to put another space in your subject between the +1 and the 300 -- at a glance it looks like a BG reading of 1300!
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY PMPS 290 1.75U +1300! OMG!

You're saying that he ate right after the PMPS of 290, correct? So the +1 of 300 is an hour after eating and shooting? If that's the case, the 290 and 300 are virtually the same number, and seeing the same number or even a little higher number at +1 (and sometimes +2, too) is not unusual. It generally does take a couple hours for the insulin to kick in, plus since you had 2 reduced doses, Heathy's shed may be doing a little re-filling, too. Just keep on testing...you're doing fine!
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY PMPS 290 1.75U +1300! OMG!

Just to edit what Emily noted, please do not feed 2 hours prior to shot time. It inflates your pre-shot number. Often feeding past +6 means there's less Lantus available to offset the effects of food.

There is about 20% meter variance. A 290 and a 300 are virtually the same number.
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY PMPS 290 1.75U +1300! OMG!

Sorry -- I read it somehow as you fed him at +11 and his PMPS was 300 because of it, not the other way around. But part of what I said is still true, that is the food spike that happens before the insulin kicks in.
Test in another hour -- but I wouldn't be so worried! :-D You are doing a great job!
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY PMPS 290 1.75U +1300! OMG!

I read it as 1300... That would have freaked me out! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

You don't need to worry much about the numbers bouncing around, even up into the 300s. With the Lantus kicking in, and his pancreas trying to help, and then the liver reacting to low numbers, there is a _LOT_ going on in his little body. You should only get worried from an "emergency" perspective about low numbers. There is nothing you are going to do to react to high numbers.

It's nice to see him back to 1.75u. Because you were down at 1u for 2 cycles, Heathy's "shed" is probably going to be a bit empty, so it may take a couple days for the 1.75u to really kick in.

Fingers cross for lots more blues and greens!
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY-Had to buy new meter! +2.5 223

Well, now PMPS +2.5 is reading 223. But I'm using a new meter because the BD Logic has been discontinued and I couldn't find strips nearby.
So I bought a Bayer Contour. I hope it doesn't affect the numbers too much.
Yes, Heathy ate right after the PMPS 266.
BUt he had not eaten since the + 6 reading.

I'm feeling relieved at the reading 223 . But terrified he might drop like he did yesterday.
He has been sleeping a lot this afternoon and evening but he demanded his wellness wet w/ a few coe sprinkles and ate normal. Not drinking too much water that I've seen and niether he nor the other cat have peed much today. That worries me. But my husband says it normal.

His breathe doesn't smell like acetone. I do have ketones strips ready to test.


I can't help being worried!
 
Re: 8/24 HEATHY PMPS 290 1.75U +1300! OMG!

oh gosh - add a / or space between that 1 and 300! i couldn't think how heathy was even ALIVE with a BG of 1300!

dose wonkiness. remind yourself - you have 72 hours starting tonight to just expect dose wonkiness. every dose change = wonky numbers. don't let them get to you! :YMHUG:
 
Every dose change does not necessarily mean wonky numbers.

Also, if you are only planning on testing for ketones if Heathy smells of acetone, that's way too late. He will already be suffering from DKA. Please get a ketone test at least once or more a week.

The Contour is a good meter. Strips are competitively priced on Amazon, Ebay, Hocks, and ADW.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top