8/23 Mickey AMPS 253 +3 308 +4 342 +5 324

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Very Active Member
Ok, I am not leaving my house today at ALL! I am getting a curve, I know I have been saying this. Yesterdays curve went out the window. I had to pick up materials for my new kitchen. Cloudy\rainy weekend at the shore is awful traffic wise.
Question:
Is is possible that a left ear will not bleed? I can never get blood from it. I even poked thru it once. Right ear bleeds like a champ.
+ 3 = 308 should the BG be going down??? :?: according to the info on how to do a curve +3 should be lower than at preshot ????? :roll:
 
Re: 8/23 Mickey AMPS 253 another yellow Yay!

Good luck on the curve today.

Funny, Harley is the opposite, his left ear bleeds great but I can hardly ever get a drop out of his right ear.
 
Re: 8/23 Mickey AMPS 253 +3 308

Thank you on the good luck wishes!! I couldn't reach him under the bed at +2

But I will be pokin away :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/23 Mickey AMPS 253 +3 308

Seems like the higher +3 could either be a sign the dose is too low or too high. If you can get something in the +5 - 7 zone, and tonight's PS, that should help you figure it out. Or could be something is wonky today - any sign the dry food bandit is up to his tricks again?
 
Re: 8/23 Mickey AMPS 253 +3 308

Not sure of the dry food, although he did climb on the counter and I said "Mickey, you can't eat that!" He just laid down and stared at it for a while. I took it up before I walked out of the room.
To high or too low...I hope today will make some sense :dizcat
 
oh gosh, he is a puzzle!!! it's hard to say w/o the following PS - if the +12 had dropped back down to around where the AMPS had been I'd say the dose could be too high. If the PMPS was around the same as the earlier #s or higher, I'd say the dose was too low. Sorry not to be more help!

If you can get a PMPS tonight that might give you a clue, since the mid-cycle is in the pinks again. If you got a mid-yellow PMPS, I'd probably try 0.75 and see if the results improve. If the PMPS is in the pinks or higher, I'd try going up to 1.25.

Going back to 8/19 when you got a normal U-curve, that actually looked like this dose might be promising. Could be his body got used to it and wants more insulin, or I guess it's possible (though I haven't seen with many cats that lower doses work better, but ya never know) that after a few days, he's feeling like it's too much and is resisting the dose.

Are there any clues from his behavior? With Bix I can often tell some of that from how he's feeling - if the dose is too low you can see it, but if the dose is too high (even if the #s still aren't good), he acts like he's feeling better anyway. It's far from a reliable measure :) but sometimes it's clearcut they aren't getting enough insulin - lots o symptoms cropping up - so that may give you a clue.

Since you got improved results when you went from 1.5 down to 1u, which is kind of unusual really, if it were me I'd probably be tempted to try 0.75 for a cycle or two, be 100% sure to get in at least a spot test or two as well as PSs, and see if you see blue #s again. I'm not sure that's the right answer, but given that you've already tried dose increases to no avail, might be worth a shot? With the caveat that I wouldn't stay at a lower dose for long if it clearly isn't working...
 
Joanna and Bix-On the 100u syringe ..

I see the 08, so if I were to go to 75 would you just eye it..Or did I miss it.
See the problem is that the vet said to stay with 1.5 for 2 weeks. I did't.
Besides the wonky numbers..he is acting fine, he no longer lives on the kitchen table and is chasing all the other cats away. But in a mean way. He is climbing up on things. He even lost a bit of weight. From the wrong dose? I don't have a clue :?:
Thanks for the advise :)
I will get pmps tonight that won't be until 10pm. I got a +6 today will attempt more.
 
Oh yeah, 0.8 is what I meant. :)

My vet said 2 weeks also, but once I started home-testing she said there's no need for the 2 weeks. From what she said, the only reason they say 2 weeks is so that the dose has a chance to do its thing before you come in for a curve. So for instance in case the PSs are improving, you give it a full 2 weeks to see where you land. But if you are home-testing you can see the results every day, so you can tell if a dose is improving (and therefore you want to stick it out longer on that dose and see where it goes) or not.

Of course not to say that there aren't times where it makes sense to hold a dose that long - for instance if the PSs *are* improving, or if they are in liver-training and you want to let that settle down on its own, or if they are in steady #s that you like. But from what I can tell, there's nothing magic about staying at a dose for 2 weeks when it's clear it isn't working.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top