Sarah and Blaze
Member Since 2019
Blaze's AMPS is 410, should I give 0.5U again this morning like I did yesterday morning? @MrWorfMen's Mom
Yes I would given you can't monitor him all day. I think those higher BGs in the AM are simply a bit of a bounce from the yellows overnight which Blaze isn't used to. Let's talk a bit of an increase maybe on the weekend if you can monitor then.
Okay sounds good Linda! Thank you! Have a Good Friday, talk later!You are grasping this puzzle very quickly.Yes I think you could try 0.75u dose but I'd also like to see what happens at current dose with the dry reduced a tad more too. Since we don't know how much Blaze is eating vs. his siblings reduce the dry a little more today. The pre-shots coming down is definitely a good thing along with that smoother less dramatic drop.
I'll be around tonight so we can discuss next steps more then.![]()
Good morning Lou! Thank you! I definitely feel more confident with BG testing but not with reading the numbers and knowing what dose to give based on his numbers, whether I should increase or decrease, hence me posting here every day!Good morning Sarah! Blaze is doing well, it's no good second guessing the dose last night. It's better to be slow and steady and see what cuddly Blaze is going to do today.
This is the first day you get to get more tests and watch the progress, and I am eager to see what happens. Deep breaths, you are doing great and Blaze's progress is showing that.
It's ok that he's going to be on Novolin for another week, and he's safe Sarah. You, Linda, Nan and others are making sure of that. You may see different results when he gets on Lantus, it's just differently shaped tool in your diabetic treatment toolbox and the depot will need to build. So, you will be starting a new learning process there. It's all a step by step work in progress, but you and Blaze are going to get there.
On the subject of Lantus, Nan has given you great info.
There are two dosing methods we follow here. Start Low and Go Slow and Tight Regulation. Tight Regulation or TR is a little more aggressive and I think a bit more challenging when you are working but a lot of folks still do it and manage just fine. In the big scheme of things, very few people have the luxury of coming home to test kitty on their lunch hour so if you can and are willing to do it some days, you are already at an advantage.
You have about a half hour leeway with Lantus shots and as long as you don't anticipate late or early shots every day, you will be fine.
HERE is some info about using TR protocol with Lantus while working a full time job. I'm sure you will find it helpful to alleviate some if not all of your concerns. And of course if you choose, you can also use the Start Low Go Slow method (required if kitty is still on dry food).
Read the stickies in the Lantus forum and ask any questions your have so you can decide what you think will work best for you and Blaze. You can always switch anytime from one method to the other if you choose.
Thank you for the info Linda and Nan!
I just ordered Blaze's new Lantus prescription from Mark's Marine so I have a week or so to do some reading on Lantus. I have read through a lot of the stickies and threads on the Lantus board, trying to learn about it. I will read up on the TR protocol with Lantus and see what might work best for me and Blaze. I am hoping to be able to make it home on my lunch hour a couple times a week, but I know it won't always work out that. There may be weeks were I can come home and test a couple times in a week and there may be other weeks where I can't come home on my lunch at all. I know we will make it work and get through it with all your help![]()
@MrWorfMen's MomYou can try the 0.75u BUT you will need to monitor closely from about +2 to at least +5 and preferably to +6 to ensure Blaze doesn't drop too low. I doubt he will drop too low but they can surprise us sometimes so better to monitor and head them off at the pass.
@Nan & AmberI agree with everything Linda says. SLGS is great for getting your kitty down into the "remission zone" of healthy numbers. It can get a little weird at the end, and you might have to switch to TR to cross the finish line to a strong remission, but by that point you should have a good handle on how Blaze responds to the insulin and be able to work things out.
Okay sounds good, I’m copying this for when I’m ready. We will be on Novolin for another week or so, Lantus was ordered today from Marks Marine. So we’ll see where he is at once the Lantus comes in and I will post for dosing once we’re ready to start Lantus. Maybe start with 0.5U unless I can start Lantus on a Friday when I’m home and can monitor him. Thank you!From the SLGS guidelines:
If he were starting tomorrow, I'd probably start him on 0.5U (assuming the dry is pretty much out of the picture), although his numbers have been high enough that 0.75U would not be unreasonable. We'll see what he does in the next week, though!
- 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
- 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
- If the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
Okay thank you! You and @Nan & Amber have so much great info that is helping me immensely. So glad to have found this forumGenerally the dose is a direct switch so same dose on Lantus as the dose is on Novolin.
On the testing front tonight, I'd test at +2 and see what Blaze does. Then it may be necessary to test between +2 and +5 but we'll let Blaze direct traffic on this one. If he drops off a lot by +2, then a little more testing is needed. If he doesn't drop too much then testing is a little less intense. I'll stick around to coach you through.
I think it's a good choice to go with SLGS for now. Get your feet wet and get comfortable then if you want to change you can do so. While there are differences between Lantus and Novolin there's also things that are not so different. Some folks will suggest that dosing with Novolin is based on pre-shots which is not the case at all. You can sometimes dose Novolin on pre-shots after you have copious amounts of data and the cat is regulated but until then, the lowest point in the cycle still needs to be part of the dosing equation and that's where you are right now and that's what you will be looking to determine with Lantus. The other difference is the depot with Lantus which is still available and active after the 12 hour cycle. With Novolin the dose is used up and there is nothing left. With Lantus, the depot is still there and acting although not as strongly as it does when shots are given every 12 hours.

be patient -- bounces happen -- after four months Catcat is still bouncing, only not as high, not as often -- Lantus doesn't cure the bouncies, but it helps smooth them out, I suspect part of what is happening is that his pancreas is healing and thus releasing insulin, just not regularly nor routinely, so yes, his BG goes up and down and up and down -- as we continue to sing the chorus -- ECID -- every cat is different