8/22 Monty: AMPS 121, +2 36, +2.25 75, +2.5 74, +2.75 64, +3 77, +3.5 76, +4 74, +5 85, +7 95

Great job the two of you!!

I wonder if my new habit of giving him a +9 snack is causing this?
Actually, it may. For a kitty who's pancreas is working, when your cat eats, the pancreas produces insulin the way a non-diabetic pancreas would. We will often suggest a offering a snack the way you have been as a means of helping the pre-shot numbers to level out.

Tom - how are you measuring the 0.1u dose? If you are not already depressing the plunger on the syringe, inserting it in the insulin and then releasing the pressure, that would be the way to measure your next dose. It will give you about a drop or "some" insulin.
 
To measure 0.1U I fill the syringe to 0.5, tap the air to the top and depress slowly until there is the tiniest gap between the 0 mark and the plunger. I wedge my thumb in betwen the handle and the barrel to make it harder to depress to get the dose as fine as possible.

So I should now reduce his dose to a drop using the method you described here?

I have shared the data with my vet and she has asked for a +8 or 9 and to call back to update them before they close.
 
My vet's suggestion is to definitely withhold insulin tonight.

She also suggested giving no insulin for at least 3 days and monitoring, but also agreed with the suggestion of dosing a drop as an alternative.
 
My vet's suggestion is to definitely withhold insulin tonight.

She also suggested giving no insulin for at least 3 days and monitoring, but also agreed with the suggestion of dosing a drop as an alternative.

Why don't you try a drop for a few days before attempting OTJ?
 
Great work both of you, Tom and Bhooma.

I’m going to be gone until tomorrow so I can’t follow back up but will second Sienne’s thought of dosing a drop.
Good luck!
 
I agree with Sienne and Marje - it would be nice to see if a drop can get rid of those blues. Congrats on the reduction - sleep well tonight.
 
Back
Top