8/24 Dexter M AMPS 124 PMPS 90

DexterMeowgan

Member Since 2021
Clearly needs more / new insulin.

I might just discard the rest of the old pen.

Fiancé is taking him to the vet right now, they only allow one person in the back at a time so it'd be pointless for me to go anyway.

I'll ask any questions I can think of. Any requests?
 
Only an unrelated question. He was diagnosed in April. Has he been on Lantus since? And you started home testing in July?
Was curious about the gap from April to July on your SS :)

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-106-pmps-124-1-132-2-94-3-85-4-99.251855/

He was on Lantus since about a week after diagnosis (Travel time for the insulin + caps) HOWEVER, the original vet said home testing wouldn't be necessary and advised 2U 2x a day. They then upped the dose without home monitoring to 5U since his numbers didn't seem to be going down with their BG monitoring every few weeks.

It was at that point after reading a ton about it I decided it was unsafe and we purchased the Advocate PetTest meter and saw the original numbers I posted.

Turns out that's most likely because he was not only stressed, but we probably were doing fur shots more often than not. We learned about pulling up the scruff & spreading out his fur to get the insulin from the pen in easily. The needle is much shorter than the syringes we have now and it's hard to tell even with the fur back that you get the needle in and hold it in long enough.
 
5U TWICE A DAY? I will never understand why vets don't suggest a diet change and home testing.

I thought that was an immediately dangerous jump, that's where we were getting the 58/67 on a pet meter beforehand. His BG was also all over the place.

We were initially reducing dose from 5U to 1U in steps of 1U each. I unfortunately wasn't writing them down.

I actually think vets should 100% recommend home testing, however, it's not as practical for everyone. I got lucky and it's during a time she works from home and I'm not working.

On 7/31, I believe we were at 3-4U 2x a day still. Had to skip both shots that day lol.
 
Back
Top