8/24 Dexter amps 541; 414 @ +6 :( :(

Hi. I noticed that when I looked at hos spreadsheet yesterday. I was surprised by all the red and black. I wanted to ask you if you could think of any reason for it (contraband food, illness, UTI, ear infection, bad tooth, Anything?) How does he seem to you? Have you noticed anything?
 
🤞🤞 I made a vet appt for Friday just in case. I thought the first high cycle might be a bounce but now it’s been a few days??? :(
I’m glad you did because I am concerned that something could be going on that is causing the high numbers. Make sure to have them check his teeth if he will allow it.

Did you hear that, Dexter? You are going to the vet if you don’t start showing us some better numbers? Time to get back to work with the insulin. :bighug:
 
I’m glad you did because I am concerned that something could be going on that is causing the high numbers. Make sure to have them check his teeth if he will allow it.

Did you hear that, Dexter? You are going to the vet if you don’t start showing us some better numbers? Time to get back to work with the insulin. :bighug:
I’m so bummed. He was doing decent! Just last month at the visit she was able to look in his mouth & she said “his teeth looked good for his age” but I’ll keep you posted.
 
Is your boss back?
I am absolutely exhausted. Three 70 hour weeks in a row. She got back yesterday so I got to leave a lil early but my real days off are this weeknd. Goin to the vet is EXACTLY what I felt like doing. 🫠🫠🫠 (Boss had a good time tho, happy she got to go 💖)
 
Last edited:
Other possible reasons for higher numbers (probably unlikely but tossing them out there):
* constipation
* vial of insulin is old and losing efficacy
* new box of syringes, accidentally got u-100s instead of u-40s.
* raided some people food
* oncoming bout of pancreatitis
 
Other possible reasons for higher numbers (probably unlikely but tossing them out there):
* constipation
* vial of insulin is old and losing efficacy
* new box of syringes, accidentally got u-100s instead of u-40s.
* raided some people food
* oncoming bout of pancreatitis

Thank you!! Constipation is the reason I initially took him to the vet in May & how he got diagnosed but he has been regular.

I just opened the prozinc on 7/15 but maybe something happened?

I’m using u-40s & he hasn’t gotten into any ppl food.

I will ask the vet about pancreatitis! I did last month & she said “I’d know if he had it”, (vomit, no eat,pain, etc…) but I will ask again!
 
Last edited:
Well, I took Marcus back last Monday for a recheck of bloodwork and his liver enzymes returned to completely normal— so that was really good news. He is still anemic though and his white cell count is still high. So we suspect something is going on. On Wednesday I am taking him for an abdominal ultrasound to look around and see if anything is suspicious. I will be quite nervous. He has had a few days where he seems to feel sick and doesn’t want to eat. The last time was Friday. So far he’s been eating well since then.
Other possible reasons for higher numbers (probably unlikely but tossing them out there):
* constipation
* vial of insulin is old and losing efficacy
* new box of syringes, accidentally got u-100s instead of u-40s.
* raided some people food
* oncoming bout of pancreatitis
yep
 
Last edited:
Thank you!! Constipation is the reason I initially took him to the vet in May & how he got diagnosed but he has been regular.

I just opened the prozinc on 7/15 but maybe something happened?

I’m using u-40s & he hasn’t gotten into any ppl food.

I will ask the vet about pancreatitis! I did last month & she said “I’d know if he had it”, (vomit, no eat,pain, etc…) but I will ask again!
I was going to mention pancreatitis but you said he was perfectly normal and eating well, etc. I am sure your ProZinc is fine if you have been keeping it in the fridge and you don’t see any floaty particles in there. You don’t squirt excess insulin back into the vial do you? I mean when you draw too much out, you squirt the excess out somewhere that is not into the vial?
 
Well, I took Marcus back last Monday for a recheck of bloodwork and his liver enzymes returned to completely normal— so that was really good news. He is still anemic though and his white cell count is still high. So we suspect something is going on. On Wednesday I am taking him for an abdominal ultrasound to look around and see if anything is suspicious. I will be quite nervous. He has had a few days where he seems to feel sick and doesn’t want to eat. The last time was Friday. So far he’s been eating well since then.

yep
I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow!! 🤞💖

I’ve been keeping the insulin in the fridge & I haven’t noticed any floaties. No extra shot back into the vial either.

We finally got some action today. Hit under 300 for the first time in days. 👏
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0287.jpeg
    IMG_0287.jpeg
    165.7 KB · Views: 15
Hey. Do you know how to change the text color in those yellow cells to black. The white text in the yellow box is almost impossible to read. There’s an icon at the top of the spreadsheet for text color. I think it has an A in the icon.
 
The most recent yellow ones I have the text set to black? Are we seeing two different things? The last yellow w white text I have is 8/18? I thought I switched it when u mentioned it last time??
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0290.png
    IMG_0290.png
    220.1 KB · Views: 21
Yes we are seeing 2 different things. It shows up yellow background w black text for me. I just realized it might have something to do with my phone set to dark mode (all my blank spots are black). I can just enter it so white text for me & I think it will show up normal for you guys.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0318.png
    IMG_0318.png
    286.9 KB · Views: 15
Yes we are seeing 2 different things. It shows up yellow background w black text for me. I just realized it might have something to do with my phone set to dark mode (all my blank spots are black). I can just enter it so white text for me & I think it will show up normal for you guys.
Don’t worry about it. Not a big deal.
 
Hey. I was just over on your other thread talking about the labs and food, etc. but back to dosing. He needs an increase to 2 units. The 1.75 has been held too long and we need to get him into better numbers! His numbers right now are not good.
 
Thanks, I’m just worried bc the jump from 1.5 to 1.75 didn’t really seem to do anything. I thought I would get answers w the tests. I opened his current bottle of pzi on 7/15 so i am due for new soon but this one still is in the 60day range.
 
I know. I understand. We would have expected to see better numbers with that increase. I can only say that cats insulin needs do change. It doesn’t always work in a linear fashion where we increase and the numbers go down. Sometimes it does, but his best dose is not the one he is currently on. That’s what we know right now. Maybe we can bump him out of these higher numbers. Leaving him where he is now isn’t a good thing.
 
Pink AMPS this morning so I’m hoping for better numbers today. We may have to fast track him a little bit to bump him out of these high numbers. What we do not want to do is let him stay in them much longer.
 
Unfortunately the libre said HI again all day while I was at work. I’m going in to my days off so I’ll be able to test more. I have a call w the vet @ 11:30a. She mentioned a curve but I won’t be able to get one til this weekend. Hopefully she listens to what i have. Scared to tell her I upped it to 2U since she already annoyed w me. I have to ask her for libre & pzi rx. I still think there is a reason he’s running so high but I don’t know. 😩
 
Im unsure bc it was working when we had the good cycle last Friday and then it has said HI pretty much all week but he’s been high on the relion. It’s on day 11 though so it will be changed this weekend.
 
Me too, but I don’t know what either.
No uti. No bad teeth. No vomit. Poop is normal. Lot of pee bc high #s. We didn’t test for pancreatitis specifically even though I was asking about it but she said “I’d know if he had it”. I have to ask about no wbc on blood test for infection. I don’t think she took his temperature so I don’t know if he has a fever. I don’t think anything happened to insulin bottle. Ahh.
 
No uti. No bad teeth. No vomit. Poop is normal. Lot of pee bc high #s. We didn’t test for pancreatitis specifically even though I was asking about it but she said “I’d know if he had it”. I have to ask about no wbc on blood test for infection. I don’t think she took his temperature so I don’t know if he has a fever. I don’t think anything happened to insulin bottle. Ahh.
I thought I saw a WBC on there.
 
Back
Top