Re: 8/23 Binks ambg 408 amps 460 +4 387
You might have gotten the short needles....but the u100 syringes do come in 1/2" needles too...either finish up with what you have now, or buy the longer ones. What brand are you using? I use the Reli-On from Walmart... 3/10mi./cc 29Gauge 12.7mm 1/2" syringes.
One thing about fur shots.... DO NOT EVER RESHOOT if you think you had a fur shot. We are never sure if any insulin got in, so it's best to just forget it and move on. If some insulin went in and you reshoot, you are overdosing your kitty. So, do not shoot again....okay?
Feeling wetness around the fur can be the best indication. The smell of the insulin can still be there from the needle sides so that is not always the best way to know. But generally, the numbers during that cycle will be high and that will be the best way to be sure that it was indeed a fur shot.
When we increase the dose over time, hopefully you will see no more of those reds. Later on, reds may indicate an inflammation or infection. The BG readings are a good tool for all that. You are asking very good questions Celi...and it is so good that you are posting every day! That's very important! :mrgreen: