8/23 - Wally - AMPS: 594 - he had great mini curve last night. Was 221 +8

Ginger Cat

Member Since 2017
Because he had a pretty significant BG reduction 2 hours after his PM shot, I got up every couple of hours to check and his numbers were amazing. I wondered if eating during the day was affecting his numbers as the PM is based on fasting levels.

So - when I took his AMPS reading and it was 594 I was astonished, upset, etc. I should have taken another reading to make sure it wasn't a fluke, but was in the middle of getting breakfast out to my B&B guests and just didn't have the time.

Wondering what you all think of this bounce? He didn't crash so far as I can tell. His last reading, at 5:10 am was a lovely 221...
 
@Ginger Cat You don't need to "add" FDMB. As long as the Share settings are for anyone with the link, since the link is in your signature, we're good.

@Briere Fur Mom When I opened the tab, there was a blank screen. I didn't get an error message. It may have been the settings or Google was hiccuping. It works now.

What you're seeing is a bounce. Bounces occur when numbers drop low, if numbers drop fast (like they did for you last evening), or if numbers drop into a range your cat isn't used to visiting. It's hugely annoying for us but it's a normal phenomenon. You've seen the same thing on 8/6 and 8/17.
 
Whenever you see a number lower than 68 on the AT2 you should reduce. Once you're on that dose, you mus try to stick to that dose for the number of days recommended in the SLGS dosing method, which I believe is 10-14 days - you may want to double check that info as I don't follow SLGS, I'm more familiar with TR.

It appears that you're lowering the dose when you get a lower pre-shot number, that's now how Lantus works; I'd suggest first that you brush up on the SLGS dosing method information: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/ and then when you encounter lower numbers this information may be helpful to have on hand.

I'd print it out for handy reference:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

You may also consider changing your meter to a human meter based on this recommendation in the stickie mentioned last (don't panic)...
THE USE OF PET-SPECIFIC METERS IS DISCOURAGED BECAUSE THE DOSING METHODS USED ON THE FDMB WERE CREATED WITH METERS CALIBRATED FOR HUMANS. ALL REFERENCED NUMBERS CORRESPOND WITH METERS FOR HUMANS, NOT PET METERS
 
No kidding. You'd think, after 3 years I'd get used to it, but I so want him to become more steady in his numbers....

But first - WELCOME TO THE LB&L Forum! We hope to see your posts daily - so we can help you get your little cutie into some better numbers!

Hello from me and my Luci girl!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Whenever you see a number lower than 68 on the AT2 you should reduce.
For SLGS, the reduction point is 90, not 68. Today is cycle 12 of this dose. If after tomorrow you don't see any lower numbers, I think you are good to increase the dose to 1.5 units. You want to get to a dose where your nadirs are regularly between 90 and 149.

My girl was fond of the blacks at first too. :banghead: It helped me to think of them as the result of the insulin working and getting my cat into good numbers she wasn't used to yet. Fasting or not, there wouldn't be that much difference in the numbers, unless your cat was eating pure bread. Ask me how I know. :p My girl loved her carbs.

For reference, and to help other people helping you, we ask that you include the link to your previous post - here's yours from yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/question-about-the-efficacy-of-my-lantus-pen.233946/ I hope last night's curve also answers the question about whether your previous pen was working - it is!
 
For SLGS, the reduction point is 90, not 68. Today is cycle 12 of this dose. If after tomorrow you don't see any lower numbers, I think you are good to increase the dose to 1.5 units. You want to get to a dose where your nadirs are regularly between 90 and 149.

My girl was fond of the blacks at first too. :banghead: It helped me to think of them as the result of the insulin working and getting my cat into good numbers she wasn't used to yet. Fasting or not, there wouldn't be that much difference in the numbers, unless your cat was eating pure bread. Ask me how I know. :p My girl loved her carbs.

For reference, and to help other people helping you, we ask that you include the link to your previous post - here's yours from yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/question-about-the-efficacy-of-my-lantus-pen.233946/ I hope last night's curve also answers the question about whether your previous pen was working - it is!
Thanks for the feedback. And, of course, the pen is working, because I just paid full price for a new one and have 2 more on the way from Canada!.. And I'll make sure to include links to previous posts going forward. I had been told to start a new post every day rather than adding to a prior post, so it's been a bit confusing...

And I had a cat who loved Italian bread so I get it...
 
I had been told to start a new post every day rather than adding to a prior post, so it's been a bit confusing...

Yep...in the beginning there's a lot of do's and don't with the forum...so tomorrow when you post, please use the format suggested in the PSA - first stickie on this forum....Date/ Cat Name / AMPS It's very helpful since this is one of the busiest forums with a lot of posters - everyone will know at a glance which day your post is from - and the cat's name too :) Have a good day :)
 
Will definitely increase his dosage to 1.5 units BID starting tomorrow. He's been in the 500's all day today, just testing PMPS at 565. Will get in at least 1 post PM reading tonight...
 
Back
Top