8/24 Champ AMPS 398, +6.5 249, PMPS 309, +2 254, +4 133

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Condo from 8/22

I have no idea what the hell is up with these numbers. I raised Champ's dose again last night and his numbers still aren't showing any improvement. So we went from a dose of 0.75u (and earning a reduction on the last shot of that dose) and almost ALWAYS being below 100, getting sick and stopping eating so I couldn't give him insulin, getting better and eating again and still not needing insulin, thinking we were starting an OTJ trial, needing insulin again, possibly having an allergic reaction to something (maybe new food) and developing bumps/hives, numbers continuing to climb and increasing insulin dose, bumps/hives completely healing up, and numbers continuing to climb and increasing insulin again. His numbers were so much better on half the amount of insulin when he was sick than where we are now when he's well. His insulin isn't old. I have my patience pants on and tightly belted, but it's very hard to find my optimism lately. I'm going to give it until the weekend, raising his dose whenever I'm allowed per protocol, and if things haven't improved, I'll get some new insulin and see if that makes a difference.
 
Re: 8/24 Champ AMPS 398, +3.5 316, +6.5 249

Oh Patty my friend!!! I can feel your frustration in your post. I'm not gonna say any of the things we normally say because it just doesn't matter when their numbers are high for no known reason. Just get extra darling patience pants (or I can send mine altho you never know when I'll need them back so I'm kinda not reliable in that respect :lol: :lol: :lol: ). Here....this one is for you:

frozen-margarita_~k2744114.jpg


Oh..and my personal favorite:

51qorO2SRbL.jpg
 
Re: 8/24 Champ AMPS 398, +3.5 316, +6.5 249

Oh Patty, we feel and understand your frustration! I wish I understood the "whys" and had an answer for you. But Trixie has done the same exact thing to me, several times. I know it feels disheartening today, but you will find the new magic dose and Champ will be green again before you know it. Who knows...maybe it is the insulin.

I hope you're able to relax a bit tonight....looks like Marje offered a few good suggestions for ya :-D !
 
Re: 8/24 Champ AMPS 398, +3.5 316, +6.5 249

I'm sending you good vibes! We all know that frustration, just when you think you have a handle on things, the sugarkitty changes their mind. You are doing a great job!
 
Re: 8/24 Champ AMPS 398, +3.5 316, +6.5 249

Oh Patty! I am so sorry. I totally understand your frustrations. I wish there was something I could say to help. Just know that I am thinking about you and sending lots of hugs. It seems like a never ending battle and it is starting to wear me down as well. I just feel like I am chasing and getting no where. ((((Patty))))
 
Re: 8/24 Champ AMPS 398, +3.5 316, +6.5 249

Hi Patty,
Focus on the fact that Champ is well again. Bounces and health traumas can take a while to settle back down to normal numbers. It's a good thing you've got a belt on those patience pants! Take one day at a time. Champ will get back to his good numbers soon. There's a good way to see if it's the insulin, however: open a new pen!!!

Enjoy your margarita and have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/24 Champ AMPS 398, +3.5 316, +6.5 249

Y'all always make me feel better and are able to put a smile on my face!!! Marje, you're a mind-reader!! I'm definitely going to make myself a cocktail tonight and, since I'm going to the store in a bit, I do believe I'll pick myself up a chocolate bar!!! I've never seen Ritter's sport, but it sooo reminds me of a Cadbury's so I may have to do a Cadbury's fruit & nut!! I refuse to even feel guilty about it!!! Thirty more minutes and I'll be doing our PM test feed shoot. Paws crossed that I don't have a reason to keel over!!
 
Re: 8/24 Champ AMPS 398, +3.5 316, +6.5 249

any chance the insulin got contaminated or left out? i think i'd try the new insulin, but hang on to the old pen so if the numbers don't change with the new pen you could still finish out the old one.

other than that, no ideas. i understand the frustration. can i come along for the chocolate and drinks? bean party in cyberspace?
 
Re: 8/24 Champ AMPS 398, +3.5 316, +6.5 249

Okay, Champ. Time to help your bean with some good numbers... that belt on her patience pants is getting pretty tight! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

We've all been there, Patty. Hang in there!!
 
Re: 8/24 Champ AMPS 398, +3.5 316, +6.5 249

I decided to visit some condos tonight and was scrolling down and saw Champ's name. Then I saw the numbers and thought "What is up with those!!' As long as all other factors have remained the same, I would suspect the insulin, too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top