8/24 Ahmin AMPS 124,PMPS 106,+2 144,+3 101,+4 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

christine&ahmin

Member Since 2011
Hi Guys, Ahmin & I'm back!

Today's AM condo :
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50692

2.25hr b4 AM Shot 118
AMPS 124
+1 113
+1.5 95 (Vomit a little bit, ate about 3/4 small can LC canned food @+2)
+2.5 64 (1/2 teaspoon of HC gravy)
+3 67
+3.5 68 (1/4 small can LC canned food)
+4 72
+4.75 74
+5.75 83
+7 131 (1/2 small can LC canned food @+6.25)
+8 (1/2 small can LC canned food)
+10.25 131

Ahmin numbers is very nice this afternoon :mrgreen: , however, it seems he's a bit tired & less active than yesterday.
do u think there's anything wrong with him?
Or is it because of the frequent testing to make him didn't have a good sleep as me?
 
Re: 8/24 Ahmin AMPS 124, +10.25 131

Hello again Chritine!

Ahmin had a long run of lower numbers - it may be that his body is not used to them. Keep and eye on him.

Remember your next shot tmes will be just 15 min early untill you get back to 12m/12p.

You are doing a great job!
 
Re: 8/24 Ahmin AMPS 124,PMPS 106

Hi Sandy,

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Ahmin had a long run of lower numbers - it may be that his body is not used to them. Keep and eye on him.

just kinda confuse :? that low number are what we wanna see, right? we aim to keep our kitties at green level. are u mean this low number is not good to him? sorry for my poor english, not quite really understand your meaning....

2.25hr b4 AM Shot 118
AMPS 124
+1 113
+1.5 95 (Vomit a little bit, ate about 3/4 small can LC canned food @+2)
+2.5 64 (1/2 teaspoon of HC gravy)
+3 67
+3.5 68 (1/4 small can LC canned food)
+4 72
+4.75 74
+5.75 83
+7 131 (1/2 small can LC canned food @+6.25)
+8 (1/2 small can LC canned food)
+10.25 131
PMPS 106 (4/5 small can LC canned food after shot)
 
Re: 8/24 Ahmin AMPS 124, +10.25 131

The numbers are very good!

He is not accustomed to them...yet. His body does not recognize green as normal right now due to FD. The more he is green the more his body will think it's normal to be green. :mrgreen:

Keep an eye on him in case he continues to be tired and less active than yesterday.
 
Re: 8/24 Ahmin AMPS 124, +10.25 131

Hi Sandy,
Thanks for your explanation, I understood now.
I'll try my best to keep him at green level :mrgreen:
Thx very much indeed :-D
 
Re: 8/24 Ahmin AMPS 124,PMPS 106

Ahmin is looking great and you are doing a fantastic job. i think it is a combination of things, the lower numbers feel strange and just the fact of changes happening. Plus, yes he probably is tired, cats sleep up to 18 hours a day and we are interrupting their beauty sleep for all this. We get a lot of those "Oh, you again?" looks from them. :lol:

This is a nice low PMPS, just remember to keep testing until his usual nadir. Post if you feel nervous about a number.
 
Re: 8/24 Ahmin AMPS 124,PMPS 106

2.25hr b4 AM Shot 118
AMPS 124
+1 113
+1.5 95 (Vomit a little bit, ate about 3/4 small can LC canned food @+2)
+2.5 64 (1/2 teaspoon of HC gravy)
+3 67
+3.5 68 (1/4 small can LC canned food)
+4 72
+4.75 74
+5.75 83
+7 131 (1/2 small can LC canned food @+6.25)
+8 (1/2 small can LC canned food)
+10.25 131
PMPS 106 (4/5 small can LC canned food after shot)
+2 144

+2 number increased, must be the influence of the food fed after shot. do u guys feed after shot? usually when?

Ann & Tess said:
We get a lot of those "Oh, you again?" looks from them. :lol:
I got the same response from ahmin when I'm holding the lancet & meter walking towards him :lol:
 
Re: 8/24 Ahmin AMPS 124,PMPS 106,+2 144

A bit of a food spike is not unusual. When you see it depends on the cat and when onset starts. Another thing could be that he is bouncing a little. He has had several days of lower numbers than he is used to and a dose reduction to boot. If it is a bounce and his numbers keep going up, be patient and hold for 6 cycles to see if it is just a bounce or if the reduction is not holding. Sometimes we have to go back and forth in dose a lot until something clicks.

Bouncing -- when the liver perceives lower BG than it is used to it can dump glucose and hormones to bring numbers back to normal levels. Unfortunately for a diabetic cat those numbers that the liver is used to are too high and the liver must get used to the lower (actual normal) numbers again. This can take a while for some cats (my Tess and Gracie are notorious!) others adapt to good numbers much more quickly. Sometimes numbers that aren't dangerously low, but just lower than the liver is used to can trigger the response.

You will see that many of us feed several small meals rather than a couple of large ones. The idea is to even out the carb load through out the cycle, but keeping most of the food before nadir so there is insulin to deal with it. At preshot most of us, test, then feed and then shoot, often while the cat is eating. (It distracts them and often they don't even notice the shot.) Then at +1, +2 and +3 we give additional small "mini meals." I space Tess's food out a little longer since she has a late onset. You need to experiment to see what works for Ahmin.

One thing to remember is to take food away for 2 hours before the preshot test. You need to see a non food influenced number then. If that number seems too low to shoot safely, do not feed (even though he is telling you he is dying of hunger!) and retest in 15 minutes. Which is what we had you doing yesterday. You need to se a level or preferably rising number before feeding and shooting.
 
Re: 8/24 Ahmin AMPS 124,PMPS 106,+2 144

Hi Ann,
Thx for your detail explanation!
Some more question i'd like to ask :
(1) how do u define small meal? Ahmin usually eats 7-8 times a day, each meal usually eats 1/3 to 3/4 small can. Is it a "small meal" to him?

Ann & Tess said:
One thing to remember is to take food away for 2 hours before the preshot test. You need to see a non food influenced number then. If that number seems too low to shoot safely, do not feed (even though he is telling you he is dying of hunger!) and retest in 15 minutes. Which is what we had you doing yesterday. You need to se a level or preferably rising number before feeding and shooting.
(2) Why can't we feed them within 2 hrs b4 the preshot test? they will eat the food finally, if we fed them then there may not have a non-safe number, therefore we can shoot ontime. (hope u understood what i'm confusing about this point :? ) Why we need to see the preshot number is not influenced by food, and we don't have to see the other numbers on the same basis?

Sorry to have so much question.
 
Re: 8/24 Ahmin AMPS 124,PMPS 106,+2 144,+3 101

Hi christine,

christine&ahmin said:
(2) Why can't we feed them within 2 hrs b4 the preshot test? they will eat the food finally, if we fed them then there may not have a non-safe number, therefore we can shoot ontime. (hope u understood what i'm confusing about this point ) Why we need to see the preshot number is not influenced by food, and we don't have to see the other numbers on the same basis?

If you feed him within 2 hours before the preshot test the food spike will hide a non-safe PS number, then when the food wears off, he may go too low.
 
Thx Sandy, I'll take the advice to not feed him within 2 hrs b4 preshot test :smile:

how about the "small meals"? do u feed small meal to your kitty?

PMPS 106 (4/5 small can LC canned food after shot)
+2 144
+3 101
+4 90
Good to see the green number again :mrgreen:
 
My Kitty weighs a little over 11 lbs.

He eats 2, 3oz cans per day as follows:

AM - 1/2 can
+4 - 1/4 can
+8 - 1/4 can
PM - 1/2 can
+4 - 1/4 can
+8 - 1/4 can

I use a programable timed feeder for the +4 and +8 meals
 
I used to feed as much as he wants since he DX. however, i'm considering to reduce the amount of food to him coz i can see Ahmin gain back the weight he lose by diabetes. if continue to give this amount (10-12oz per day, he's about 10lbs only) to him, i'm afraid he'll be too fat later on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top