? 8/23 Pudge AMPS 189 +2.25 175 +4 98 +5 100 +6 107 +8 152 +11 209 PMPS 228 +3 214 +5 188 +8 178

kitten68

Member Since 2024
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...21-2-5-66-3-68-3-5-63-3-75-63-4-25-68.293360/

last night was really difficult and unexpected.. 66 @ +2.5.. administered syrup for first time. stayed up a long time. he dropped a lot. he came back up tho. but this was really scary. i dont want it to ever be lower on the scale if it can be helped.. :stop:

and still keep dose, its suggested. i feel lost. :( cuz know it would’ve gone down to under 50 if i hadn’t intervened. so feel a bit confused this AM.. its like, unless u actually catch it dropping, or u let it drop, no reducing until then?.. :blackeye::blackeye::blackeye:

suggested to do snacks at +1 now.. will do this. but ugh. :blackeye::blackeye::blackeye::coffee:
 
Last night was a beautiful cycle. You don’t know what would have happened had you stopped the syrup. If you don’t see a bg under 50 with TR, no reduction. I’m not sure how much syrup you gave or how often. You need to test and feed lc next time and see if he goes under 50. As you saw last night he did fine. It really would help to find a mc and lc food for those times as food doesn’t usually require as much testing. You see that syrup works though if that’s impossible. It gets less scary after a few times.
 
If you need med or high carb foods
Med and High Carb food and have honey in your house



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

@kitten68
 
Last edited:
ok. :bighug:

i appreciate the help and support on this forum so much.. thank you. truly. its been a light for us.

but i made a judgment; since getting answers/help are delayed some of the time, understandably. however the time was passing, we cant wait. its also ultimately up to me, as is reiterated here also.. we’re so behind enough as it is w the schedule and have been trying to get back to an earlier one (which is why this is hard too ~ nadir is like the middle of the night rn…). im glad i had the nerve to give anything at all.. :blackeye:

i reduced for this AM.. :bookworm::blackeye::coffee: i know some arent gonna like it. gonna tell me i messed up. but we dont have the luxury over here of hauling off to the vet rn in case it were to go sideways because this whole thing can be unpredictable right at times (as we see..) and i am on my own treating and taking care of him. maybe someone can explain, but i know if i had left it, it would have gone way more down. it wasn’t even +3 yet. it was suggested use LC and let it show you how low it goes; isn’t that what happened yesterday?…. we been on this dose i think a few weeks now and all he eats is LC and things were looking pretty good prior. :woot: made sure to write notes on everything.. on SS.. how much and when.

far as i can tell, seeing about the reduction then couldnt hurt. yesterday was wild! o_O i know w TR you only do it if you CATCH it under 50 on a test.. but what was i really supposed to do? wait it out and see? this is one thing that bothers me.. i dont want to let it get that low (?). :( what if i can’t bring him back? :arghh: and we’re at the tale end of the scale… i mean, you can anticipate it going way lower cant you since it was 66 at ~ +2.5?.. how it works when its green all the time idk. how to get there. but since we’re not yet, and it was that early, and as low as that, i did what i thought was best.. i know the cycle to those who understand more than me, was nice. really glad to hear.. but ill be straight w u, it wasnt nice over here panicking over syrup and testing every 15 min…. :blackeye::blackeye::blackeye: seeing that number that early.

if this is part and parcel tho w TR.. sort of manipulating the lower numbers, etc.. bringing back from the brink, etc. ok. i need to know if someone can say.. but i cant be home all the time. im afraid. :( and want him safe. what to do?.. reducing (trying..) seems right.. :( theres a lot going on rn in life that i have a lot to take care of and do also.. particularly since im in between things rn. its hard. and im trying to juggle this well too. but if THIS, instances of this, is part of it.. lmk. just.. it doesnt make sense to me having to bring him back w syrup and the dose is still an appropriate one, when prior he didnt need syrup. :bookworm:

and understand PS are less important than nadirs.. wondering if the lower PS had something to do w it too; but the other day was fine w a similar/same number. the nadir tho for him is usually +5, +6.. or later if not as active. not that early. and thats early in general from what i know (?)… maybe just needs less now. we see. :bookworm:

and ill reiterate this: i so appreciate the suggestions, but he he has sensitive stomach. everything has multiple proteins in it mostly. o_O what i know he can do is TURKEY. idk about others. tried some chicken treats and BMs looked weird; stopped and looked better. so prolly no chicken. which cancels a lot. may try again when have energy. will continue looking…. But w everything we have to do and keep track of, the syrup is the easiest thing to do rn…. of course having a food option is preferred. but idk of any. :coffee:

i am very glad for this place.. i know again might not be happy. but.. doing our best. :blackeye: needed to try. :/ any thoughts on what i posed above also appreciated.. ill say this: glad the PS was a bit high cuz idk what…. need break. but he does that after a few cycles of green anyway rn.. :cat: tho not always! hard to tell when gonna be active til its like an hour before.. not even.. o_O:coffee:
 
ok. :bighug:

i appreciate the help and support on this forum so much.. thank you. truly. its been a light for us.

but i made a judgment; since getting answers/help are delayed some of the time, understandably. however the time was passing, we cant wait. its also ultimately up to me, as is reiterated here also.. we’re so behind enough as it is w the schedule and have been trying to get back to an earlier one (which is why this is hard too ~ nadir is like the middle of the night rn…). im glad i had the nerve to give anything at all.. :blackeye:

i reduced for this AM.. :bookworm::blackeye::coffee: i know some arent gonna like it. gonna tell me i messed up. but we dont have the luxury over here of hauling off to the vet rn in case it were to go sideways because this whole thing can be unpredictable right at times (as we see..) and i am on my own treating and taking care of him. maybe someone can explain, but i know if i had left it, it would have gone way more down. it wasn’t even +3 yet. it was suggested use LC and let it show you how low it goes; isn’t that what happened yesterday?…. we been on this dose i think a few weeks now and all he eats is LC and things were looking pretty good prior. :woot: made sure to write notes on everything.. on SS.. how much and when.

far as i can tell, seeing about the reduction then couldnt hurt. yesterday was wild! o_O i know w TR you only do it if you CATCH it under 50 on a test.. but what was i really supposed to do? wait it out and see? this is one thing that bothers me.. i dont want to let it get that low (?). :( what if i can’t bring him back? :arghh: and we’re at the tale end of the scale… i mean, you can anticipate it going way lower cant you since it was 66 at ~ +2.5?.. how it works when its green all the time idk. how to get there. but since we’re not yet, and it was that early, and as low as that, i did what i thought was best.. i know the cycle to those who understand more than me, was nice. really glad to hear.. but ill be straight w u, it wasnt nice over here panicking over syrup and testing every 15 min…. :blackeye::blackeye::blackeye: seeing that number that early.

if this is part and parcel tho w TR.. sort of manipulating the lower numbers, etc.. bringing back from the brink, etc. ok. i need to know if someone can say.. but i cant be home all the time. im afraid. :( and want him safe. what to do?.. reducing (trying..) seems right.. :( theres a lot going on rn in life that i have a lot to take care of and do also.. particularly since im in between things rn. its hard. and im trying to juggle this well too. but if THIS, instances of this, is part of it.. lmk. just.. it doesnt make sense to me having to bring him back w syrup and the dose is still an appropriate one, when prior he didnt need syrup. :bookworm:

and understand PS are less important than nadirs.. wondering if the lower PS had something to do w it too; but the other day was fine w a similar/same number. the nadir tho for him is usually +5, +6.. or later if not as active. not that early. and thats early in general from what i know (?)… maybe just needs less now. we see. :bookworm:

and ill reiterate this: i so appreciate the suggestions, but he he has sensitive stomach. everything has multiple proteins in it mostly. o_O what i know he can do is TURKEY. idk about others. tried some chicken treats and BMs looked weird; stopped and looked better. so prolly no chicken. which cancels a lot. may try again when have energy. will continue looking…. But w everything we have to do and keep track of, the syrup is the easiest thing to do rn…. of course having a food option is preferred. but idk of any. :coffee:

i am very glad for this place.. i know again might not be happy. but.. doing our best. :blackeye: needed to try. :/ any thoughts on what i posed above also appreciated.. ill say this: glad the PS was a bit high cuz idk what…. need break. but he does that after a few cycles of green anyway rn.. :cat: tho not always! hard to tell when gonna be active til its like an hour before.. not even.. o_O:coffee:
@tiffmaxee
 
I understand how you feel. I think TR is too aggressive for you at this time. I strongly suggest that you follow SLGS at least right now. Your cat was not in danger last night but I understand low green is scary. You need to manage your cat in a way that works for you. Remember you hold the syringe. We are not with you at your house. How you manage fd has to work for you and your life style. Why not try SLGS and see if it’s a better fit? You have nothing to lose and can switch back if you don’t like the results. What do you think?
 
I understand how you feel. I think TR is too aggressive for you at this time. I strongly suggest that you follow SLGS at least right now. Your cat was not in danger last night but I understand low green is scary. You need to manage your cat in a way that works for you. Remember you hold the syringe. We are not with you at your house. How you manage fd has to work for you and your life style. Why not try SLGS and see if it’s a better fit? You have nothing to lose and can switch back if you don’t like the results. What do you think?
thanks for kind words.. i didnt know what to expect when i wrote everything but felt i had to.. :blackeye::bighug:..
honestly you kind of learn as you go along right. and stickies dont have all the info.. because theres so much of it. i didnt know sometimes needing to use syrup is part of it.. this is the case right?

and it was just that the hour was so early for it to be 66 (+2.5) i was afraid of it lowering under 50 by +5/6.. that was my issue. i know greens are healing and important and was very happy to see them.. its true lower green scares me but i just didnt know how that would work cuz if the early hour. which is probably what would have happened. i was trying to be proactive (?). :coffee: im understanding that his numbers werent too low, but for the hour they were.. right? or is what we went over and did what you do in those instances? but if thats the case.. how to manage that w work/obligations away from home? doesnt it also maybe mean maybe the dose is too high if you need syrup?

thank you for saying i could go back.. honestly i feel like TR is the only way tho, cuz i would like him to heal.. at least feel best. i will keep this in mind tho. especially for life circumstances at this time. thing is… no dose worked to a good level until this one tho anyway so im not sure. none did. haha.. i just hope i didnt set us back reducing.. but i felt like i needed to try. :bookworm::coffee:
 
If you stick with TR, good luck with the reduction.
thank u!!! hoping it goes ok i guess.. :woot::blackeye: could you maybe explain to me how to go about reductions and what to maybe expect, esp if you need to go back up? is there a stickie somewhere also? :) his numbers so far today have been pretty good..
 
Yes and it’s in the TR directions. You see how the next 4-6 cycles go as they will be influenced by the depot. So far he’s not bouncing. If he trends up once the depot is no longer influencing you go back up. If you like how he’s doing you hold the dose. If there’s a drop under 50, you lower the dose.

As for what to do when you need to be away, you leave out food or give a one time reduced dose or skip depending on the bg. There’s going to be a time when the bg does go under 50 and a reduction is earned. That will be a good chance to see how he responds. That was why I was trying to get you to not use syrup. In lower numbers you will also find that the bg won’t drop as fast as it does in higher numbers. That’s why if you look at other people’s spreadsheets you will see flat lantus cycles without the need for hc.

I saw that you didn’t tag me after Dianne did. You will get sometimes get different opinions on how to manage fd. It’s not an exact science. Cats are unpredictable.unlike dogs or people. But cats have the benefit of being able to get into remission , unlike dogs.
 
Yes and it’s in the TR directions. You see how the next 4-6 cycles go as they will be influenced by the depot. So far he’s not bouncing. If he trends up once the depot is no longer influencing you go back up. If you like how he’s doing you hold the dose. If there’s a drop under 50, you lower the dose.

As for what to do when you need to be away, you leave out food or give a one time reduced dose or skip depending on the bg. There’s going to be a time when the bg does go under 50 and a reduction is earned. That will be a good chance to see how he responds. That was why I was trying to get you to not use syrup. In lower numbers you will also find that the bg won’t drop as fast as it does in higher numbers. That’s why if you look at other people’s spreadsheets you will see flat lantus cycles without the need for hc.

I saw that you didn’t tag me after Dianne did. You will get sometimes get different opinions on how to manage fd. It’s not an exact science. Cats are unpredictable.unlike dogs or people. But cats have the benefit of being able to get into remission , unlike dogs.
oh no!! i didnt tag because i assumed you would see it since you posted on the thread first and would get notification ~ im sorry! (didn't tag diane either cuz she posted too :cat:) next time will do; even if posted. wasnt sure if maybe were sick of me by then also considering my long post haha.. so i tagged some others.. heh he. :woot::blackeye:

appreciate your help with everything by the way all this time.. Thanks for always trying to help. and thanks for staying up w us too.. :bighug:
 
Yes and it’s in the TR directions. You see how the next 4-6 cycles go as they will be influenced by the depot. So far he’s not bouncing. If he trends up once the depot is no longer influencing you go back up. If you like how he’s doing you hold the dose. If there’s a drop under 50, you lower the dose.

As for what to do when you need to be away, you leave out food or give a one time reduced dose or skip depending on the bg. There’s going to be a time when the bg does go under 50 and a reduction is earned. That will be a good chance to see how he responds. That was why I was trying to get you to not use syrup. In lower numbers you will also find that the bg won’t drop as fast as it does in higher numbers. That’s why if you look at other people’s spreadsheets you will see flat lantus cycles without the need for hc.

I saw that you didn’t tag me after Dianne did. You will get sometimes get different opinions on how to manage fd. It’s not an exact science. Cats are unpredictable.unlike dogs or people. But cats have the benefit of being able to get into remission , unlike dogs.
oh geez. will have to go back and read.. just was wondering if there was some stuff to know not there.. thanks for shortening all that tho. :) appreciate it..

that is my hope! nice flat low (-ish if possible haha.. but ok if lower..) cycles.. :woot: and thank u for what to do if need to be away.. im trying to remember everything. and thought u wanted me to use syrup! or did i misunderstand?.. thought also maybe i should? :/ but right.. it just concerned being so early in the cycle. thoughts on this?..

and i do see everyone might have an opinion.. those who know tho i notice tend to agree on most things.: :cat::cat:
 
If you see him dropping fast in the first part of the cycle, try some medium carb first, unless he's going below 50. Note, every cat differs in how carb sensitive they are. Keeping track of how much and what carbs at what time will help you learn what works for Pudge. Some people have to use a heavy hand with carbs, I learned I did not with Neko. I saved syrup for under 40's. Anything above that, HC would work. But that was my cat, not yours.

You may also find that earlier in the cycle you'll need higher carbs than for lower numbers later in the cycle when the insulin effect is starting to wear off.

You are in a phase where you are "learning your cat". Besides knowing what food works when, you are learning how Pudge responds when he's seeing a lot of green numbers. Yes, this is scary at first! Over time and with more data, it'll become easier.

As Elise said, we don't reduce based on what could of, would of, might have happened. We go by what we see. But if you want to try 3.0 units for a while and see what happens, think of it as another experiment. After six cycles at this dose you should have a good idea, or if his numbers start to trend upwards overall.

Personally I'm not fond of tagging in threads. That depends on those people being around and able to respond. A much better approach (IMHO) is to change the subject line to paraphrase your question so anyone able to answer the question and who is on, can help.
 
If you see him dropping fast in the first part of the cycle, try some medium carb first, unless he's going below 50. Note, every cat differs in how carb sensitive they are. Keeping track of how much and what carbs at what time will help you learn what works for Pudge. Some people have to use a heavy hand with carbs, I learned I did not with Neko. I saved syrup for under 40's. Anything above that, HC would work. But that was my cat, not yours.

You may also find that earlier in the cycle you'll need higher carbs than for lower numbers later in the cycle when the insulin effect is starting to wear off.

You are in a phase where you are "learning your cat". Besides knowing what food works when, you are learning how Pudge responds when he's seeing a lot of green numbers. Yes, this is scary at first! Over time and with more data, it'll become easier.

As Elise said, we don't reduce based on what could of, would of, might have happened. We go by what we see. But if you want to try 3.0 units for a while and see what happens, think of it as another experiment. After six cycles at this dose you should have a good idea, or if his numbers start to trend upwards overall.

Personally I'm not fond of tagging in threads. That depends on those people being around and able to respond. A much better approach (IMHO) is to change the subject line to paraphrase your question so anyone able to answer the question and who is on, can help.
i didnt realize/know that sometimes u might have to use syrup/MC/HC what have you to support numbers based off what youre trying to do.. and based off how the cycle is looking. if i had known that was needed haha.. or expected at times, i would have felt differently.. i did not know! thanks for saying.. so it would appear how it went yesterday then.. went pretty good?.. haha.
it certainly was.. a bit scary. but had some good help just didnt understand that this might happen sometimes.. thanks for kind words too. :cat: considering what i know now.. might just go back to the dose. might u have an opinion? or should continue?.. idk. tbh nothing was good until this dose.. ugh. :rolleyes: or might keep like u say.. idk.

this is the learning phase indeed.. and hes not doing too bad at all. :cat:

will keep the question in title instead in mind!!! (have been told before..)
 
Will be resuming dose tmw AM.. i think.. o_O:cat:
refrained from tonite as quite exhausted from last night and things ~ if need to be awake might not be safe.. (not sure if its something ok to do, but might have to also reserve as tool for future if need to do so..) :bookworm::blackeye::coffee:
 
Back
Top