8/22 Walter AMPS 286, +7 238, PMPS 137 / Mandarin AMPS 270, +7 222, PMPS 281

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

I feel like the biggest idiot: I forgot to give Walter Insulin last night! :mad: When I saw his green pre-shot, I wanted to make extra sure that he would eat a decent amount, so I held off on the shot and put the syringe on my dresser. And that's exactly where I found it two hours later. I guess I just can't change my routine even a little bit, there's just too much going on with my foster kittens and two diabetic cats.

I did get some decent sleep... but Walter's number this morning is not making me happy. Neither is Mandarin's number... still no indication that the latest dosecrease is doing anything.

Little Iris almost gave me a heart attack this morning. I have a window perch in my bedroom and a tall cat tree on either side of the window, about five feet apart. The kittens like to jump from one cat tree onto the window perch and then onto the next cat tree. However, this morning, Walter was enjoying the fresh breeze and was laying in the window. Iris was on the highest level of the cat tree on the left, realized that Walter was in the way and rather than climbing down, she took a giant leap over him and landed on the top level of the other cat tree. I think my heart stopped for a full 30 seconds. Glad that she is feeling well... but I wish she would just be a little more careful.

Alright, I better get going: I have to eave at +1 to get to campus. I don't think there'll be any need to come home over lunch, so I should be back by +7.
 
Sorry you forgot to give Walter his insulin. Don't be too hard on yourself. He'll get back on track. It's just like a fur shot. At least you won't have to worry about him today. I hope Mandarin slides down for you. I'm glad Iris is feeling good. Sending prayers.
 
You're amazing for being able to juggle all you do. Walter will recover and you needed a good night sleep anyway. My heart would've stopped to...crazy little kitty. It's only the second cycle for Mandarin's increase....let the depot fill and hopefully he'll start coming down soon. Hope your first day back is a good one :bighug::bighug:
 
Oh man, so sorry to hear about the missed shot. But don't beat yourself up. You have SO much going on. Walter will get back on track. :bighug::bighug:

Silly Iris, no scaring momma bean.

I hope you have a great first day back!!!
 
Before Leda retired from such antics, we referred to our loft windows as the "scary window" and "scarier window" based on the heart stopping nature of Leda's routes to each one (one window required tightrope like walking, the other a flying leap). Glad Iris is feeling up to death defying leaps, even while I hope she sticks to safer routes.

Come on down sugarcat boys, the Lagoon is nice and cool and lots of kitties are out surfing :cool::cool::D:D:cat::cat:
 
I'm glad Iris is feeling good.

Ironically, she actually sounds less congested now that I have taken her off of all of her meds. She is also more active than ever! All four kittens are pretty fearless, but Iris is definitely the little daredevil in the bunch. She loves the cat wheel, jumping, climbing, and she can run up and down my stairs in record speed.

...and the first day back is going well so far. I am done with my first class and I have one more to go for today. I also just got the reminder call that my Civvie Capone has an appointment to get his kidney levels rechecked tomorrow morning (I found out that his Creatinine levels were elevated when they did his pre-dental blood work 2 months ago. BUN and Phosphorus were normal). I almost forgot that I had scheduled that... and now I have something else to be nervous about.
 
Christina, I surprise that you have been able to maintain all that you do as well as you do. No worries about the skipped shot. Things happen.........

Iris sounds like a piece of work!

Okay Mandarin, it's a race with Walter to the Lagoon!
 
Very nice recovery for Walter.:) ...and if his late drop is any indication, we might be in for an active PM cycle. Luckily, I only teach a night class on Tuesday, so I won't have to get up super early.

Mandarin is still being a totally flat cat. I just don't get it... and he's on a higher dose now than Walter. I know - ECID, but Mandarin used to be my little surfer boy. :confused:
 
Lots of vines and prayers for Capone tomorrow! I've read that kitties out of remission may need to go higher to get started on coming back down. I'm so sorry for you and Mandarin but he'll work the juice better soon. Walter...please surf tonight, mama has enough things going on and could use a break.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top