? 8/24 callie Dosing advice for PM shot. BG at +6 today after reduction is 79. +11 192,

Status
Not open for further replies.

Glennie

Member Since 2016
Every time we try the .5U it's a failed reduction. But we'll see what happens this time. I already gave reduced dose this am. any thoughts?

so I was talking to the doctor before my surgery on Tuesday and he asks if I have any questions.
My question--bet someone guesses...Will I be able to give my cat her insulin with the bandage on? He looked a little startled and said he's never had that question before a surgery. At the time my main concern, but now it seems a little funny.
 
Funny story! :p

Just a comment on your notes in the SS - you said Callie earned a dosecrease with the 72. That should say a reduction/reducie. A dosecrease is an increase. :)
 
Glad Glennie earned a reduction!

Last year I was being scheduled for a procedure that would potentially have kept me in the hospital for 5 or more days. After discussing it all with my doctor he asked me what my concerns regarding the surgery were: I said I didn't want to stay in hospital that long because I needed to be home to take care of the diabetic cat! Funny how huge a part of our lives these furry little bundles of love occupy!
 
So Callie's +6 BG was 79 after her reduction to .50U. What do I do now? Hold that dose or go down? I will blame pain pills on not thinking clearly. She's never gone this low after a reduction this soon.
 
Glad Glennie earned a reduction!

Last year I was being scheduled for a procedure that would potentially have kept me in the hospital for 5 or more days. After discussing it all with my doctor he asked me what my concerns regarding the surgery were: I said I didn't want to stay in hospital that long because I needed to be home to take care of the diabetic cat! Funny how huge a part of our lives these furry little bundles of love occupy!
That is funny! Probably his first time with that concern also. :D Our doctors could talk! LOL So what did you end up doing? Yes, their care is a huge part of our lives--the little loves. You don't even think that will be your first concern, but it is. :cat:
 
What a great story!! :D:joyful::smuggrin:
Congrats and good luck on the reduction.
Thanks, Alicia! I don't think it's a failed reduction since her +6 BG was 79. But what do I do now? Stay at .50U or go to .25U?

Did you read Squalliesmom's story above? Same thing except a more serious surgery and first concern was too long of a hospital stay because of her kitty. Pretty funny!
 
I love your story. You have your priorities right. Yes, she earned a reduction with that 72.
I think my priorities are right also. LOL

Now she just tested at +6 with a 79. What now? I keep asking, but I don't know if it will get seen since it's on the same thread.
 
Now she just tested at +6 with a 79. What now?
It's probably the depot from the 0.75 units influencing the numbers. If she isn't still low at PMPS, I'd hold the dose and see what she does tonight as long as you can monitor. Can you get a +11 and post it and ask for advice?
 
It's probably the depot from the 0.75 units influencing the numbers. If she isn't still low at PMPS, I'd hold the dose and see what she does tonight as long as you can monitor. Can you get a +11 and post it and ask for advice?
I was going to say the same about the depot still in play.
 
It's probably the depot from the 0.75 units influencing the numbers. If she isn't still low at PMPS, I'd hold the dose and see what she does tonight as long as you can monitor. Can you get a +11 and post it and ask for advice?
thanks, Carla. I will do that. Appreciate the input.
 
Last edited:
So +11 was 192, high enough to shoot the reduced dose of .5U, but do I reduce again. Any input so appreciated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top