8/24 Booger AMPS 168 PMBG 355 Dose Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: AMPS 155????

Hello! I would test again 20 min. after that first test and see if the number is rising. If you are going to be home to monitor and test, you can shoot full dose or shoot a reduced dose of maybe 1.u. But only if rising. I dont give dose advice normally, but if it were my cat, that is what I would do. You are new to lantus and the protocol says skip dose if under 200. It is up to you, but if you skip, expect a bounce.
 
Re: AMPS 155????

Hi Guys...unfortunately I only have a few minutes right now as I have to get ready for work and hit the road shortly.

First question, though: Did you retest to make sure you didn't have a wonky test strip? That's always the first thing we do when we get a number that is out of the ordinary.

If you have retested, you could stall for a bit longer, then test to see if Booger is heading up or down. A couple things to keep in mind with stalling: your next shot will be 12 hours after your stalled shot, so you have to decide if your schedule will allow for this shift in shot time; and it is possible that Booger's numbers could continue to drop simply because he hasn't had food because of the stall.

You do have a few options here if that 155 is accurate:

You can skip this morning's shot, especially if you won't be around to monitor closely.
You can shoot a reduced dose; this would still require close monitoring.
You can continue to stall until you see a natural/non-food influenced rise in the numbers. Not that we generally don't stall for all that long - in generall, 2 hours max (and usually not for that long).

If you do shoot, you want to start by getting a +1 and +2 - this is always highly recommended when you shoot your lowest preshot number for the first time. You will want to continue monitoring during the whole cycle, too, but those first two numbers will help tell you where things might be heading.

Here's the link to handling low preshots...keep in mind that that numbers referenced in here are based on reading from a human meter and not the AlphaTrak"

Handling low preshots

I'm sorry I'm not able to stick around, but other east coast folks should be starting to wake up, too....
 
Re: AMPS 155???? Stalling.. +30 160

Her + 30 is 160. I am currently still stalling. I am available to be around all day. But I will have to go to work tomorrow. I know you said stalling changes the next shot's timing so what does it do for tomorrow?

Shot a reduced dose of 1 unit. Will keep everyone posted..
 
Re: AMPS 155???? Stalling.. +30 160 + 45 168

If you've stalled for more than 2 hours, it's going to be difficult to get back on schedule -- it's not impossible but difficult. If you've stalled for 6 hours, you really don't have any other option besides skipping and shooting at your regular time at PMPS.

The general rule of thumb is that an early shot acts like a dose increase vs. a late shot that acts like a dose reduction. If you get a pre-shot number that's lower than what you're used to, you may want to re-test in 20 min. to see if the numbers are rising.

In this case, Booger's numbers were dropping last night so it's not a huge surprise that he threw you a low number this morning. While we tend to shoot low numbers here, you want to develop some confidence in shooting low. On Health, they encourage you to ask for help if you have a pre-shot less than 200. We use 150 as our "post and ask for help" number is you're still new to using Lantus.

You might want to take a look at the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky, as well.
 
Re: AMPS 155???? Stalling.. +30 160 + 45 168 +2 187

Hi Jen,

How are you and Booger doing? Are you liking the blue numbers?

We delayed Clare's shot and before that happened, she took a bounce. So we'll see what the +1 is. Maybe she'll clear it quickly like yesterday. Here's hoping!

I'm off to take a quick shower before we test again. Have a good Sunday!
 
Re: AMPS 155???? Stalling.. +30 160 + 45 168 +2 187

Hi there! Well we've been holding our breath for the last little bit. I know it's what we want to see but I was very nervous this morning. She's on the rise but I'm still on alert after giving her some of her dose this morning.

Hopefully all will go well with Clare as well. Booger had a bounce too and we immediately increased the dose once she looked like she had cleared.. I'm so new to all this.. it's so scary.. Keep us posted!
 
Re: AMPS 155???? Stalling.. +30 160 + 45 168 +2 187 +3 262

Might I suggest updating your subject line in your original post to include Booger's name?
 
Re: AMPS 155???? Stalling.. +30 160 + 45 168 +2 187 +3 262

Georgette:

I'm very confused by your subject line. When did you shoot?

If you didn't shoot at your AMPS time, then you have an AMBG (or +12) number. I don't understand what the +30 is, Do you mean +30 minutes? If so, then it's written, +12.5 or AMBG +0.5 (if it's 45 min. past your usual shot time, then the notation is +12.75 or AMBG +0.75). If you stall, whatever time it is that you shoot is your AMPS number. This is important since your PM shot is due 12 hours after your AM shot.
 
Re: 8/24 Booger AMPS 155 +2 187 +3 262

Oops! Sorry! Updated that. Thanks for the tips Molly and Sienne. That's very helpful.. yes, the numbers were to indicate +30minutes etc.. now I know for next time how I should be writing that. I am basing my +2/3 numbers off of when I did shoot, which was 45 minutes late this AM.

~Jen (Not Georgette.. She had a different pre-shot low number issue this AM)
 
Re: 8/24 Booger PMBG 355 Dose Question?

So.. In light of events today.. with shooting the reduced dose this AM... Since she never went hypoglycemic and she went back up into the high numbers, that means we go back up to the previous dose as long as PMPS is still up, right? The 1.5unit dose? Thanks for any help.
Jen
 
Hi Jen, exciting morning when you get those first numbers lower than you are used to. Yes, go back to the 1.5U dose. Unfortunately this will mess with counting cycles as you start over again when you miss, shoot lower, or do a fur shot. But Booger will get back on track soon enough.
 
Thanks Wendy! Yes, it was an exciting (nervous) morning. She's only seen one blue number before and there it was all of the sudden! I hope it doesn't take her long.
 
nothing like numbers lower than you're used to raise the blood pressure a little bit! before long you'll be shooting lower numbers without blinking. :mrgreen:

with the AT, the number that causes a dose reduction is 68. that's roughly the equivalent of a 50 on a human meter. The two types of meters are closer at the lower numbers and the spread is greater at higher numbers - as much as 30-40%. so your 355 tonight is perhaps 260ish on a human meter.

What we call blues on human meters is roughly 135-267 on your AT.
Normal, non-diabetic numbers (50-120) on a human meter correspond to roughly 68-160 on the AT.
Green numbers (50-100) on the human meters would be 68-134ish on your AT.

I see 355 listed as +11 in your spreadsheet. Is that correct? If you stalled this morning, your next shot is due 12 hrs later.
 
Thank you. We've decided to switch to the Bayer.. This is getting confusing and we had planned to make the switch later anyway. But I'll still need to refer back to that while we're adjusting to the switch. Yes, today has been more than stressful. She did get the shot at the +12 and we've been looking into different meters but she's been bleeding freely for us lately so we may stick with what we have.
 
it is confusing. vets use ATs, but they aren't bearing the costs of testing multiple times a day long-term.

Most of us here use human meters, which do work fine with cats and are so much cheaper to use when we test frequently. The cost of doing TR, testing 5 times a day minimum, would be prohibitive using the AT long-term.

Bayer is a good brand.
 
Yes, I've been delaying the decision based off of her ears and my vet screaming for me to keep the AT.. but you are right.. the cost is outrageous and I am the one who has to pay for it. I think the realization came when my husband and I were talking about the numbers and what they mean her readings were this AM on the human meter... I'm tired of risking getting confused with AT VS human meter... and I've been doing that all day..
 
it would be easier for the vet to just have a couple of comparison tests, or add 30-40% onto your numbers than for you to constantly try to recalculate the numbers.
 
I agree wholeheartedly! We just made that decision tonight. I respect my vet. I adore him and am so thankful for him... but I have to do what's right for Booger, and that includes not being confused about all of that too when I believe using both meters is redundant and could potentially be detrimental by trying to keep it all straight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top