8/23 Chloe - AMPS 108 | 91 @ +11 | PMPS 115; vet/dental today;

Good luck with the dental!

Did her appetite improve yesterday?

The most popular probiotic here is S. Boulardii. You also get S. Boulardii + MOS.
https://www.foodfurlife.com/my-cat-has-diarrhea---what-do-i-do.html#/
https://www.rawfeedingforibdcats.org/probiotics-for-cats---why-and-which-ones.html
Thank you for the recommendation! Is that something I need a prescription for?

Yes, after 1/2 a can of MC, she also showed interest in her LC eventually. Ate some overnight as well and the small meal this morning they told me I could give her.
 
S. Boullardi is good for diarrhea. Renew Ultimate probiotics for humans are also good. I give Visbiome which is a good one for IBD.

Paws crossed for an easy dental.
 
S. Boullardi is good for diarrhea. Renew Ultimate probiotics for humans are also good. I give Visbiome which is a good one for IBD.

Paws crossed for an easy dental.
Thank you! Her issues w/ antibiotics have mostly be spit up/vomiting rather than the other end.
 
Got a call from the vet that her BUN is more elevated than the last time they ran the test a month ago - up to 51. They're running another panel to see if her kidney disease is advancing or if it's something else. Depending on what they find (and how much she'll tolerate in terms of an IV because that place super stresses her out), I'm not sure the dental is gonna happen today. Vet said not to expect a call for another 3-4 hours, so long day for poor Chloe :(
 
It will take them 3-4 hours more to check her labs and let you know if they can do the dental today?
It’s always a very busy animal hospital. It’s super close, but it’s not always expedient. It makes her visits so much harder :-(

I think the 3-4 hour call was to let me know what they *had* done rather than what they were going to do? I’m not 100% sure. I wasn’t taking notes, as I have to take calls outside. My apartment has awful reception.
 
Elevated BUN could be from dehydration, which is a probability if Chloe didn't eat much yesterday. I hope that's all it is. Hang in there, Alex, and keep us posted. :bighug:
 
Afternoon update: vet was able to complete dental work and scheduled tests. There was concern that she wouldn't take an IV after anesthesia because of stress/attitude, so they gave her some sub-Q.

She's got another UTI (or the last one never cleared up), so we will be back on Clavamox. While rough on her stomach, she takes them really easily. But this time I'm going to get some probiotics to hopefully counter the spit up that happened regularly last time.

BG ranged between 130-180 on a pet meter all day. No glucose in the urine.

PM dose question: The vet suggested a small meal and half her usual dose of insulin as she recovers from anesthesia. This is also a vet who is more comfortable with dogs and Vetsulin. Is this good advice?

She will also be getting home about 2 hours before shot time and I doubt she's eaten much today so I bet she's starving. My instinct is to just feed her and skip the shot for tonight to give her a break. Thoughts?
 
I suggest you test her when she gets home, and then again at PMPS and determine what to do then. Some anaesthesia induction drugs lower the BG, not all do. Try giving her a small snack when she gets home and see if she eats. Don't feed a lot at once. Anaesthesia can also impair GI motility - too much food could mean vomiting. So small meals separated 20-30 minutes.

Did she get any extractions? Possible pain from extractions is also a consideration. If she's in pain, BG is dropping to PMPS, she won't eat, then a skip or reduced dose might be in order. Neko's first dental, by a vet more familiar with diabetic dogs and Caninsulin, also was a skip that PM. She was sky high in the AM. :(
 
I suggest you test her when she gets home, and then again at PMPS and determine what to do then. Some anaesthesia induction drugs lower the BG, not all do. Try giving her a small snack when she gets home and see if she eats. Don't feed a lot at once. Anaesthesia can also impair GI motility - too much food could mean vomiting. So small meals separated 20-30 minutes.

Did she get any extractions? Possible pain from extractions is also a consideration. If she's in pain, BG is dropping to PMPS, she won't eat, then a skip or reduced dose might be in order. Neko's first dental, by a vet more familiar with diabetic dogs and Caninsulin, also was a skip that PM. She was sky high in the AM. :(
No extractions. I’ll put out a little bit now and see if she’ll eat. I’m not sure how much she’ll let me be around her. We just got home and she is understandably cranky.
 
Interesting that you gave full dose this AM. For most dentals, cats get 1/2 dose in the AM. A skip wouldn't be the worst thing if she continues not to be interested in food, as it'd just be one cycle.
 
I thought it was strange, too, but that was the answer I was given twice when they verified my appointment. Of course, they might also think she's on a higher dose. Since I don't really consult with them about dosing, they don't necessarily know where she is.

Will keep monitoring. She's asleep on her cat tree right now.
 
PMPS is rising: 115.

Doesn’t seem interested in eating right now, so I’m holding off. I’ll probably break into the MC in 30 mins to see if that changes her mind. If not, probably skipping.
 
Back
Top