8/22 Mishka AMPS 151 +5 86

Frogster

Member Since 2020
Hi )
It's the dead of night for me (or rather a very, very early morning), so I probably post this and hope for some answers later in the real morning.
In the past 5 days we changed diet, which is still LC, but slightly higher in carbs than her previous one. Her stomach is still struggling with it a bit, or probably she is eating a bit too much, or both. If it helps with her itching or not remains to be discovered.
Judging by her numbers I probably have to increase the dose back to 1U.
But the thing is I can't keep this ratio of tests and sleeping hours up any longer, I'm deteriorating, and I can't work.
So probably it is not that bad if we stay in the blue zone, as long as it is still a blue zone?
Any thoughts?

Previously - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-20-mishka-amps-135-3-110.233861/
 
I'm sorry to hear that you're wearing yourself out.

First of all you need to take care of you.

Blues are not bad...and personally if you're growing so tired that you can't function, you need to leave well enough alone....you do not need to increase until you've gotten some rest and feel that you're able to test more frequently - you could even drop back to SLGS if you needed to...it's important to keep yourself healthy and sane - this is a long term process not something that is one and done...

The other thing you can do is add some medium carb food - that she can tolerate - to her food - and yes it'll push her numbers up a tad but hopefully you can get some rest.

There's no point in making yourself sick or being a zombie (sleep deprived person) who is at the point of disaster - at some point you're going to make mistakes and then it won't be healthy for either one of you.

So, ease up a bit - get some rest! Resume the testing more vigorously when you're up to it.
 
Mishka needs you and you have to be in good shape to take care of her !!! :)

Treating diabetes is not racing to get to GREENS and remission! We all aim for this! I did at the beginning but realized that I was getting so stressed when numbers were not going down fast enough that I just let go and decided to take my time ! But now Ti-Mousse who was once at 8.5u is down to 4.5u with GREENS!

If you look at his SS, you'll see that you test a lot more that I do and I'm following TR also. As long as you have your AMPS and PMPS tests plus 1 or 2 in between and of course your before bed test which is important, that's OK; of course if you see numbers lower than usually, you increase testing to make sure Mishka is OK! That way it's gonna give you a little break. :bighug:

This sticky might help you "Is tight regulation possible with a full time job? YES"

Take it easy and take time for yourself ! :bighug::bighug:
 
What really helped me was finding a second test during the cycle that gave me a really good idea what was going to happen during the rest of the cycle. For a lot of cats, that can be around or just before onset. So if they are flat or down compared to preshot, it's a more active cycle. I couldn't stay up as late as onset (Neko onset at +5) so I found for us, the combination of +9 from the previous cycle, PMPS and +3 gave me good clues. I also looked for patterns, that meant over a few cycles. I played a few games of "guess the BG" when I was testing too, to test my theories. Plus I spend quite a bit of time just before bed, trying to analyze the spreadsheet and find similar day/nights with similar patterns the couple cycles before hand.

I was also willing to do two things to help me sleep more. First, leave higher carb food if needed to keep her safe. Second, if I needed a few nights of catch up sleep, I'd lower the dose for a couple of days. Then I'd increase back up when I caught up on sleep (provided the reduction didn't hold). You have to take care of you to take care of Mishka. :bighug: Mishka is looking much better lately.
 
Also, you don't have to test every two hours in every cycle. Like Wendy suggested, a +2 or a +3 should give you an idea of whether it is going to be an active cycle. If there is a significant drop at onset or you start with a lower than usual pre-shot, you would have to test more in those cycles. Otherwise, a test or two at different times each day can help you fill in the gaps in Mishka's SS.

For Mishka, it looks like a +3 might give you a good idea of whether she is going to drop later in the cycle and more tests will be needed.

You could hold the 0.75 for a few days till you are rested and ready for an increase. She is seeing good-enough numbers on it for you to take some time out for yourself before getting on the roller-coaster again! :bighug:
 
I can't thank you enough for your advice and support :bighug: I feel like an old ruin lately, but her recent dose decrease sprint made me - let's call it - a bit extra precautious :blackeye:
 
Back
Top