8/22 Spooky AMPS 141, PMBG 64

Status
Not open for further replies.

koala kim

Member Since 2012
Monday's condo:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77537


08/21 info:

AMPS 228
PMPS 144


Today:

Spooky threw up for both meals yesterday & for this morning's feeding. :sad: We managed to get some food in him afterwards each time. Thankfully, all was well tonight, and he ate all of his EVO 95% chicken & turkey with gusto. :-D
Voodoo, of course, did not. :roll: There's always one cat not happy with the menu... :lol:

He did not get a shot tonight. He was all over me when I came home around 7, so I gave him a couple of broken up Stella & Chewy's chunks, thinking a little snack wouldn't hurt. Now I'm wondering if his BG was way low, and that was his way to say "help me out here Mommy!"

We are back to growling, snapping, hissing. :sad: He did that to BearBear too though, so perhaps he just hasn't felt good the past couple of days. Now that he's eating good again, perhaps his snippy behavior will go away. One can hope...


@ Rhiannon- The testing feels like one step forward, two steps back sometimes. I know we'll get there! It's just frustrating to not be able to help him more now...

We have koalas at our zoo too! I've been to see them a few times, but of course- can't hold them. :sad: And our zoo is so packed...evidently you have to get their at the crack of dawn to find a decent parking spot. I went one day a couple of years ago about an hour after they opened, and I had to park in the auxiliary parking lot. :shock: Glad it's so busy though.

So sorry they didn't have them at the London zoo. :sad:

We don't have any platypus at our zoo either. :sad:
 
Re: 8/22 Spooky AMPS 141, PMPS 64

Kim, I am so glad you didn't give a shot tonight! Even that 141 is too low to shoot, in my opinion, if you are not getting a mid-cycle test. You should get an expert's input on what the lowest number you should shoot though. If no shot is given, then you use PMBG in the subject line. I saw the PMPS and thought you'd given Spooky a shot and got really worried. nailbite_smile Spooky is definitely responding to the Lantus and that is great! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 8/22 Spooky AMPS 141, PMPS 64

Anne & Zener said:
Kim, I am so glad you didn't give a shot tonight! Even that 141 is too low to shoot, in my opinion, if you are not getting a mid-cycle test. You should get an expert's input on what the lowest number you should shoot though. If no shot is given, then you use PMBG in the subject line. I saw the PMPS and thought you'd given Spooky a shot and got really worried. nailbite_smile Spooky is definitely responding to the Lantus and that is great! :-D
Liz
Oops! I'll fix that! Still learning the lingo. :lol: Although, now that you mention it, I think I already knew that ohmygod_smile

I know you had mentioned before about the mid 100's and being worried. I don't like not knowing either. I do hope Spooky warms up some more to testing. :-|

If his number is in the mid 100's tomorrow morning, I'll ask for advice. I'm afraid though I will be told it's hard to say what to do without more data. And then I feel guilty for not having it. Come on Spooky- let me test you by myself, please?
 
just checking in.

I think you're right. Advisors will want more tests. And you are doing pretty good with your circumstances.
Green is definitely a color that makes us feel good around here.
I'll go poke Sienne and see if she can come have a look.
 
I read some advice from Libby and Lucy in Fitzel's condo this week recommending a dosing protocol (when to not shoot her dose of 1 drop) due to testing limitations due to bean health issues. She might have some ideas for Spooky. Would you like me to send her a PM (private message) and ask her to look in on Spooky and make a recommendation? Of course, you could send the PM too, if you prefer.

Don't worry about the lingo. You'll catch on as you post more and read other posts. You are doing a great job with Spooky. This is really, really hard so give you and DH a big pat on the back.
Liz
 
Liz- I would appreciate it if you would send a PM. I'm not sure who you're talking about :oops: and would feel weird sending a PM out of the blue.

Thanks. I always feel like we're not doing enough. :-|

Happy news- I have a new great-niece! Isobel was born about 3 hours ago, and just got to see pics. :-D
 
Ok, I sent a PM to Libby. You may also get Sienne to weigh in. Both give excellent advice.

You're doing a lot. Just testing and giving shots is huge. Especially the testing with Spooky! Crazy cat. I hope he calms down soon. It will get easier.

Wonderful about your great-niece! Very exciting! :-D :-D :-D
Liz
 
Thanks Liz. I appreciate it. :smile:

He is a crazy cat! Well, when it comes to testing he most certainly is. Most other times, he's Mr. Laid Back.

Thank you!!! It's so funny because our nephew's GF & our niece (siblings) are/were pregnant at the same time. One down, one to go! :lol:
 
Just out of curiosity, can your husband manage to test Spooky without you there?

It would be easier to make suggestions with even one or two spot checks. If you've not done this already, the folks on Health can be very helpful with suggestions about testing. I know you're using a burrito. Some cats don't do well with being restrained. Where are you testing? Some cats will do better on a higher surface -- I usually test on the kitchen counter -- whereas others do better if you get down on the floor with them. Some members will test on their sofa and use the arm of the sofa on one side and their body on the other to keep their cat from squirming. What I would suggest is figuring out what works and taking Spooky to that spot as if you were going to test and just give treats. Any behavior that approximates what you want from Spooky earns a treat.

As for dose, I'm leaning toward suggesting that you lower the dose. There's no way to know what's going on mid-cycle and your PMBG, while a great number, is a little worrisome in terms of whether that was the nadir or a rise by shot time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top