8/23 Corv, AMPS 188 +2 117 +4.5 88 +5.5 117 PMPS 191 +2 159

ok his +2 is 117 quite the drop… need to leave the house for 2 hours but will be back to grab a +4.

need to look into getting a different meter if i’m checking this often, alpha track strips are pricey 💰 i see the relion has good reviews? maybe i’ll nab that one.
 
You might want to add a snack at +1 (feed a little less with the shot so he's hungry enough to eat at +1). That could help reduce the diving at onset.

Most of us use human meters because strips for pet meters are really expensive. The Relion Premier Classic from WalMart is only around $9 and the strips are around $18 for 100.
 
ok his +2 is 117 quite the drop… need to leave the house for 2 hours but will be back to grab a +4.

need to look into getting a different meter if i’m checking this often, alpha track strips are pricey 💰 i see the relion has good reviews? maybe i’ll nab that one.
I started with the Alpha Trak and had to switch to the Relion because the AT strips were bankrupting me😵‍💫. While you're at it, pick up two Relion meters, so you'll have a back-up. I had one die on me when I'd only had it less than a year. At $9 each, it's not too difficult to have a backup.

Bhooma's (Bandit's Mom) advice to feed a snack at +1 is something to definitely consider. Those big dives can cause bouncing.

It's good to see him in all blue numbers (below 200, he's in numbers that help to heal his pancreas). He's going to be in the greens before you know it!
 
I started with the Alpha Trak and had to switch to the Relion because the AT strips were bankrupting me😵‍💫. While you're at it, pick up two Relion meters, so you'll have a back-up. I had one die on me when I'd only had it less than a year. At $9 each, it's not too difficult to have a backup.

Bhooma's (Bandit's Mom) advice to feed a snack at +1 is something to definitely consider. Those big dives can cause bouncing.

It's good to see him in all blue numbers (below 200, he's in numbers that help to heal his pancreas). He's going to be in the greens before you know it!
good tip, i’ll definitely pick up 2! also the numbers change slightly right? do i have to change that in my SS?

we just got our first green!! 88 @+4.5. Do you think i should wait a couple days to see if he keeps diving that much every time before giving a +1 snack?
 
You might want to add a snack at +1 (feed a little less with the shot so he's hungry enough to eat at +1). That could help reduce the diving at onset.

Most of us use human meters because strips for pet meters are really expensive. The Relion Premier Classic from WalMart is only around $9 and the strips are around $18 for 100.
oh $18/100 is sooo much better than the $60/50 for AlphaTrak 😖
 
Wow!!! Your first GREEN! That's fantastic!

The numbers are different on human meters. You can copy the number line from my spreadsheet. When/if you make the change, you'll want to note it on the spreadsheet--see my sheet. Also, make sure to change your signature and the information at the top of your SS.

I think you should go ahead and give those snacks early on at the beginning of the cycle, as Bhooma suggested. Just a little bit will keep him bumped up a bit and, hopefully, prevent such a huge drop.

I would keep an eye on him and test again since he's new to insulin and you're still gathering data to see how he handles it. He seems to have a later cycle nadir, so it's possible he might go lower than the +4.5. But 88 is perfectly safe, so no need to take action.
 
FYI, if you see your kitty going under 90 when you are following the SLGS dosing method, you reduce the dose by 0.25 units. Meaning your new dose would be 0.25 units.
 
is that nadir or pre-meal?
Anytime, or how low can this dose take your cat. If the answer is "below 90", you reduce the dose. For SLGS, if Corv were to be below 90 at shot time, you wouldn't shoot. But one option is to wait a bit and see if he comes up. If that ever happens, post and we can help you through the options.
 
Back
Top