8/22 Mikan AMPS 236, +2 216, +4 164: PMPS 201, +2 214, +4 192

Mikanmama (Mikan GA)

Very Active Member
8/21/24

Good morning.

We increased the dose to 5.75U this morning.
It is strange - Mikan was doing better with half of this dose months ago.
One of many things I don't understand about FD.
Well, here we are. I hope this increase will do good for my sweet Mikan.

Happy Thursday and have a great day, everyone!
 
8/21/24

Good morning.

We increased the dose to 5.75U this morning.
It is strange - Mikan was doing better with half of this dose months ago.
One of many things I don't understand about FD.
Well, here we are. I hope this increase will do good for my sweet Mikan.

Happy Thursday and have a great day, everyone!
Hi Kit, boy are we confused about all things FD aren’t we? The whole thing makes no sense at times :banghead:

I’m sure your new dose will wake her up and get her attention. We just need a little more activity, but not “too much” as in mojitos:eek:

Let’s have a gentle slide down to the beach, Mikan :cool::D
And take your buddy, Ivy with you, please :bighug:

Wishing you a safe surf and lots of good luck with this dose, Kit. I hope you have a calm day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
8/21/24

Good morning.

We increased the dose to 5.75U this morning.
It is strange - Mikan was doing better with half of this dose months ago.
One of many things I don't understand about FD.
Well, here we are. I hope this increase will do good for my sweet Mikan.

Happy Thursday and have a great day, everyone!
It is such an emotional rollercoaster, isn't it? We have to keep increasing and it's disappointing, then they drop which scares us to death and we decrease the dose which gets our hopes up, then numbers go back up and we have to increase again.... up, down, up, down both their numbers and our emotions! We just have to keep plugging away regardless knowing that even in the ups and downs we are still making their life much better than it would be otherwise. :)

Good luck on the increase! Wishing for nice low but not lime greens! :D
 
Good luck with the increase. I hope this is the dose that breaks through for her. And I know hitting each new higher dose sucks. I wish there were more logic to this dumb disease. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

How is Mikan otherwise? I wouldn't say no to see some photos (heck, I never say no to photos of any cats :smuggrin:). ❤️
 
Hi Kit, boy are we confused about all things FD aren’t we? The whole thing makes no sense at times :banghead:

I’m sure your new dose will wake her up and get her attention. We just need a little more activity, but not “too much” as in mojitos:eek:

Let’s have a gentle slide down to the beach, Mikan :cool::D
And take your buddy, Ivy with you, please :bighug:

Wishing you a safe surf and lots of good luck with this dose, Kit. I hope you have a calm day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci,
I know, right? I wish FD were a bit more logical - something we can understand and predict!
I feel that I'm always three steps behind o_O
Well, we just have to keep trying. Hope this increase will make some difference!
Wishing you and Ivy a wonderful day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It is such an emotional rollercoaster, isn't it? We have to keep increasing and it's disappointing, then they drop which scares us to death and we decrease the dose which gets our hopes up, then numbers go back up and we have to increase again.... up, down, up, down both their numbers and our emotions! We just have to keep plugging away regardless knowing that even in the ups and downs we are still making their life much better than it would be otherwise. :)

Good luck on the increase! Wishing for nice low but not lime greens! :D
You totally nailed this, Heather! Exactly my sentiment and you said it so much more eloquently than I could!
Ups and downs - if it's too high I get depressed, if it's too low, I get anxious. If random, it absolutely makes me psychotic :rolleyes: Either way, it's hard on us!
And you are so right about our having to keep plugging away! Thanks for reminding me that we ARE making a difference, making their lives better.
I needed to hear that.
Wishing you and Shooter a wonderful Thursday, Heather! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck with the increase. I hope this is the dose that breaks through for her. And I know hitting each new higher dose sucks. I wish there were more logic to this dumb disease. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

How is Mikan otherwise? I wouldn't say no to see some photos (heck, I never say no to photos of any cats :smuggrin:). ❤️
Yeah, it totally sucks. But Mikan's doing well. She's in a good mood. Here's
20240812191222.jpg

Post-ear poke brushing time.

20240812191230.jpg

Come on Mom! Don't stop brushing!

:smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin:
 
Yeah, it totally sucks. But Mikan's doing well. She's in a good mood. Here's
20240812191222.jpg

Post-ear poke brushing time.

20240812191230.jpg

Come on Mom! Don't stop brushing!

:smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin:
SHE'S SO FLOOFY I JUST WANNA FACE PLANT THE FLOOF!
I'm glad she's in a good mood. And I'm super jealous she lets you brush her. Kit never has, which has always been fine until she wasn't as able to groom her back half. I am able to sort of use my hand to help pull out the shed fur, but she's not super thrilled with that either. :rolleyes:
 
SHE'S SO FLOOFY I JUST WANNA FACE PLANT THE FLOOF!
I'm glad she's in a good mood. And I'm super jealous she lets you brush her. Kit never has, which has always been fine until she wasn't as able to groom her back half. I am able to sort of use my hand to help pull out the shed fur, but she's not super thrilled with that either. :rolleyes:
She looooooves brushing. It's been an effective "reward" for being good at testing ;)
She lets me brush her tummy and I can raise her arm to do the armpit as well. This has been a blessing as her fur is so fine and easily makes little tangles. But she does demand. When I am in a hurry and give her just a few strokes, oh boy, you should see how she looks at me :p
 
Hi Kit, wishing Mikan all the best with the increase. Let's go girl :cat: Those pics are just too darn adorable . I hope you and our fluffy girl have a nice day :bighug::bighug::cat:
Thanks Diane!
Hope this increase will do some serious good!
She loves brushing so much that she spreads herself in all directions :p
I love watching her do that - she looks just so happy!
Hope you and Tyler are having a lovely day, Diane! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
8/21/24

Good morning.

We increased the dose to 5.75U this morning.
It is strange - Mikan was doing better with half of this dose months ago.
One of many things I don't understand about FD.
Well, here we are. I hope this increase will do good for my sweet Mikan.

Happy Thursday and have a great day, everyone!
You aren’t alone in this thinking. Bell was hitting <50 with just 0.5 units at the very beginning. A month later and she is hardly touching blues with 2.25. I keep needing reminding that my insulin hasn’t gone bad. It is confusing and frustrating! I’m thankful to this community for the reassurances.
 
You aren’t alone in this thinking. Bell was hitting <50 with just 0.5 units at the very beginning. A month later and she is hardly touching blues with 2.25. I keep needing reminding that my insulin hasn’t gone bad. It is confusing and frustrating! I’m thankful to this community for the reassurances.
Thanks @bluesunshine for sharing your story.
I'm sorry that you and Bell are experiencing what Mikan and I are going through.
It is so darn frustrating :spam::spam::spam:
But you are right. This forum has been such a life-saver for me. If it wasn't for the wonderful people in the group, I would have gone totally crazy.
Hope both Bell and Mikan start working the dose well! Hang in there! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
She looooooves brushing. It's been an effective "reward" for being good at testing ;)
She lets me brush her tummy and I can raise her arm to do the armpit as well. This has been a blessing as her fur is so fine and easily makes little tangles. But she does demand. When I am in a hurry and give her just a few strokes, oh boy, you should see how she looks at me :p

Me, currently.
d7f65bfb-e45d-4212-928f-75bac29f5d6b.jpg
 

Attachments

  • d7f65bfb-e45d-4212-928f-75bac29f5d6b.jpg
    d7f65bfb-e45d-4212-928f-75bac29f5d6b.jpg
    13.5 KB · Views: 68
Back
Top