8/24 Bubbas AMPS 393

Bubbas and Katrina

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-23-bubbas-amps-236-11-107.280790/#post-3097331

AMPS 393. Had to skip his PM dose last night cuz he was in urgent care for 7 hours. I was planning on doing a curve Saturday to see if he needs 2 units now instead of 1.75. Should I hold off until next weekend to do the curve when he’s been back on insulin for 7 consistent days? Or should I up it anyways since he’s been on 1.75 units for way more than a week and the lowest I got him was 107?
 
Sorry to hear that sweet Bubbas has pancreatitis. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Usual treatments are something for nausea and vomiting if need be. Cerenia for vomits, ondansetron best if nauseous. Also it's painful, so some pain med. Possibly fluids too if he's dehydrated.

How is his appetite today and how is he feeling? Antibiotics (what kind was he given?) can ruin the good tummy flora and make them feel nauseous. You may need to add a probiotic, given a couple hours apart from the antibiotic if he seems off his food.

You don't need to hold the dose for 7 days, the depot should be built up again in 3 days. You could still get a curve in on Sunday if you can do it then. Note that pancreatitis is a form of inflammation, so might lift his numbers up. If following SLGS, nadirs in the 90-149 range means you stick with the same dose.
 
Sorry to hear that sweet Bubbas has pancreatitis. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Usual treatments are something for nausea and vomiting if need be. Cerenia for vomits, ondansetron best if nauseous. Also it's painful, so some pain med. Possibly fluids too if he's dehydrated.

How is his appetite today and how is he feeling? Antibiotics (what kind was he given?) can ruin the good tummy flora and make them feel nauseous. You may need to add a probiotic, given a couple hours apart from the antibiotic if he seems off his food.

You don't need to hold the dose for 7 days, the depot should be built up again in 3 days. You could still get a curve in on Sunday if you can do it then. Note that pancreatitis is a form of inflammation, so might lift his numbers up. If following SLGS, nadirs in the 90-149 range means you stick with the same dose.
Thank you for the advice! Sorry, todsy was a super long day and I’m just now getting until her. I’ll answer your questions tomorrow morning!!!
 
Sorry to hear that sweet Bubbas has pancreatitis. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Usual treatments are something for nausea and vomiting if need be. Cerenia for vomits, ondansetron best if nauseous. Also it's painful, so some pain med. Possibly fluids too if he's dehydrated.

How is his appetite today and how is he feeling? Antibiotics (what kind was he given?) can ruin the good tummy flora and make them feel nauseous. You may need to add a probiotic, given a couple hours apart from the antibiotic if he seems off his food.

You don't need to hold the dose for 7 days, the depot should be built up again in 3 days. You could still get a curve in on Sunday if you can do it then. Note that pancreatitis is a form of inflammation, so might lift his numbers up. If following SLGS, nadirs in the 90-149 range means you stick with the same dose.
His appetite yesterday and today has been fine, besides the fact that since I put him back on Purine DM, he isn’t liking it. This morning it’s taken me almost an hour to try to convince him to eat it. I had to put some fancy feast on it for him to even take a couple bites. Do you have any suggestions for some toppers I can put on his food? I don’t want to give him fancy feast anymore since the vet said I need ti switch back. But if he isn’t eating it not much I can do. It’s soooo frustrating because I just wanna stick to one food but it seems like the only kind of wet food he likes is the trashy fancy feast stuff. I just spent $70 on a bunch of cans on Purine DM so he needs to eat it. So I’m hoping there are some good quality food toppers out there so I can just mix it in with his Purina

And ok I’ll do the curve Sunday and up his dose to 2 units. He’s getting Cerenia, 1/2 pill for 5 days I think in the PM. And the 12 day round of antibiotics are called Amoxi/Clay oral, it’s a liquid that I gave him twice a day.
 
Sorry to hear that sweet Bubbas has pancreatitis. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Usual treatments are something for nausea and vomiting if need be. Cerenia for vomits, ondansetron best if nauseous. Also it's painful, so some pain med. Possibly fluids too if he's dehydrated.

How is his appetite today and how is he feeling? Antibiotics (what kind was he given?) can ruin the good tummy flora and make them feel nauseous. You may need to add a probiotic, given a couple hours apart from the antibiotic if he seems off his food.

You don't need to hold the dose for 7 days, the depot should be built up again in 3 days. You could still get a curve in on Sunday if you can do it then. Note that pancreatitis is a form of inflammation, so might lift his numbers up. If following SLGS, nadirs in the 90-149 range means you stick with the same dose.
Hey! Could you please recommend those probiotics you were mentioning in this post? I would like to purchase some for bubbas!
 
Back
Top