8/24 Harley AMPS 221, PMPS 156

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/24 Harley AMPS 221

Don't worry about a few yellows, it happens. :( I always feel frustrated when I get those with Bix, but we can only do our best. Plus, now you have more data so next time you have to make a choice in a tight spot, you'll have a better idea what to do. It's all part of the process, and you are really doing great!!! I'm sure he'll be back to some nice surfing time soon. :)
 
Ok, here we go again.

So what is our goal now? Do we try to keep him in non diabetic #'s. But how do you do that if I keep a 150 no shoot #, just thinking ahead.
 
gosh robin, i still think shoot the numbers (broken record here) and even if .4 does'nt get you a pretty blue, it's better than nothing right?
 
I think you have to see what #s he gives you. If PSs above 150 aren't giving you good nadirs and you want to consider a lower no-shoot, then you evaluate your data at that point and decide if a lower no-shoot is warranted. Most cats that I've seen on PZI will get a good nadir off a 150 PS, that, and safety reasons, are why I don't like lower no-shoots unless you have a cat who has proved they are needed.

That said, when I say 150 no shoot, I mean you retest and then shoot, I don't mean skipping a shot. If you see something like a 130 in the morning and retesting isn't possible, then I'd shoot a token dose like maybe 0.2 to give him something to get through the day and ensure you'll have a shootable PS in the PM. Then in the PM you reduce the dose from what you gave the night before so you'll get a shootable PS the next morning.

The ideal IMO is to get consistent PSs around 150 - 180. If you get a PS higher than that it suggests your dose is too low, so you fatten it up to aim for a 150 next time. If you get a PS below 150, you skinny up the dose so you can stay on track. And then you test periodic nadirs to be sure you are getting something in the 50 - 80ish range for nadirs. If the nadirs are lower than that then you need to lower the dose even if it means higher PSs. If the nadirs are higher than that, then you can reevaluate what you need to change as far as your PS (or possibly going longer than +12 between shots) to get the nadirs you want. Ideally with PZI those are the #s you will hit, and the 150 has a logic to it in terms of % drop to a nadir. Of course ECID though, but to me that's your starting point, and if your cat doesn't hit the 150/60 pattern, then you reevaluate your strategy.

Just my take. :) PZI is so flexible, you can work it lots of ways. If you are hoping for OTJ, then the more hours he spends in mid to upper greens, the better. If you want to keep him regulated but are less focused on OTJ, then you try to keep the #s consistently in the blues & greens, or maybe under 180.
 
i don't think you have to pick robin. either his pancreas still has the ability to heal or not. your doing all the 5 star treatment. he's eatting the best food, he's getting his insulin and a well thought out dose. he has no stress, he has love.
tonight looks like a .4 or .5
for me anyway.
he's spending so much time in the blues i think things are continually getting better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top