8/22 ZenerPMPS 286;2 194;3 115;4 109;~5 113;6 106;7 153 AT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 8/21/11
Beans go back to work today, summer vacation is over... :sad: Zener is celebrating his lovely blue/green cycle yesterday with a big ole pinky bounce to send us off to work.
flip_cat

Yesterday's summary
8/21/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 212, 11th cycle sk 1.5u
+1 211
+3 102
+3.5 90
+4 87
+4.7 108
+6 89
+6.5 104
+7.5 109
+9 111
+10.5 151
PMPS 198, 12th cycle sk 1.5u
+2 232
+4 305
+7 391

Today
8/22/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 363, 13th cycle sk 1.5u, 2t. 10% carbs

We are sorting our how to check him during the day and between our teaching schedules, will most days be able to get a few spot checks before out the door (+1, +2 and/or +3), a mid-cycle check and +10 or +11.

Hope everyone has a mellow Monday!
 
Re: 8/22 Zener AMPS 363;+2 325 A Trak

Big excitement in the back yard! Neighbor kitty spotted by Zener and Tillie followed by much puffing up, yeowling and hissing. cat(2)_steam Good time had by all!

Today
8/22/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 363, 13th cycle sk 1.5u, 2t. 10% carbs
+2 325, 1oz 12% carbs

Sliding down a little bit. The big guy is not very interested in food this am, so had to top off his food with a small teaspoon of the high carb to get him going. We're off now, so will be checking in with Zener later mid-day.
 
Re: 8/22 Zener AMPS 363;+2 325;+4 294 A Trak

Sliding down now into yellow.

Today
8/22/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 363, 13th cycle sk 1.5u, 2t. 10% carbs
+2 325, 1oz 12% carbs
+4 294, 1t. 13% carbs

Will get a +6 then back to work!
 
Re: 8/22 Zener AMPS 363;+2 325;+4 294 A Trak

Yuck on back to work. Zener is coming down nicely for you today. Hope you had a great day!!
 
Re: 8/22 Zener AMPS 363;+2 325;+4 294 A Trak

Thanks Melissa! Zener seems to be flattening out a bit now. Came home for lunch and a BG check. I only work 10 minutes from my house, so that really helps!

I believe Zener is almost as picky an eater as Tarragon! After a day of high carb it's hard to get him back on the lower carbs, so we settled on medium so that he is eating something!
 
Re: 8/22 Zener AMPS 363;+2 325;+4 294;+6 311 A Trak

He is flattening out a bit now.

Today
8/22/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 363, 13th cycle sk 1.5u, 2t. 10% carbs
+2 325, 1oz 12% carbs
+4 294, 1t. 13% carbs
+6 311, 1oz 13% carbs

It's always hard to get him back on lower carbs after a day of steering his cycle with high carbs. One thing we can almost always get the big guy to eat is GRAVY! At least he is eating something...
@-)
 
Re: 8/22 Zener AMPS 363;+2 325;+4 294;+6 311 A Trak

Hi Anne, we can add Maggie to the list of picky eaters! :lol: Oh, except for FF! You had some busy day yesterday. I was following but didn't get a chance to reply. Sorry about the btw, but great you're only ten munutes from home. Have a nice first day at work and hope all goes smoothly. Looks like Zener is coming down nicely.
 
Re: 8/22 Zener AMPS 363;+2 325;+4 294;+6 311 A Trak

Hi Ann, that's funny about Maggie being picky except for FF. That is the first wet food that we have been successful getting Zener to eat. Tried all the really high end, low carb ones and he acted like we were poisoning him. I constantly remind myself that eating FF wet food is way better than any dry kibble! No worries about not stopping by during yesterday's poke fest! Glad to know that you were watching over us!

Lunch time over, back to the "welcome back" to the new academic year meetings. I think they have these meetings to make sure the professors come back from summer! Zener is lounging in the window.
 
Re: 8/22 Zener AMPS 363;+2 325;+4 294;+6 311 A Trak

Hi guys .. glad to see zener came down for you today and flattened out a bit .. sorry to hear you got such a picky eater on your hands, that can't be any fun .. hope the first day back to work was an easy one!
 
Re: 8/22 Zener AMPS 363;+2 325;+4 294;+6 311;+11 313 A Trak

Thanks Peter, some days are better than others with Zener's appetite. Lower numbers usually mean better appetite for him, but he will still look at me sometimes when I put his food down for him like I am giving him something very disgusting! First day back wasn't too terribly traumatic. The kitties weathered it much better than their beans!

Today
8/22/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 363, 13th cycle sk 1.5u, 2t. 10% carbs
+2 325, 1oz 12% carbs
+4 294, 1t. 13% carbs
+6 311, 1oz 13% carbs
+11 313, FDCK treat

Will keep shooting the sk1.5u through the bounce.
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286 A Trak

He dropped a little from +11 to PMPS, not sure if it is a lantus dip, or if the slide out of the bounce is continuing. We shot the sk 1.50u again, since he still seems to be in the bounce.

Today
8/22/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 363, 13th cycle sk 1.5u, 2t. 10% carbs
+2 325, 1oz 12% carbs
+4 294, 1t. 13% carbs
+6 311, 1oz 13% carbs
+11 313, FDCK treat
PMPS 286, 14th cycle sk 1.50u, 3t. 14% carbs

Will get his +2 and see how things are looking.

Survived the first day back at work after summer break!
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194 A Trak

Well holy cow...he's dropping like a rock! Almost 100 point drop in 2 hours. nailbite_smile


Today
8/22/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 363, 13th cycle sk 1.5u, 2t. 10% carbs
+2 325, 1oz 12% carbs
+4 294, 1t. 13% carbs
+6 311, 1oz 13% carbs
+11 313, FDCK treat
PMPS 286, 14th cycle sk 1.50u, 3t. 14% carbs
+2 194, 2t. 15% carbs - not interested in eating, but is licking gravy, will use appetite stimulant just in case this drop goes all night

Looks like he is breaking the bounce in a big way! We'll try some medium carbs/gravy to see if we can slow the express train.
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115 Yikes A Trak

Don't think the medium carbs did much to slow the express train!

Today
8/22/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 363, 13th cycle sk 1.5u, 2t. 10% carbs
+2 325, 1oz 12% carbs
+4 294, 1t. 13% carbs
+6 311, 1oz 13% carbs
+11 313, FDCK treat
PMPS 286, 14th cycle sk 1.50u, 3t. 14% carbs
+2 194, 2t. 15% carbs - not interested in eating, but is licking gravy, will use appetite stimulant just in case this drop goes all night
+3 115, 1t. 18% mostly gravy, 3 semi soft treats with glucose

Looks like he has busted this bounce. Will get a +3.5.

May be time at his next cycle to try the shaved dose from the droppage we had a couple of days before this bounce.
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115 Yikes A Trak

good catch anne! he took the express train on this one! glad you gave him some gravy & treats. nom nom nom - that was just what zener had in mind! :lol:

nothing like fall and back to school!
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115 Yikes A Trak

wow - look at Zener go! I hope the HC bumps him up some. The gravy should help.

Bummer on the back to work, but I hope it was a good one.
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115 Yikes A Trak

julie1220 said:
good catch anne! he took the express train on this one! glad you gave him some gravy & treats. nom nom nom - that was just what zener had in mind! :lol:

He absolutely loves his treats. We used to give him 5 each day pre-FD diagnosis, didn't realize they contained glucose. Now, he gets all excited when he hears us open the bag. Maybe he does this on purpose to get treats!

julie1220 said:
nothing like fall and back to school!
Ah yes! I wonder if Zener is going to pull this tomorrow so I will stay home with him and test all day!

We were planning to do a shaved down dose from his current sk1.5 after his low numbers Sunday morning, then he bounced back, of course. With great advice, we decided to shoot through the bounce and now it appears the bounce is breaking in typical Zener express fashion. Unless his numbers drop low enough for a full earned reduction, we are thinking about shooting the shaved dose in the morning. Does this seem reasonable?
confused_cat
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115;+3.5 103 A Trak

sounds reasonable to me. i'm not real experienced with dosing or the CH - but we don't want zener hanging around down here, so that seems very reasonable to shave it. a little bit can make a difference.

and it's one more opportunity for you to gather more info on what works/doesn't work for zener.

did ya give him a little more carbs with the 103?
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115 Yikes A Trak

Michelle and Mannie said:
wow - look at Zener go! I hope the HC bumps him up some. The gravy should help.
Isn't he something? He loves to take the express train! Using gravy from 18% and just added a drop of karo to it to see if we can slow him down and perhaps prevent another big bounce from a rapid and low drop. I hadn't tried karo before and since he isn't eating all that well tonight, thought it was worth trying and see how he reacts.

Michelle and Mannie said:
Bummer on the back to work, but I hope it was a good one.
All was calm and quiet. Students come back next week. Thanks for the good wishes!
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115;+3.5 103 A Trak

there are several people who use karo instead of gravy - i've used it when i got scared too. it's fast reacting, it just doesn't hold as long as the gravy. so you can't get complacent with it.
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115;+3.5 103 A Trak

julie1220 said:
sounds reasonable to me. i'm not real experienced with dosing or the CH - but we don't want zener hanging around down here, so that seems very reasonable to shave it. a little bit can make a difference.
Thanks, that's what we were discussing on Sunday, before he bounced back up. We were advised to try shooting through the bounce if we were okay with that, and we decided to try it. I believe it helped because he is breaking this bounce after only 2 cycles. Guess I didn't pick up the drop tonight from +11 to PMPS and realize it could be the bounce breaking, or we may have tried the shaved dose then.

julie1220 said:
and it's one more opportunity for you to gather more info on what works/doesn't work for zener.
Ah, yes...more data! Fortunately, I don't have an early morning meeting tomorrow like I did today!

julie1220 said:
did ya give him a little more carbs with the 103?
Yes, about 1 teaspoon of 18% carb FF with gravy and I tried 2 drops of karo on that since he hasn't been eating very well today. I'll test again at +4 and post.
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115;+3.5 103 A Trak

julie1220 said:
there are several people who use karo instead of gravy - i've used it when i got scared too. it's fast reacting, it just doesn't hold as long as the gravy. so you can't get complacent with it.

Good to know! I tried a little karo mixed in with the gravy, so I don't know if that makes any difference. He is acting just fine, only a little perturbed about another poke fest just a little over 24 hours after the last one! He is so very good about all this! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115;+3.5 103 A Trak

you know about the neosporin with pain relief, right? i'm thinking you do. makes those poke fest days a little more tolerable.
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115;+3.5 103 A Trak

julie1220 said:
you know about the neosporin with pain relief, right? i'm thinking you do. makes those poke fest days a little more tolerable.
No, I've not used it. Is this a gel or cream, same as for beans?
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115;+3.5 103;+4 109 ATrk

Slowing a little bit...with HC and a little karo though.

8/22/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 363, 13th cycle sk 1.5u, 2t. 10% carbs
+2 325, 1oz 12% carbs
+4 294, 1t. 13% carbs
+6 311, 1oz 13% carbs
+11 313, FDCK treat
PMPS 286, 14th cycle sk 1.50u, 3t. 14% carbs
+2 194, 2t. 15% carbs - not interested in eating, but is licking gravy, will use appetite stimulant just in case this drop goes all night
+3 115, 1t. 18% mostly gravy, 3 semi soft treats with glucose
+3.5 103, 1t. 18% carb gravy & 2 drops karo
+4 109, 1t. 18% carb food

He has two numbers fairly stable at +3.5 and +4, should I test again in 30-40 minutes or wait until his +5?
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115;+3.5 103;+4 109 ATrk

mmmm i don't know. but it's early enough in the cycle that he could definitely still be dropping except for the high carbs you gave him. i'd probably check every 30-40 minutes.

i'm so sorry we haven't gotten you info on the neosporin with pain relief. that stuff is awesome. punkin and anya scratched the top of my foot a while ago and i tried it on me - it's fab. makes the pain gone.

you want the ointment - you can slather it on at the end of the day and zener's ears will be healed by morning. some people put it on after poking, you just have to wipe off most of it before poking or it will goo up the test strip. i also have heard people say they put it on 20 minutes before testing to numb it - i think it lasts for a while though. i can tell a difference in punkin if we put it on at the end of the day. by morning he tolerates the poking a lot better. the ointment is kinda greasy, like vaseline, and it helps the blood bead up. i bought cream first and it seemed like it dispersed the blood throughout his hair instead of beading. that was aggravating!
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;+2 194;+3 115;+3.5 103;+4 109 ATrk

Thanks for the info and instructions on how to apply. I will go by Walgreens on my way to or from work tomorrow and pick some up! It's been 40 minutes since the last test so I'll get another and see how he looks.

How is the best way to edit the subject line when you no longer have room to post test numbers? It seem I'm having poke fests lately and run out of room! ;-)
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;2 194;3 115;3.5 103;4 109;+4.7 113 A

Looks like he may be surfing, using HCs though.

8/22/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 363, 13th cycle sk 1.5u, 2t. 10% carbs
+2 325, 1oz 12% carbs
+4 294, 1t. 13% carbs
+6 311, 1oz 13% carbs
+11 313, FDCK treat
PMPS 286, 14th cycle sk 1.50u, 3t. 14% carbs
+2 194, 2t. 15% carbs - not interested in eating, but is licking gravy, will use appetite stimulant just in case this drop goes all night
+3 115, 1t. 18% mostly gravy, 3 semi soft treats with glucose
+3.5 103, 1t. 18% carb gravy & 2 drops karo
+4 109, 1t. 18% carb food
+4.7 113, 3t. 18% carbs

I'll get another BG in an hour and see how things look.
 
Re: 8/22 Zener PMPS 286;2 194;3 115;3.5 103;4 109;+4.7 113 A

Jill & Alex said:
you're doing great, anne! what a nice surf!
Thanks Jill! I'm getting his +6 in a few minutes, then maybe bedtime. I've been using your glass of water alarm clock, and it is si much less disruptive than a ringing or beeping alarm clock!
 
Re: 8/22 ZenerPMPS 286;2 194;3 115;~3 103;4 109;~5 113; 6 10

Yes, Jill - that's my fav about your water alarm clock, it's silent!

8/22/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 363, 13th cycle sk 1.5u, 2t. 10% carbs
+2 325, 1oz 12% carbs
+4 294, 1t. 13% carbs
+6 311, 1oz 13% carbs
+11 313, FDCK treat
PMPS 286, 14th cycle sk 1.50u, 3t. 14% carbs
+2 194, 2t. 15% carbs - not interested in eating, but is licking gravy, will use appetite stimulant just in case this drop goes all night
+3 115, 1t. 18% mostly gravy, 3 semi soft treats with glucose
+3.5 103, 1t. 18% carb gravy & 2 drops karo
+4 109, 1t. 18% carb food
+4.7 113, 3t. 18% carbs
+6 106, 2t. 18%, 3 semi soft treats

I'll try and stay up until Zener's +7 and see if he starts up or stays on the surf board. He's having to wear pretty high carb board shorts to keep the surf going and not drop too low. Starting to think about shaving his dose depending on AMPS. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 8/22 ZenerPMPS 286;2 194;3 115;~3 103;4 109;~5 113; 6 10

you might have to shave his dose. it looks like you're having to work too hard to keep his numbers up.
 
Re: 8/22 ZenerPMPS 286;2 194;3 115;~3 103;4 109;~5 113; 6 10

Jill & Alex said:
you might have to shave his dose. it looks like you're having to work too hard to keep his numbers up.

Thanks Jill! Zener is on a sk1.50. We had to work pretty hard to keep his numbers up Sunday in the AMP cycle, then he bounced. So we kept the dose the same through the bounce, and he is breaking the bounce much quicker than he has before. He is starting to come up @+7 - 157, but he has had 1 2/3 cans of FF 17-18% carbs since his PMPS, plus 6 semi soft treats to keep him surfing.

We are not exactly sure how to shave the dose. Is it something we "eyeball" or do we squirt out a certain # of drops?
 
Re: 8/22 ZenerPMPS 286;2 194;3 115;~3 103;4 109;~5 113; 6 10

i've always eyeballed dose shaves, but some people count out drops. just pick one of these methods and stick with it. consistency is more important than anything else.
 
Re: 8/22 ZenerPMPS 286;2 194;3 115;~3 103;4 109;~5 113; 6 10

Jill & Alex said:
i've always eyeballed dose shaves, but some people count out drops. just pick one of these methods and stick with it. consistency is more important than anything else.

Thanks Jill! We'll make a decision which is easier for us and then use that method consistently. Is there a particular way to indicate on his SS that it is a shaved dose?

Zener's numbers are up a bit now so I'm leaving 17% food out for him, drank my glass of water and am off to bed.
 
Re: 8/22 ZenerPMPS 286;2 194;3 115;4 109;~5 113;6 106;7 153

what would you estimate your skinny 1.75u to be... 1.6, 1.65, or 1.7 (sorry for the error. it's late.) 1.5 a 1.4 or a 1.3? pick one and then make the next dose a little less.
my vet was hysterical when i told him my method of measuring doses such as 1.7, 1.8, or 1.9 units. bottom line, it doesn't really what you call it. being consistent is the key.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top