8/23 Dexter M AMPS 106 PMPS 124 +1 132 +2 94 +3 85 +4 99

DexterMeowgan

Member Since 2021
Looks like he'll be staying above 100 consistently PS.

Is there anything further I can do to reduce that besides maybe wet food? They seem the same carb amount but maybe it'll make a difference?
 
Last edited:
Looks like he'll be staying above 100 consistently PS.

Is there anything further I can do to reduce that besides maybe wet food? They seem the same carb amount but maybe it'll make a difference?
Getting rid of the dry could do it. I’d try the increase first. Does he eat enough without the dry?
 
The alternative would be to ditch all dry and NOT increase. Still need to test a bit more to see if the dry is causing the blues. It could make him go low if that is the case.
 
I think you should take him back to 0.10. It might just be for a short time. What do you think?

@Bandit's Mom

I think I should raise the dose, transitioning him to a wet food hasn't worked in the past and we tried both things like FF and low carb more expensive types. They eat it willingly for about a day or maybe two, and then refuse to eat it after that.

The absolute tiniest dot forms at the end of the needle when I'm applying pressure before inserting then releasing inside the pen. It's barely past the width of the needle. Is that big enough to be considered a dose?
 
@Bandit's Mom

I think I should raise the dose, transitioning him to a wet food hasn't worked in the past and we tried both things like FF and low carb more expensive types. They eat it willingly for about a day or maybe two, and then refuse to eat it after that.

The absolute tiniest dot forms at the end of the needle when I'm applying pressure before inserting then releasing inside the pen. It's barely past the width of the needle. Is that big enough to be considered a dose?
Yes, transitioning can be a long term project for some cats. Can't wait for that. Try the 0.10U as suggested by Elise. Just make sure sure you check the syringes for zero error and get enough tests to figure out how low the dose is taking him.

Saw the photo of the pens, btw. Could not see through the condensation of the new pen. If the insulin is clear, it should be okay.
 
Just as a support for increasing to 0.1U, you can check Chico's SS, we dropped from 0.75 to 0.5 and after seeing consistently higher preshots we increased back to 0.75, it took just a week for him to ask for a decrease back to 0.5 but we believe it helped a lot to bring him into lower values overall. Usually higher BG values means more insulin is needed, i am not certain how it is when feeding higher carbs but i guess the logic is the same (unless you intend to exclude HC).
 
Just as a support for increasing to 0.1U, you can check Chico's SS, we dropped from 0.75 to 0.5 and after seeing consistently higher preshots we increased back to 0.75, it took just a week for him to ask for a decrease back to 0.5 but we believe it helped a lot to bring him into lower values overall. Usually higher BG values means more insulin is needed, i am not certain how it is when feeding higher carbs but i guess the logic is the same (unless you intend to exclude HC).

He doesn't eat HC food... In fact the dry food he's on says it has lower carb content than some wet foods I've looked at.

The problem is there's not enough moisture to make up for wet food, which I know causes kidney issues in the long run. I have discussed changing his diet already, am going to the vet later today for a checkup and asking what to do to proceed. Upping the dose isn't out of the question, I'll get her advice as well.
 
Back
Top