8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well dose advice for shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23021

sorry I have been so MIA on LL between friday at work and 2 days at fair I am so behind at home so I do not look to be able to visit condos much today either maybe tonight I have so much housework to do and I slept way too late after going btb after his shot my migraine just did not let me sleep. Anyway Do Lou is a little quiet today but he was very happy last night kept getting me up and purring away and playing under the blanket :-D His numbers are of course frustrating me again we get that ONE nice day and its like thats it for a while :?: all P's in place for my Do Lou :-D
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou amps 293+4 242+6 303 dose??

Do Lou...going in the wrong direction, aren't you? Hopefully you will get an answer before shot time tonight Lisa...
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou amps 293+4 242+6 303 dose??

well he just vomited a lot again you know maybe its just my imagination but he seems to have had more stomach issues since being on Lev has anyone else has this problem I have not noted all the times he has thrown up but its been I am thinking 5 now since starting Lev so as I sit and reflect today does anyone care to enlighten me could it be the insulin change?? Maybe I guess maybe not I am starting to wonder I just gave him a pepcid
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou amps 293+4 242+6 303 dose??

That is a good question Lisa...if there have been no other changes like food, etc, then it is reasonable to wonder about that. I have only used Vetsulin and then Levemir and I haven't noticed unusual vomiting at all with my two. Wonder what others will say....
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou amps 293+4 242+6 303 question?

hmm can't help you with your question, hope you get some answers soon and Do Lou stops vomiting
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou amps 293+4 242+6 303 question?

any chance he is a moon kitty?
I know some will toss up around full/new moons.
Luna did, and civvie does too. Yum.

some beans note the moon events in SS. (like Pat) :lol: and me!

food could be it too, a change in flavour...as for it being the insulin, not sure about that.
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou amps 293+4 242+6 303+9 232 question?

+9 232 vomited once again and to me this number is a reflection of no food since very early and vomiting 2x since he has not eaten since 6am now so Mama Bean is entering worry land he had one or 2 treats but thats it hoping the pepcid kicks in soon
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou amps 293+4 242+6 303+9 232 question?

well he is still acting like he feels really bad and wants to vomit again certainly hope its not his food or anything like that I am skipping tonights shot since he will not eat and calling the vet
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou amps 293+4 242+6 303+9 232 question?

talked to Do Lou's vet wants me to call him in 2 hours and we make a decision then on whether or not for me to bring him in he hates to put him under the stress of driving if its just a one time feel bad day but like he also pointed out ever since Crazy Horse died suddenly he does not like me to wait if I really feel like somethings wrong so not sure what I am doing as of yet will see how he is in 1 hour and make the call then. He still will not eat.
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well

pmps 245 no shot for now ( vet said to wait until I talk to him again later)if anyone wants to send him some healing vines I think he needs them worried Mama Bean here
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well

lots of healing vines are on the way. I'm sure it's nothing, but it's always good to check it out. It could be a pancreatitis attack, has Do Lou had that before?

Careful about skipping a shot, I know they say you need to have food on board to give insulin, but not giving insulin to a sick cat who isn't eating is also a recipe for ketones. It's a fine line so please test for ketones if you skip insulin.
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well

Tons of healing vibes coming your way! Poor bean and kitty. I hope everyone's feeling much better really soon.
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well

((Do Lou & Lisa)) Sending healing vines to Do Lou....i know you are worried Lisa. You did a good thing by calling the vet. Seriously though, I keep thinking of what Barb went through with Checkers. If the pepcid doesn't change his eating then there is definitely something brewing. You know him best. Do you think he is running a fever?
They can do tests if you bring him in. And if you stay home...well, there isn't much that you can do on your own, right?
Sending blizzards of snowflakes for Do Lou...hope he feels better soon .....
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well

Libby and Lucy said:
lots of healing vines are on the way. I'm sure it's nothing, but it's always good to check it out. It could be a pancreatitis attack, has Do Lou had that before?

Careful about skipping a shot, I know they say you need to have food on board to give insulin, but not giving insulin to a sick cat who isn't eating is also a recipe for ketones. It's a fine line so please test for ketones if you skip insulin.

Well I may not be skipping the shot for sure waiting to see what the vet wants me to do when I call if we give the shot it will be late thats for sure so we would be way off not matter what and I tested for ketones 30 min ago neg . No he has never had pancreatitis but its something I was kinda worrying about Libby being possible of course still hoping he is just having a off day
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well

((((Lisa)))) I really hope it's nothing serious.
Healing/feel better soon vines for Do Lou!
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well

Aww, DL -- sending you tons of healing vines. I'm sorry you don't feel well.
I hope it something simple, like a fur ball.
And Mommabean, I know you are worried ((((((((((((((((((Lisa)))))))))))))))))))))).
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well

i'd suspect pancreatitis as well.
if you can, bring him in. if you can't figure out anything else definitive, ask for pain meds like bupe and to give subQ fluids. he'd probably need the fluids anyway because of the vomiting (also add extra water to his food or syringe it into his mouth). pancreatitis is very painful so don't forget the pain meds.
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well

((((Do Lou--Lisa))))--I was also MIA & am so sorry Do Lou isnt feeling well~~~!!!!!!!
Sending Giant Healing Vines for him to feel better- Hope the vet can figure it out--Also take good care of yourself--D L needs his Momma bean!!
Please update!!HUGS!!!!!
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well

I agree with Libby w.r.t. skipping insulin... you don't want to invite others undesirables to the diabetes party...

Pancreatitis was also what came to my mind.
I hope you get some answers Lisa.

Sending lots of healing vines.
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well

(((((((((Lisa & Do Lou))))))))) We are very sorry that Do Lou is under the weather. Stu is out in the garden picking some healing vines to send to his pal. I hope that you and your vet will be able to determine what is bothering him. Let's hope that it will turn out to be just one of those things and that tomorrow all will be back to normal. Take care of yourself, too, Lisa. Healing go-away-migraine vines are on their way to you!

Hugs,
Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245+1.5 258 dose advice??? still not well

Just got off phone from vet he had thrown up 2 more small amounts he would rather he have insulin tonight which to be honest I am just not real comfortable giving with him feeling this way so dose advice?????? anyway I am to call in morning we are worried it may be this new bag of primal nuggets I just opened yesterday and I did take note last night the color was a bit diff but they smelled ok but now with him sick we are wondering if its raw meat related I will know more in morning he is a little more alert but thats about all.
dose advice for tonight needed look how late it is??? we are already 3 hours off so not sure what do to at this point?
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well need dose advice

I would probably throw a little something in the shed, maybe 1/2 dose. Will he eat anything? Plain chicken or baby food maybe?
 
Re: 8/23 Do Lou pmps 245 still not well need dose advice

Libby and Lucy said:
I would probably throw a little something in the shed, maybe 1/2 dose. Will he eat anything? Plain chicken or baby food maybe?

No I have tried baby food, tuna he just turns his nose up at everything right now so you think 2U then??
 
Tons of vines for Do Lou (and you).

Are there any litter box issues going on? I hope the Pepsid does the trick!

If you are concerned about the raw food, stop feeding it. I'd switch back to something canned until you can sort this out.
 
whatever is comfortable for you, but I would think 1/2 dose should be ok, but if you would rather go with less that's fine too. You're the one who is there, though. If you shoot you'll want to monitor for a while.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
whatever is comfortable for you, but I would think 1/2 dose should be ok, but if you would rather go with less that's fine too. You're the one who is there, though. If you shoot you'll want to monitor for a while.

Ok I will go with 2U he has been staying pretty stable with the mid 200s today I am worried not matter what of course but will go with this and watch him I am going to be up late I can see
 
I'm so sorry Do Lou is not feeling well and not eating! Sending lots of healing vines for DL and hugs for you! Hopefully it will turn out to be something minor or he will bounce right back to normal soon. It's so stressful when our furkids are sick!
 
Mannie and I send lots of healing vines to Do Lou. We are both sorry he is not feeling well. Mannie has picked some special vines he has been growing, and hopes that Do Lou likes them. Here's hoping that it is just a temporary thing, adn that he feels much better tomorrow. Tough when our furkids don't feel well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top