? 8/24/24 WATSON Schedule change question AMPS 400 Libre

Rosie Lass

Member Since 2024
Feeding & Dosing question,
Watson normally gets fed then has his shot at 9:45 am & pm.
Starting in September on Monday nights I need to leave home at 6:25 and I won’t be home until about 10:15 pm
Can I feed him his meal at 6:15 before I leave and then just give him a snack when I get home at 10:15 and then shoot?

Then I would shoot at 10 the next morning and 9:45 that night to get back on schedule, right?

Appreciate any advise
 
Feeding & Dosing question,
Watson normally gets fed then has his shot at 9:45 am & pm.
Starting in September on Monday nights I need to leave home at 6:25 and I won’t be home until about 10:15 pm
Can I feed him his meal at 6:15 before I leave and then just give him a snack when I get home at 10:15 and then shoot?

Then I would shoot at 10 the next morning and 9:45 that night to get back on schedule, right?

Appreciate any advise
Hi Rosie, I hope you get some answers about your schedule question. :)
 
Hi Rosie,
Have you read this sticky? It says that "In general, it's acceptable to shoot within 30 minutes of your normal shot time and then shoot at your normal shot time for the next shot." I don't think that 1/2 hour will be an issue at all. You can shoot 30 minutes early once a day or 15 minutes early each cycle.

Hope this helps :cat:
 
If it were me, I'd give my kitty a snack at 6:15 and then his meal when you give insulin. I'm concerned that if you give Watson his evening meal at 6:15, he won't have enough food in his system to offset the effect of the insulin. Remember, onset with Lantus isn't for approximately 2 hours. Most of the impact of his larger meal will be gone by the time you shoot.

You plan for getting back on schedule looks good.
 
Hi Rosie,
Have you read this sticky? It says that "In general, it's acceptable to shoot within 30 minutes of your normal shot time and then shoot at your normal shot time for the next shot." I don't think that 1/2 hour will be an issue at all. You can shoot 30 minutes early once a day or 15 minutes early each cycle.

Hope this helps :cat:

@Angela & Cleo Thanks for your feedback. I somehow missed seeing this sticky.


If it were me, I'd give my kitty a snack at 6:15 and then his meal when you give insulin. I'm concerned that if you give Watson his evening meal at 6:15, he won't have enough food in his system to offset the effect of the insulin. Remember, onset with Lantus isn't for approximately 2 hours. Most of the impact of his larger meal will be gone by the time you shoot.

You plan for getting back on schedule looks good.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) Thanks, that a good suggestion. I have 4 cats so I guess they will all need a snack and hopefully Watson doesn't eat his and everyone else's :woot:

@Tjamls
Hi Rosie,
Have you read this sticky? It says that "In general, it's acceptable to shoot within 30 minutes of your normal shot time and then shoot at your normal shot time for the next shot." I don't think that 1/2 hour will be an issue at all. You can shoot 30 minutes early once a day or 15 minutes early each cycle.

Hope this helps :cat:
 
Back
Top