8/22Ravan/pmps64/ +1 58 /60/58/53/+6 55/+8 85/+11 192

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't want to tell you to shoot....it is a shootable number but I'm just headed to bed and can't stay up with you and I don't think you've shot this low before. You could also shoot a partial dose.
@Wendy&Neko are you around and could help JoyBee?
 
Thanks Judy I didn't want to miss the shoot so I gave a small amount of H carb & shot a tiny bit less insulin. I'll be checking all night.
He dropped to 36 on .5 units so I have no idea how low he's gonna go?
 
He’s clearing a bounce and you are likely to see an active cycle.

I got your PM and am responding here. You said:
The main problem is I haven't been feeling so good & I'm very tired,can't keep my eyes open I can give him more FF but I'm getting worried.

You have to give him carbs in the form of food, not Karo (syrup, honey, etc). You might want to give him a larger portion of the HC food but you’ll need to tes him 30 mins after you do to see how much he goes up.

I haven’t followed him enough to see how carb sensitive he is. I know you don’t feel well but if you feed HC, retest in 30, you can see how much it boosts him up. HC can wear off in a couple hours so you are aim8ng to give him enough to shoot him up prett6 far. That’s sometimes a challenge when they are clearing a bounce.

If he’s headed up pretty well 30 mins after you feed, do you think you could go to bed for two hours and then get up & test to be sure he’s still going up?

I’m sorry you don’t feel well. When he’s running lower at PS, if you think you aren’t going to be available to test, it’s best to skip.
 
I'll give him more H carb FF & test in 30 mins. I just hope he doesn't keep dropping. Ravan's done that before. One time he was in the 30's & it took 2 hrs just to get him to come up a bit.

Thanks for responding
 
Last edited:
I'll give him more H carb FF & test in 30 mins. I just hope he doesn't keep dropping. Ravan's done that before. One time he was in the 30's & it took 2 hrs just to get him to come up a bit.

Thanks for responding
You’re welcome. When they are clearing a bounce, it can be really hard to keep them up.
 
So do you think I better just stay up to keep him safe? I'm worried that his BG is usually the lowest at +5 to +8
 
His Bg was 455 at amps How do you know when he's clearing a bounce or just going lower from the increase?

He ate an entire can of H carb FF & bg is even lower 53. I know he's safe at that # but now if he keeps going down what do I do?
 
Last edited:
His Bg was 455 at amps How do you know when he's clearing a bounce or just going lower from the increase?

He ate an entire can of H carb FF & bg is even lower 53. I know he's safe at that # but now if he keeps going down what do I do?
So very sorry.... I fell sound asleep.

Looks like he started a bounce yesterday after the 128 the night before. He looked like he was clearing last night but then he had a 455 this morning which was the high before the break.

For all reading, with Lantus, if the cycle is a downward trend all day from a high number and from one cycle to the next, it’s usually a bounce clearing cycle. If it’s an improvement based on a dose increase, you usually will see a mid cycle nadir.

Because Ravan is on Levemir, if he’s clearing a bounce with Lev, it will look the same as Lantus bounce clearing. On a “ normal” Lev cycle, without any carryover or overlap, you would expect flat or a little up from PS to onset and then numbers would come down to a later cycle nadir.

If he were mine, I wouldn’t go to sleep on a 53. I’d have fed and retested but you know him best.
 
Last edited:
@Marje and Gracie
Thank you so much for your advice I did get some sleep during the night. An hour here & there.He ate another half can of H carb FF at 3:30am I tested again at 5:30 & he's at 85 I think he's still carbed up. I'm asking early. Do I shoot 1 unit in 4 hrs if he's still under 100?

I get the feeling 1 unit might be too much? If he hadn't had all the High carb food he's be very low. I've never seen him stay this low for so long.Now i'm wondering if he'll bounce to the moon.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top