8/23 Eddie AMPS 129, +2/75, +3/48, +4/57, PMPS/470, +6/160

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 8/20 Condo

Yesterday: AMPS/76 (8%), +1/123 (7%), +2/121 (7%), +2.5/105 (8%), +3/91 (15%), +4 (auto - 8%), +4.5/120, +5 (auto - 8%), +6.5/155, +7/181, +9/295, PMPS/285, +1/299, +2/296
Today: AMPS/129 (7%), +1/161 (7%), +2/75 (15%), +2.5/50 (18% + karo), +3/48 (18% + karo), +3.5/59 (10%), +4/57, +4.5/77, +5/90, +7/262, +9/323, PMPS/470, +1/453, +2/346, +3/273, +4/247, +6/160

Happy Caturday LL!

I've missed a couple Eddie condos, but to recap briefly - I had intended to take Eddie's dose back up to 2.25u during the PM cycle of 8/21, because it looked like he had started to stall out after his hot mess of a dive cycle going dropping over 300 points in a few hours on 8/19. We also changed up our testing/feeding routine in the first part of the cycle. So far, DH has been cooperating (although not without complaint :lol: ). Wendy, thanks for clarifying what you meant by getting a +1 after his "normal" cycles. :smile: We're now feeding at PS, +1, and +2. Surprisingly, after just a couple cycles of this routine, I think it may actually be helping. The PS food spike is a little less as the PS meal is now split into two, and it seems like the +1 meal may be helping prop him up a little bit as he onsets. The +2 meal is usually where we will feed a higher carb if it looks like there may be some action.

In any event, the dosecrease didn't happen. After getting DH on board with the changes to the Eddie routine in terms of feeding and testing at +1, I forgot the most important part - the dosecrease that was to take place. I ended up working really late on 8/21, so Eddie didn't get an increase as planned. That turned out to be a good thing. :lol: That night Eddie slid down from a bounce and hit greens. He surfed in normal numbers through AMPS yesterday for over 9 hours! :mrgreen: Not really sure where that came from, but I'll take it!

Yesterday morning Eddie made me sweat a little bit with his AMPS of 76, but I got a bunch of tests in before leaving for work, and he got a bunch of extra carbs plus auto-feeder food. I did make it home for a spot check, and DH got off work early for the day around noon. He surfed for a while before the bounce broke through. I actually really considered skipping in the AM yesterday since both DH and I would be at work. We've never skipped a Lantus dose. Even with Eddie's very first green pre-shot, we took the plunge and shot. I'm half-way curious to see what would happen with a skipped shot when he's surfing...

For the PM cycle last night, DH was certain that he got a partial fur shot. I couldn't feel any wetness but there was a definite smell. Both DH and I fell asleep really early last night, and failed on getting any more tests beyond +2. Thankfully, it didn't look like Eddie was going to be having an exciting cycle, although I never really know for sure what he's going to do. Poor kitties didn't get their PM +6 snack, either. Usually, they wake me up if I've fallen asleep and they're missing their PM snack. Five cats jumping on the bed asking for food is usually enough to wake me up. :lol:

This morning, given my restful night's sleep for a change, I was up with DH for TFS. Eddie's AMPS was a beautiful 129. With the partial fur-shot last night, no clue where that came from, but I like it! Hopefully, he'll have a nice cycle today. I have to be out for several hours this afternoon for a work obligation, but I should know before I leave what Eddie's got planned for the day.

The last couple days, Eddie seems to be feeling pretty darn good for the most part. He's been doing a fair bit of rompa-stompa. He was chasing his civie sister around full-blast the night before last, and he even got in trouble for picking on his older brother!

Hugs and vines to all kitties and beans in need today!

Edited: added pertinent food notes to summary in case it's helpful for other LL'ers experimenting with steering methods.
 
Re: 8/23 Eddie AMPS 129, +2/75, +2.5/50

Looks like Eddie plans to keep you on your toes today!!!


Eddie my man....chill and surf for a bit for mommabean!
 
Re: 8/23 Eddie AMPS 129, +2/75, +3/48

MollynSkooter said:
Looks like Eddie plans to keep you on your toes today!!!

Nothing like a Caturday morning karo party! :mrgreen: @-) I think this might be a first. Eddie usually reserves karo parties for night time or the occasional work day morning.
 
Re: 8/23 Eddie AMPS 129, +2/75, +3/48

How thoughtful of him to do it on a Saturday morning! I decided to wait and get a +3 before going out the door to see where Skooter man is heading out....plus I can make a grocery list now instead of aimlessly walking about....


Eddie....no need to do all the diving in the first few hours....you have a whole 12 hours in your cycle....spread the love my friend!
 
Re: 8/23 Eddie AMPS 129, +2/75, +3/48, +3.5/59

This is really exciting. No increase and maybe on the brink of a dosecrease, aniti-jinx.
 
Re: 8/23 Eddie AMPS 129, +2/75, +3/48, +4/57

Thanks for visiting Molly and Elise.

Molly - Skooter's looking great! Looks like he's surfing nicely for you this AM.

Elise - I hope Eddie can flatten out for a while before insisting on a reducie. He gets so much momentum when he's bounce clearing (which must have been what happened last night), that I don't "trust" that a dip into the 40's when he's bounce clearing means he wants less insulin.

The one thing I "struggle" with a bit when Eddie's running low is when to switch from HC to no food, or to MC or higher LC to help keep the numbers up without overcarbing - versus him dropping back down after the karo wears off and having to switch back to HC/karo. That's definitely one area that I feel like I don't have a clue what to do.
 
Re: 8/23 Eddie AMPS 129, +2/75, +3/48, +4/57, +5/90

I have the same issues with what to feed that you have but I do think you have a better handle on that than I do. Good cycle today. Is this the second day he was under 50? I agree with you about wanting to hold for as long as you can but between
Eddie, work, and other responsibilities it might be out of your hands. I hope not though. I hope he surfs green and blue until tonight.
 
Re: 8/23 Eddie AMPS 129, +2/75, +3/48, +4/57, PMPS/470

Well good grief. I guess Eddie's panic button works just fine. It feels a little weird to have a Mr. Greenie icon (and a drop below 50) in a cycle with a red PMPS. I was on my way home from my work function when DH texted me Eddie's PMPS number, which was actually a color that shall not be named. I made him retest and the 470 PMPS was the result. It does make me wonder if I missed something important last night, as Eddie usually doesn't hit reds unless he's had a couple back-to-back lowish cycles.

Despite the numbers, Eddie's in good spirits tonight. He was playing and wrestling with DH while I was at the work function. Depending on what his next couple tests look like, if Eddie isn't dropping, I may imbibe a few adult beverages tonight. (Even if he is dropping, I still might imbibe a few adult beverages). It's super humid here today, but refuses to rain. There was keg beer at the work function I was at (police officer retirement party), and it tasted delicious! :-D

tiffmaxee said:
I have the same issues with what to feed that you have but I do think you have a better handle on that than I do. Good cycle today. Is this the second day he was under 50? I agree with you about wanting to hold for as long as you can but between
Eddie, work, and other responsibilities it might be out of your hands. I hope not though. I hope he surfs green and blue until tonight.

Ha! I'm not sure why Eddie's liver panicked so badly today, but it certainly could have been the big drop between +1 and +2. I think this is his first dip below 50 on 2 units, but I'll go back and double check to be sure. I like the 3-below-50 approach, since it basically accommodates for Eddie's dramatic bounce clearing cycles, but I did reduce one time on a single drop below 50, as I had to fight to keep him up. Today, I did get a little nervous after the first dose of karo didn't stop him from going lower, but then the liver glucagon bomb apparently went off sometime shortly after that. :roll:
 
Re: 8/23 Eddie AMPS 129, +2/75, +3/48, +4/57, PMPS/470

Can we say bouncy boy?!?!?


graphics-tigger-928454.gif


Come on down, nice and steady there Eddie!
 
Re: 8/23 Eddie AMPS 129, +2/75, +3/48, +4/57, PMPS/470, +3/2

+3 = 273. Down 200 points in 3 hours from PS. Maybe the PM cycle will be a reverse rainbow slide of today's AM cycle?

It feels totally counter intuitive to feed anything other than LC when Eddie's so high but should I be feeding MC at this point??
 
Re: 8/23 Eddie AMPS 129, +2/75, +3/48, +4/57, PMPS/470, +3/2

Eddie really is keeping you hopping. I wonder what the night holds for you. It seems since you already got a huge drop feeding mc won't prevent anything but what do I know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top