8/23 Beenie AMPS 80, 143 +1, 205 +4, 215 +7, 279 +9, PMPS 291

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm leaning towards making something up to get out of the meeting.

Should I go back to 12 U instead of 12.5?
 
I hate to say skip, but this is the lowest you've shot. She seems to nadir later in the cycle, after you should be back home though. If you shoot and she does go lower before you leave, can you cancel your meeting and stay home with her?
 
I'm thinking you could shoot and give her HC food in the early meals and she should not drop too low, but I can't say for sure since this is the first green you've shot last night. She had a really nice cycle last night and I don't think you had to feed her a lot of extra food. If you can stay home, I'd shoot the 12.5 and let her earn the reduction. I won't be able to stay on much longer. I have to leaver for work in 15 minutes and won't be able to check in from work like I usually do until lunch time.
 
I just emailed and advised I won't make the meeting. So I will be home to monitor. I'll stick with the 12.5 U so we don't lose momentum. Thanks Carla
 
Missed this thread. I posted on your other thread, but it looks like you already shot.

This is what I had posted

"That is a tough call. "Theoretically" Beenie should start to rise shortly. You shot the 81 last night and she surfed very nicely. Of course with not being able to monitor I understand your concern.

Two thoughts. You could give a slightly reduced dose for the AM shot. HOWEVER the higher depot may still affect this cycle so you can't be sure what sort of numbers you will get. If you have not already fed her you could retest and see if she is going up yet.

Another thought would be to retest...see where the numbers are and if they are rising but only slowly give some higher carb food and give the usual dose. Of course it would be good if you could manage a test around +4 or +5 to make sure the numbers are safe. I have done this a few times when my kitty had a lower than comfortable preshot reading.

Some of this is up to you, since you are exhausted, need sleep and won't be able to monitor. Some insulin is definitely better than skipping though.

Not sure if that helps at all."
 
Missed this thread. I posted on your other thread, but it looks like you already shot.

This is what I had posted

"That is a tough call. "Theoretically" Beenie should start to rise shortly. You shot the 81 last night and she surfed very nicely. Of course with not being able to monitor I understand your concern.

Two thoughts. You could give a slightly reduced dose for the AM shot. HOWEVER the higher depot may still affect this cycle so you can't be sure what sort of numbers you will get. If you have not already fed her you could retest and see if she is going up yet.

Another thought would be to retest...see where the numbers are and if they are rising but only slowly give some higher carb food and give the usual dose. Of course it would be good if you could manage a test around +4 or +5 to make sure the numbers are safe. I have done this a few times when my kitty had a lower than comfortable preshot reading.

Some of this is up to you, since you are exhausted, need sleep and won't be able to monitor. Some insulin is definitely better than skipping though.

Not sure if that helps at all."
I was just about to tag you to let you know I stared a new thread. Thanks Mary Ann. I just did a +1 and she's at 143!! Now I can really sleep a little :smuggrin:

Is it somewhat normal to get to these numbers this quickly? Could this have been glucose toxicity all along and we're breaking through? Just trying to make sense of something you probably can't make sense of:facepalm:
 
Oh and another question:rolleyes: I shot her about 20 minutes late deciding if I should shoot or not. Do I need to adjust anything? I want to keep her at 6:30am/6:30pm

Thanks again..sorry for all my questions
:bighug:
 
Glad to see the numbers went up. This is what her "normal" cycle appears to do but you never know and when you are exhausted or unavailable to test it is overwhelming.

You can change the timing by as much as 30 minutes in a 24 hour day without being a problem so you can shoot at your regular time tonight. With Maxie I find that I can do even larger time changes with no problems but that is from a long time of observing my own kitty.


Hope you get a few hours sleep after the long night you had. :bighug:


ETA It appears that Beenie really like Levemir. Each kitty is different and some kitties do better on different types of insulin. When you get the test results at the end of the week it will help fill in the blanks about possible Acro or IAA.
 
Thanks all ! Made it through the night :D

She's bouncing and I bailed on my meeting but couldn't leave her when she tested at 80 this morning not to mention keeping my eyes open would be a challenge.

:bighug:
 
Sleep is definitely a necessity.

Beenie has cleared her bounces pretty quickly in the past so she may have a busier cycle tonight or tomorrow morning. In the meantime catch up on your sleep :bighug:
 
Oops. Didn't see there was a new thread already. I hope you're getting some sleep this morning. That was a long night!
Thanks. I did sleep for two hours this morning so that was nice.o_O

I'm trying to get to know thy cat and if she continues to surf safely at the low numbers I'll know going forward I can sleep. She has her auot-feeder for overnight so she should be fine. I just look at so many other SS and kitties randomly go low and its caught and steered but I'm sure there are plenty that go low and aren't tested and do fine. At least that's what I hope.
 
Sleep is definitely a necessity.

Beenie has cleared her bounces pretty quickly in the past so she may have a busier cycle tonight or tomorrow morning. In the meantime catch up on your sleep :bighug:
Thanks Mary Ann!! Appreciate your help/support. Will definitely get a good nights sleep tonight
sleeping-kitten-TS_160626325.jpg
 
Yeowww has the best catnip! I don't know what it is about theirs that's so much better, but Sam goes absolutely NUTS when a Chewy box is delivered because he knows it usually contains a new banana/fish/cigar. I swear he can read the letters on the side because he couldn't care less when I get an Amazon box. ;)

Okay, okay, I know it's the smell, but don't all parents like to think their kids are overachievers? :p:cat:

Glad Beenie is giving you some rest today.

When do you get the test results back?
 
Well MSU won't give out ANY information unless I was the party submitting the samples.:banghead: Wouldn't even confirm receipt. I'll just wait until Friday afternoon and call my vet to see if they can get any results. My guess is I won't get any info until Monday assuming the sames were received on time and tested today.

I've waited this long so another few days:rolleyes:
 
Well MSU won't give out ANY information unless I was the party submitting the samples.:banghead: Wouldn't even confirm receipt. I'll just wait until Friday afternoon and call my vet to see if they can get any results. My guess is I won't get any info until Monday assuming the sames were received on time and tested today.

I've waited this long so another few days:rolleyes:


Waiting is the HARDEST part. You could always ask your vet to check tomorrow and get a status update. At least that way you will know that the samples arrived safely and on time and you will get an idea when the results will be available. I just hate waiting for test results. :mad:
 
Waiting is the HARDEST part. You could always ask your vet to check tomorrow and get a status update. At least that way you will know that the samples arrived safely and on time and you will get an idea when the results will be available. I just hate waiting for test results. :mad:
Sounds like a good idea! Thanks
 
Wow! I missed all the excitement last night and today. Glad you could stay home and monitor and shot the full dose. Lots of times when they are low at AMPS they are on the way back up again and bounce and then you are so glad that you shot. A great test to get if you can is +11 so you can see if they are rising or falling and it helps with the decision process with the lower AMPS.

Good job today Michelle!
 
Wow! I missed all the excitement last night and today. Glad you could stay home and monitor and shot the full dose. Lots of times when they are low at AMPS they are on the way back up again and bounce and then you are so glad that you shot. A great test to get if you can is +11 so you can see if they are rising or falling and it helps with the decision process with the lower AMPS.

Good job today Michelle!
Thanks Bobbie! It was eventfulo_O
I can smile and laugh now but I was nervous but so glad I gave the full dose!!
 
Well, I think that gives a pretty good idea where those pinks came from! I love all the images you're finding!
Yes Ma'am, mystery solved! Should be interesting when the increase kicks in. At least it will be close to or the weekend when I don't have to work;)
I love all the images you're finding!
I like looking for them:D I always liked cute cat pics and where else can it be this appreciated then here:p
 
Is it somewhat normal to get to these numbers this quickly? Could this have been glucose toxicity all along and we're breaking through? Just trying to make sense of something you probably can't make sense of:facepalm:
Probably a mix of things. Some condition means she needs the dose she does. I hope you'll find out what soon. Glucose toxicity was probably in the mix too. And part of it is that Beenie likes Levemir better.:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top