8/22 Oreo AMPS 283 + 2 234 +3 210 +6 97 +7 100 +8 138 +9 151 PMPS 161 +4 87+8 104

Don't worry, Steve. You have the best tool at your disposal for handling Oreo's glucose levels. It's called insulin! Oreo is actually doing very very well on such a small dose of insulin and once you have the food thing sorted out and get more comfortable with lower numbers, you will be able to manage it. Feeding small meals and keeping him hungry is important. When you see a steep drop like you did at +3 last night, I would immediately feed a small amount of medium carb food to prevent a steeper drop and then you might not have needed to resort to HC food. Numbers in the 60s and 70s are safe numbers. We generally reserve HC for numbers under 50. Has someone provided you with this bit of reading? https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990

It might help for you to look at other kittie's spreadsheets to get some perspective on the idea that this is a marathon, not a sprint. Take a look at Ruby's 2020 tab when she was first diagnosed. She was in much worse shape than Oreo, but once I found this forum and started following TR, she got regulated within 2 months but still experienced some lows that scared me a lot at the beginning. Then she flattened out nicely until steroids came into the picture recently.
 
Don't worry, Steve. You have the best tool at your disposal for handling Oreo's glucose levels. It's called insulin! Oreo is actually doing very very well on such a small dose of insulin and once you have the food thing sorted out and get more comfortable with lower numbers, you will be able to manage it. Feeding small meals and keeping him hungry is important. When you see a steep drop like you did at +3 last night, I would immediately feed a small amount of medium carb food to prevent a steeper drop and then you might not have needed to resort to HC food. Numbers in the 60s and 70s are safe numbers. We generally reserve HC for numbers under 50. Has someone provided you with this bit of reading? https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990

It might help for you to look at other kittie's spreadsheets to get some perspective on the idea that this is a marathon, not a sprint. Take a look at Ruby's 2020 tab when she was first diagnosed. She was in much worse shape than Oreo, but once I found this forum and started following TR, she got regulated within 2 months but still experienced some lows that scared me a lot at the beginning. Then she flattened out nicely until steroids came into the picture recently.
Oh I just stated peeking at other spread sheets and I’m like oh wow look at the high doses and some same or higher results as Oreo. I’m hoping the dog food thing is what I’m seeing and sort itself out in the next days. If not we will go from there.
 
Oh
Don't worry, Steve. You have the best tool at your disposal for handling Oreo's glucose levels. It's called insulin! Oreo is actually doing very very well on such a small dose of insulin and once you have the food thing sorted out and get more comfortable with lower numbers, you will be able to manage it. Feeding small meals and keeping him hungry is important. When you see a steep drop like you did at +3 last night, I would immediately feed a small amount of medium carb food to prevent a steeper drop and then you might not have needed to resort to HC food. Numbers in the 60s and 70s are safe numbers. We generally reserve HC for numbers under 50. Has someone provided you with this bit of reading? https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990

It might help for you to look at other kittie's spreadsheets to get some perspective on the idea that this is a marathon, not a sprint. Take a look at Ruby's 2020 tab when she was first diagnosed. She was in much worse shape than Oreo, but once I found this forum and started following TR, she got regulated within 2 months but still experienced some lows that scared me a lot at the beginning. Then she flattened out nicely until steroids came into the picture recently.
and he’s gradually dropping now. Ok going to give it a few more hours before I look again.
 
Oh I just stated peeking at other spread sheets and I’m like oh wow look at the high doses and some same or higher results as Oreo. I’m hoping the dog food thing is what I’m seeing and sort itself out in the next days. If not we will go from there.
Cats have very fast metabolisms. High carb food usually affects numbers in a cycle and then levels out in the next one. Might want to put on those patience pants!

Keep an eye out for drops of 100 points or more. That's when you need higher carb food (but not HC). Post here if you need help, and put a question mark in the thread title to get more eyes on it.
 
I cannot not agree with Katherine about how well is Oreo doing on such a low dose and so quickly as well :) look at Chico’s SS how long it took us to regulate him. What you see today is most probably just bouncing from the low values he saw yesterday. The only thing we can do when they are bouncing is wait :bighug:
 
He’s turning away from it. :banghead:
I know this is super hard with so many other cats, but it would be a good idea to feed him small meals. Like a bigger meal at shot time, maybe half a can of Fancy Feast, and then a small meal (like a quarter can) at +3 and +6. What you want to do is keep him hungry in case you need to feed later in the cycle when the Levemir kicks in.
 
I know this is super hard with so many other cats, but it would be a good idea to feed him small meals. Like a bigger meal at shot time, maybe half a can of Fancy Feast, and then a small meal (like a quarter can) at +3 and +6. What you want to do is keep him hungry in case you need to feed later in the cycle when the Levemir kicks in.

Ok I’ll try that tonight and proceed with that going forward. All the others are super food responsive and I can get them in the Florida room easy.

Oreo is peacefully asleep.
upload_2021-8-22_14-44-51.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-8-22_14-44-51.jpeg
    upload_2021-8-22_14-44-51.jpeg
    57.2 KB · Views: 201
Back
Top