8/23 Miss Kitty AMPS 293 PMPS 311

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50593

Miss Kitty hit 62 last night at +4. Checked her again at +5 and she was at 72, so I went to sleep for the rest of the night and this morning, she is at 293. Gotta go back to work today, I sort of gave her the usual 2.25, but I skinnied it. Should I reduce her dose yet?
 
Re: 8/23 Miss Kitty AMPS 293 reduce dose yet??

Good morning you two ~O) ~O) !

Please let someone else confirm this, but I can't quite see why you took the dose reduction a few days ago. In general, here's what the protocol says:

"General" Guidelines:

After the initial dose, each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)
unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

I would hold that 2.25 dose you are on for the 3-5 full cycles as described above and then make the decision based on your nadirs (or post at that point asking for advice). According to the protocol, a dose reduction is "earned" if new FDB kitty has a nadir <50 and Miss Kitty has been above that. Her other numbers remain high. If in the next 3-5 days, you see a BG that is getting close to 50, again, ask for some advice.

Please do let someone with more experience confirm this. Good luck!
 
Re: 8/23 Miss Kitty AMPS 293 reduce dose yet??

Good morning,

Did you feed that 62 or 72 last night??

I'd say hold the 2.25 - 62 doesn't' earn a reduction - it is however a fabulous number! :mrgreen:

No signs of a bounce this morning...so far.
 
Re: 8/23 Miss Kitty AMPS 293 reduce dose yet??

I'm assuming the only reason you gave the reduced dose of 1.5u was because a pet sitter was giving the shot and was shooting blind (not checking BGs before shooting). Kitty certainly DID NOT earn a reduction yet. Jessica is exactly right. She needs to drop below 50 before she earns any reduction. In fact, her shed has been depleted from the reduced dosing over the last few days so you really need to keep her dose consistent until she actually earns a reduction. The fact she had a 72 after the 62 shows she was on the rise and didn't go down any further. You'll more than likely see a bounce from the low numbers and you need to just hold the dose and wait for the bounce to clear before adjusting the dose at all. Make sure to ask for dosing help before making decisions if you're unsure and READ READ READ the protocol over and over so you know it forward and backward. It really does help!!
 
Re: 8/23 Miss Kitty AMPS 293 reduce dose yet??

I think the dose was reduced to make sure Miss Kitty was safe while the pet sitter -- who was shooting blind -- was there. This is exactly what I do when I travel.

Like everyone is saying, I would hold your current dose. Miss Kitty is most likely working her way toward a dose reduction but hasn't earned one yet.
 
Re: 8/23 Miss Kitty AMPS 293 reduce dose yet??

Thanks everyone. I just get nervous when I start seeing numbers that low. Yes, she had the reduced dose over the weekend because I was out of town and the pet sitter does not test. She just had her bit of tuna for the test when I got the 62 reading, I guess that could have affected the next reading, not sure though.
 
Re: 8/23 Miss Kitty AMPS 293

Tuna is a 100% protein food, so no carbs and doesn't normally affect numbers, especially if given just as a small treat for a poke. Chicken breast and shrimp are also good treats if you're ever looking for a no-carb food. I just keep some cut up in small pieces in the freezer and take out a little bit at a time and nuke them in the microwave for a few seconds to defrost/partially cook them. Easy peasy!!
 
Re: 8/23 Miss Kitty AMPS 293

Hi guys .. I know it can be nerve wracking seeing these "lower" numbers the first few times .. but listen to what others are saying, follow the protocol and test, test, test .. you are doing great and we are all here to help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top