8/23 Tigger AMPS270 4.25=128,9.5=77, 11.5=83 Dosing advice pls

Pattylynne and Tigger

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2841254/ from yesterday

@tiffmaxee

Tigger is @88 and agitated. He may not clinically be in hypo but is reacting to sudden drops into unfamiliar greens. Was going to stall for 30 min and retest but he was literally tearing up the house, this is what he has done about 3 times after quick drops. Please see yesterdays thread and ss. I had to feed.
Suggestions on what to do now, time for PM shot of 1.25. I have supplies but afraid I might not be able to stay up with him tonight due to some personal health issues. I hate to cut dose, I've read about giving part dose not and rest in a couple hours, has anybody had experience with this. I feel like we are ready to have a break through into more stable numbers if I could just get him past these bounces.As I say he bullied me into feeding him. Ate 1 Tbsp of LC and freeze dried chicken treats. Will recheck in a few more minutes

PMPS 108, ate about 1 Tbsp LC FF
 
Last edited:
He will let me test, I think he will eat especially gravy foods, MC HC.I hate to keep shorting a dose when he does this then up/down again.
I am not sure how long I can stay up tonight, feel fine now but had a covid vaccine this am.
9.5 77 and starting to get aggitated fed LC and vomited(ate too fast) waited 10 then 1 tsp each of LC &HC. 11.5 83 and frantic for food, had to give 1tbsp LC. 12 108 fed another tbsp LC. Acting fine at moment. I gave .75U of nml 1.25 dose 20 min late for pm dose. Should I give the rest in a couple of hours if going up
 
No never shoot a second dose. It will give you two nadirs and it’s dangerous. You shot a one time reduced dose and that’s fine. Just go back to 1.25 in the morning. You can shoot at your normal time in the morning since only 20 minutes late.
I hope you don’t have a reaction to the vaccine. I had a big one to my second Moderna.
 
Actually 3rd Moderna, Mild issue with immunosuppression and with 30 positivity here felt it would be prudent. At 7 month past 2nd dose already so only a little earlier than last recommendation. FL is so full of coviditiots.....
 
I will hold at the .75U that I gave. Unsure of myself tonight. I knew I had read about splitting dose, have you any experience with this, sounds like you think it causes problems. I did go back to Lantus TR sticky, it references Tilly diabetic Home page Lantus protocol
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

It is likely, because of the way Lantus and Levemir work (they appear to work for >12 hours, therefore producing overlap between doses), you will face the problem of having a low pre-shot BG and wondering what dose you should give. Try reducing the dose the first few times to see what happens - in all likelihood the cat will have higher BGs as a result. A second alternative is to feed the cat, wait 1 to 2 hours, test again, and when the BGs start rising, give the normal dose. A third alternative is to split the dose: feed the cat, give most of the dose immediately and give the remainder 1 to 2 hours later when the BGs start rising. However, in most cats none of these alternatives have shown themselves to work as well as consistent dosing. You will have to learn how your cat reacts to Lantus/Levemir before you determine the best way to deal with this problem.
 
I think you really need to know your cat well to try splitting the dose.
 
Last edited:
He has been way to unpredictable and certainly not trying tonight, maybe in the future. Stay safe out there. Thanks for the help. Let you know how things are going tomorrow.
 
However, in most cats none of these alternatives have shown themselves to work as well as consistent dosing. You will have to learn how your cat reacts to Lantus/Levemir before you determine the best way to deal with this problem.
This says it all :)

I agree with Elise. Just give 1.25U tomorrow morning. Considering you shot the token dose because you cannot monitor tonight, I wouldn't really attempt any experimentation on the shooting front!
 
Good luck, I hope you have no symptoms. I got Astrozeneca and then Moderna and I can't say either was pleasant, but at least the side effects for me were relatively short lived. I knew a few people who got Moderna both times and they were fine (I don't think anyone here has had a 3rd dose). I also hope Tigger is cooperates for you and settles down.
 
I would not go down the path of splitting the dose. You would have to deal with two nadirs and unless you know your cat really well, you could run into trouble.
I would go back to the 1.25 units in the morning. If you have a lower than normal preshot I would stall not feed and test again, and see what happens.
 
Back
Top