8/23 Lightning AMPS 314, +9 276 PMPS 274, +3 192

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela and Lightning

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo
8/22

Pink....AGAIN....I figured I would give Lightning's ears a rest and wait til +3 for my first test. I'm glad to see we are finally in the yellow again so early into the cycle. Yesterday was just a devastating day and I took it all out on my BF and now I feel bad about it. It just put me in a funk the entire day and I didn't want to do anything except complain...which is ALL I did! It sucks to think that Lightning's BG numbers now run my moods, but I just can't help it. I just feel helpless when he's that high (even though he never acts like he's doing bad). Hopefully I can get out of this mood.....the yellow did make a smile come over my face, so I guess that's a start....

Lightning's been doing good all morning, playing with a yellow mouse (ironically enough) on the chair next to me right now. It also looks like its bath time too. I'm going to give him another few hours or so before I do another test. Doesn't look like much is going on so any opportunity I have to rest the ears, I'll take it.
 
Re: 8/23 Lightning AMPS 314, +3 259

((Pamela)) It is hard to divorce yourself emotionally from their numbers....but it IS what we all have to do. And yes, the patience lecture should be inserted here. He hee...sorry. We all have found that we are lacking in patience when we see our kitties and their SSs. But I hate that lecture myself so I won't go on and on about it...

While you study the numbers, you will find yourself getting happy~then sad....happy~sad, happy~sad.
Up and down, up and down.
It is good to work at different things and to try really hard to get it all right. But, in the end, the kitty leads the dance. And it is never at the tempo we would like or choose. Right?
That yellow is very nice...a good thing to see. But after awhile, the yellows too get very boring. LOL.
We will just never be quite happy during these times. Hang in there...you are doing a great job!
You are on the right track and so is Lightning....it will be okay...
(there is a Ledge that I usually hang out on. You are welcome to join me anytime. You can scream and stomp your feet up there and no one says a word about it. We all hang out there at times just like the one you are experiencing now. It gives me a break from just sitting around staring at Shadow. That doesn't help much so I go up on the Ledge! Our Community Ledge!) :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/23 Lightning AMPS 314, +3 259, +5 258

Thanks so much Pat. I am definitely joining you on the ledge, that's for sure!! I think I'm becoming bi-polar with all this up and down activity!!

I know I should try to just be happy that at least I know what's wrong with Lightning and I now have the tools to help him through this FD adventure. I just wish things would happen quicker than they are.... :-|

Ok, breathe, relax, breathe, relax...just need to keep telling myself that!
 
Re: 8/23 Lightning AMPS 314, +3 259, +5 258, +9 276

Hi Pamela...
I understand your frustration... but here's a road to diabetes... 1st you're frustrated, 2nd you panic (because you get normal numbers and you're not used to it), than you learn better to cope. It will get better.

Tonight will be your 10th cycle at this dose (without counting the reduced shot), that means that per the protocol, tomorrow will be another day with potentially another dose. Tonight, because you got to sleep (because cats read the condos and play cat tricks on us) add the word "dose" to your subject line and see what others have to say about increase the dose....

It will get better, it will get better... hang in there...
 
Re: 8/23 Lightning AMPS 314, +3 259, +5 258, +9 276

Thanks Helene. I was wondering about a dose increase as well. We haven't seen much action and I'm sick of yellow and pink myself. And I'm sure Lightning would feel better down in the blues and greens too.
 
Re: 8/23 Lightning AMPS 314, +3 259, +5 258, +9 276

Pam, Do not let it get to you--I have learned That tomorrow is another day, and if the numbers arent so great tonite, there's always tomorrow!!
I have gone through every emotion with this disease, and I got to tell you, what I wrote today was from the heart!
Lightning WILL GET BETTER!! and you will feel much better, but it may take a while---
So put on your seatbelt Girl, and come along with us for the Ride!! We will help you through this--Promise! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/23 Lightning AMPS 314, +3 259, +5 258, +9 276

Reading your condo today took me back to Mannie's first days - always the reds, the pinks - and where oh where were the greens everyone was talking about. It will get better - but it does take time. I am with Roni - there is always tomorrow - it could be the day when it all comes together. So fret not, be patient, and cuddle Lightning as much as you can. Lightning reminds me of Mannie - no matter what the number he was/is one happy kitty - even when we were dealing with numbers in the 500's. Yep - It will get better!

Good luck with the dosecrease - one has to go up in order to come down. Have a nice evening!
 
Re: 8/23 Lightning AMPS 314, +3 259, +5 258, +9 276

Thanks Roni and Michelle....If I remind you of how you felt when you started, that definitely means I'm in good company. Thanks again for all your support. I just got off the phone with my mom (crying of course) and she told me she was so happy that I had this board to come to because everyone on here has been/is going through the same thing...and its true. I really don't know what I'd have done today if I didn't hear from so many of you. I feel much better and really am going to make a conscious effort to not let this run my life or ruin my day. Gone with the Wind is my favorite movie so that line about tomorrow being another day really does ring true to me. :smile:

PMPS is actually yellow so that's nice! I'm thinking tomorrow I will go up to 1.75u and see if Lightning likes that better.
 
Re: 8/23 Lightning AMPS 314, +9 276 PMPS 274

I think 1.75 tomorrow is a good idea, 10 cycles on this dose and Lightning has seen some blue. That's great, but let's look for MORE blue. :smile:
 
Woohoo!! Finally a blue!! Guess the threat of the increase scared Lightning!! Too bad he's still getting it tomorrow!!

Thanks again for everyone's support tonight...it really means a lot and I feel so much better. Have a great night LL!!
 
(((pam)))
it's hard not to get hung up on numbers, but take a good look at lightning. he doesn't give a flying flip what his numbers are. all he wants is your love and attention. the numbers will come. they just never seem to come fast enough for us.
good luck with the dose increase!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top