8/22 Vinnie day4 Lantus amps 210, +4 187

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/22 Vinnie day4 Lantus amps 210

A very low yellow for Vinnie today....you can get to uh....well, blues and greens from there Vinnie!
We'll all be planning that route
We're gonna take real soon
We're waxing down our surfboards
We can't wait for June
 
I see Vinnie was a former barn cat. My two were intended to be barn cats, but of course they were such cute kittens! What kind of KILL does Vinnie catch? Mine is strictly a grasshopper hunter...miserable failure when it comes to birds!
 
We have a lot of mice and moles and voles. He brings us one every couple of days that we politely decline, then he'll eat it. He doesn't always bring them to us though, I suppose he's not always altruistic. He does have some interest in poultry but can't climb or jump well (he's kind of a skulking ground-dweller as a hunter), so I don't think he's ever caught a bird. Used to catch a lot of lizards but I think he's lost interest in them with age.

Looks like you and Trouble aren't needing much insulin these days!
 
A middle of the night "Hi" and "Welcome to Lantus Land, Gary and Vinnie"
It's 2:00am, here, so I'm going to try to sleep
smiley-sleep026.gif
 
hi guys


please open a new thread when you are.

I noticed the dose went up to 7.50u this morning on spreadsheet...and your AMPS is a nice blue.

Please get a +1 ok? you may want to monitor this cycle today if at all possible

Let us know how we can help if you need it.

PS: good job getting your Profile going!
 
Like Ronnie, I noted the dose increase. Please review the Tight Regulation sticky on dosing at the top of the Board. Just as a reminder:

Modified Tight Regulation Protocol said:
"General" Guidelines:

--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I bolded the two areas you need to be attentive to. An increase of 0.5u is too much. With nadirs in the 200s, you would increase by 0.25u. I would have also waited the full 7 days given the blue nadirs, but that's your choice.
 
Ronnie & Luna said:
hi guys

Sienne and Gabby said:
Like Ronnie, I noted the dose increase. Please review the Tight Regulation sticky on dosing at the top of the Board. Just as a reminder:

Modified Tight Regulation Protocol said:
"General" Guidelines:

--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I bolded the two areas you need to be attentive to. An increase of 0.5u is too much. With nadirs in the 200s, you would increase by 0.25u. I would have also waited the full 7 days given the blue nadirs, but that's your choice.


please open a new thread when you are.

I noticed the dose went up to 7.50u this morning on spreadsheet...and your AMPS is a nice blue.

Please get a +1 ok? you may want to monitor this cycle today if at all possible

Let us know how we can help if you need it.

PS: good job getting your Profile going!

I'll transfer this to today's post upcoming.
I'm using the University of Queensland protocol sheet also linked in the stickies. http://www.uq.edu.au/ccah/docs/diabetesinfo/link4.pdf

"If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L)
Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on
if cat on low or high dose of insulin"

I think 7 units twice a day is a pretty high dose, so an increase of 0.5 is what's called for.

Thank you all for caring about us! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top