8/22 Tink AMPS 466 bouncy bouncy!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123906&p=1285587#p1285587

We're on a wild roller coaster ride these last couple cycles. Sheesh. Almost seeing ALL the colors of the rainbow! @-) Swung over 300 pts last cycle. Yikes!

It SEEMS that the few hours spent over 400 haven't affected Tink's overall mood yet (he tends to get a bit run down after spending a lot of time that high). He hasn't really been playing, but the other 4 P's are present. He seemed quite bright-eyed during the time he was in the blue. If only his brain would tell his liver that it's ok to hang out in the lagoon! Liver seems to insist on that top floor penthouse suite!

Was hoping to up his dose this weekend - but between his bouncing and my prior committment to help out in a Saturday event at work... maybe I'll have to hold 2u a bit longer. Any suggestions on that? Is it ok to hold this dose so long? I DO have the ability most days to do a spot check - but only one, on my lunch break.
 
Not considering your ability to monitor (which you do need to consider), I'd absolutely increase his dose. The protocol calls for re-evaluating the dose about every 6 cycles. Tink's been on this dose for 14 cycles, and the lowest he's had is a high blue number (160-170's).

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

so when you are able to do so safely, i'd increase his dose by 0.25. Getting enough insulin into a cat can really help reduce the bouncing. Tink just hasn't gotten to a good dose yet. Your goal with tight regulation is to get all of his blood sugar numbers between 50 and 120. He'll get there!
 
Ok... I would be able to monitor today's PM cycle but tomorrow I'll be away from home pretty much all day. I COULD take him with me, but he REALLY doesn't travel well, so I feel like that would be counter-productive. I WILL be home Sunday all day. I could increase Saturday at PM dose, but that still only gives me 3 cycles to monitor. Do you think that's safe? I could do a spot check on Monday, but not until about +6.5) and IF that looked scary, I COULD clear my afternoon to stay home (though the plan is to go trade up my car lease that afternoon).
 
Jen - have you seen Julie's post on Glucose Toxicity? You don't want to keep them too long in high numbers. I'm trying to think of ways that that can help you with doing an increase during the week. Is it at all possible to move his shot time up an hour so you can get a +2 before you head out the door? The +2 with Lantus is a very telling test. If it's about the same as the PS, you'll have a normal Lantus cycle. If it's lower than the PS, then you'll likely have an active cycle. You could use the results of the +2 to tell you if you need to come home for a test at lunch, and also whether you need to load the autofeeder with medium or even high carb food.

When is your event on Saturday? Just wondering if you could do an increase Friday night while you are home to monitor and still be home long enough Saturday morning to figure out what his cycle is going to look like and get the right food in the autofeeder.

Tink, blues are really nice, trust us - no need to worry about them.
 
I'm supposed to be at my Saturday event at 6am, but told them I can't leave my house till shortly after 6, due to his shot. So not really any way to monitor that. Adjusting his regular AM shot to be able to get a +2 COULD be done... but only by my getting up at 5am every morning - then attempting to go back to bed for an hour - which I know wont happen. So... I COULD... but I REALLY REALLY REALLY dont want to. Getting up at 6am is hard enough - especially on the weekends when I used to be able to sleep in.

Next Tuesday I WILL be able to get an AM+2 in as I am going straight to a site visit so dont need to leave my house so early. I suppose I COULD do this on Monday too - just come in an hour late.

Maybe I'll make that the plan. Increase Saturday PM dose, monitor Sunday, get a +2 Monday and Tuesday... and go from there. Both Mon and Tues I'd be able to come home for a spot check if the +2 gives me reason to.

This darn JOB sure gets in the way of things. :roll:
 
Increase plan sounds good. I can so relate on the need for sleep. Neko's on Levemir so a later nadir which works out this time of year because the we are up around +9 for rowing 4 days a week and I get in a quick test then. 4:30 in the morning however, is less attractive in the winter. :shock:
 
The first tool you use with low numbers is food - so a timed feeder can really be a blessing when you work. I just posted a link in Cairo's condo today about timed feeders.

When I had to go back to work while punkin was diabetic, we would set the timed feeder to open at +3 every day for his second breakfast. If he was lower than expected at preshot, we might put higher carb food in there to open at +3. We sometimes had it open at +3.5, +4 and +4.5 - a total of 4 compartments scheduled to open at 30 minute intervals. That last opening would happen at 11:30am. Then either my husband or I would drive home at 11:30 or noon to recheck him and if needed to refill the feeder and reset the timers to open again. I get off work early in the afternoon and we could have the feeder open every half hour til i got home if needed.

If Tink can be counted on to eat, a timed feeder can really give you peace of mind.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top