8/24 Ella pmps 190 +2=184

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77731

Good afternoon LL,

A HUGE thank you for all who came to visit our condo yesterday to share your experiences with dental as well as your support. We continue to feel all warm and fuzzy inside from all of your love:)

Bg's are high in the sky over here this afternoon. Ella licked her plate clean at amps but then fell in to a deep slumber unitl +4. When she woke up she was slinking around and I got pretty worried that something was wrong but I convinced her to eat another meal. We decided to go ahead with the consultation with the specialist and have booked the dental for the first week in September as it was the earliest date we could get. I'm wondering if I should increase her dose to 1.25 as this has been her 9th cycle. We did see some greens three days ago but we've been pink ever since.

Thanks!
 
Re: 8/24 Ella amps 410 +4=327 dosecrease?

Hi Tamara

I'd like to go over Ella's SS for a bit - I'll be back to respond to your dose query, ok?

Also, FYI, your profile link doesn't seem to work... Does it work for others?

Jane
 
Re: 8/24 Ella amps 410 +4=327 dosecrease?

Hi Jane:)

Thanks for taking the time to look at Ella's SS. I'm not sure why my profile doesn't work for others as it works for me. I'll have to go back and try and figure out how to fix it. In the meantime, I will paste it in my condo. She is currently having issues with her mouth (gingivo-stomatitis) and is scheduled for a full extraction the first week in September.

At a Glance Ella is a spayed female. She is DSH Calico Date of birth (or an estimate): 07-17-2004 Date of diabetes dx: 12/2011 Status: Unregulated, on insulin Insulin:

Type: Lantus
Concentration: U100
Units per shot:
Shots per day: 2

Oral diabetes medications: None We hometest BG: Yes Meter: Bayer Contour We regularly do BG curves: Yes Hx of complications: PU,PD Current health issues: None Current medications: None Past health issues: Acute Pancreatitis 12/2011 Corticosteroid use: one cortisone shot in 11/2011 Food Brand Name: Wellness Formula: Chicken Consistancy: Wet or Canned Amount fed per meal: 1/4 cup at ps,+1. 1/8+2 Number of meals/day: 5 or more How is food given in relation to the insulin shots? shot time,+1,+2 sometimes snacks throughout the day We use Janet and Binky(GA)'s foodcharts: Yes Other Information about Ella

Ella, the queen of our castle, is renowned for both her feistiness and charm. In her earlier days she was a great acrobatic performer and when feeling energetic, she can still put on a good show. She is known to some of her friends on FDMB as the Otha Lil Stinka or Gracie's Sista from Anotha Mista, as she tends to be dramatic with her doses. While her other friends are surfing, she takes it upon herself to dive and bounce, dive and bounce. She's still getting the hang of things:) Civilians and Other FurKids Civilian cats: Pakia, Nestor and Possum About Tamara

Ella is a dry food addict. She is not particularly fond of wet food but will tolerate Wellness. When her bg is dropping I need to syringe feed her mc or hc.
 
Re: 8/24 Ella amps 410 +4=327 dosecrease?

tpr said:
yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77731 Bg's are high in the sky over here this afternoon. Ella licked her plate clean at amps but then fell in to a deep slumber unitl +4. When she woke up she was slinking around and I got pretty worried that something was wrong but I convinced her to eat another meal. We decided to go ahead with the consultation with the specialist and have booked the dental for the first week in September as it was the earliest date we could get. I'm wondering if I should increase her dose to 1.25 as this has been her 9th cycle. We did see some greens three days ago but we've been pink ever since. Thanks!


Ok, Tamara, I'm back from SS-review. I'm seeing some difficulty, compounded by having to rely on a petsitter in between, to find a good dose. Though the 1.0u has given you some greens, I'm not sure it;s right there to keep those coming. How would you feel about fattening the dose (rather than doing afull increase by 0.25u)? The 1.25u dose did drop Ella into the low greens. Maybe you just skipped past a good dose between 1.0u and 1.25u? Would you be willing to try fattening the dose?

Let's see what the others think, too.
Hugs,
Jane
 
Re: 8/24 Ella amps 410 +4=327 dosecrease?

Thanks for checking things out:) I feel good about fattening the dose but I also feel good about an increase to 1.25 as I'm home to monitor. I am trying to figure out if this is an epic bounce or not. She has had long bounces in the past but I wasn't sure if I should increase if she is going to break soon as she tends to dive when that happens.

edited to add: she earned a reduction to 1 u before I left on vacation but with all the pinks she experienced while I was gone, she may need a bit more to help her break through these bad numbers:)
 
Re: 8/24 Ella amps 410 +4=327 dosecrease?

Hi Tamara & Ella,
Sorry I missed your condo yesterday and just got caught up with Ella's dental issues. Poor kitty! It's pretty clear that the teeth/gums problem is what is causing her higher numbers. Perhaps you should wait until after the surgery and see what happens with Ella's bg rather than giving her a dose increase now. The first week in September is, after all, right around the corner (the week after next).

Rusty has 5 teeth. He does fine. At one point (before we adopted him) he had 9 teeth extracted at once.

Sending some healthy-mouth vines to Ella, and best wishes for a good weekend to you and Greg,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/24 Ella amps 410 +4=327 dosecrease?

Hi Tamara, just wanted to stop by and check on you and Ella. That's great you have her booked with the Specialist first week of September. Good luck on your decision with a fatenning dose. Thanks for stopping by our condo earlier with the wheat grass discussion. Have a nice Friday.
 
Re: 8/24 Ella amps 410 +4=327 dosecrease?

Hi Tamara, No dosing advice, just stopped by to say hello and see how Ella is doing. I hope her numbers settled down and the dental goes well.
You profile link does not work for me either, it opens my own Google site. It looks like the last part of the link that points to Ella's specific page is missing so it opens whatever people have set for their Google sites default. Hope that helps.
Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/24 Ella amps 410 +4=327 +7.5=268 dosecrease?

Thanks for checking in Ella and Ann:) Ella seems to be going down a bit so I'm curious to see what the pre shot number will be. I definitely think her mouth issue is attributing to her wonky numbers. She finally purred for me this afternoon when I brushed her. It was soft but nonetheless it was there:)
 
Re: 8/24 Ella amps 410 +4=327 +7.5=268 dosecrease?

Thanks for letting me know Leslie:) I will try and fix it. Thanks for stopping by!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top