8/24 Corv, AMPS 236 +2 97 +4 102 +6 159 PMPS 172+2.5 192

It's probably not the test strips. He's more than likely bouncing from that lovely green yesterday. Here is the definition from the New to the Group Sticky Note:
  • Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
I'd test him as soon as you get back home. Hopefully not much longer than hour. That's a really steep drop to +2 meaning he will drop a lot in the next hour.

I noticed your spreadsheet says you shot 0.5 units this morning. Yesterday he earned a dose reduction down to 0.25 units as his new dose. 0.5 units looks like too high an insulin dose.
 
Which brand of syringes are you using? Some have fatter barrels, some thinner. On the thinner ones, the lines are further apart so easier to see what is in the middle. There are also tricks like craft magnifying head lamps that help you see. Some people use digital calipers to measure the dose size. Dosing with calipers

think the 2/3 can of ff helped him stay flat after that drop
It probably did. Typically we'll suggest people give a small meal, more like a couple tsps, when kitty firsts hits green to help them stay flat. 91 and 102 are still pretty close though.
 
I'd guess that he's bouncing from that steep drop from AMPS to +2. In spite of you doing the right thing and feeding him at +1. The extra food after may also contributed to the rise.
 
yeah that .25 was so hard to judge, i currently have these, if i switch to the U100 3/10 cc 12.7 mm will those be easier to judge a .25u since its longer? just need a gut check — thanks!
IMG_4484.png
 
Personal preference, but I liked the 31G needles vs the 29G. Larger number gauge means thinner needles and easier to poke. I also liked the 8mm length. The 12.7 is the length of the needle. With the same brand syringe, you'll likely have the same width of barrel, meaning the unit markings will likely be in the same place for both of the models you linked.
 
ah shoot! i need to find a smaller but longer barrel, then! pretty sure i basically had nothing in there as +2.5 is up 20 points 🙃 might have to try the caliper method
 
Last edited:
Back
Top