8/22 Michael AMPS 309 +4 184 +9 225 PMPS 217 +2 333

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123898
Good Morning Everyone!
on 8/22 Michaels #'s @pmps +3 317. I didn't have room on the subject line to post this. He came down from 491. He is still in the pink as of this amps (8/22) 309. This must be his favorite color. Hope he decides on blue. He did. +4 184 Yea! Hope he wants to surf! +9 225 Nope decided he likes yellow. PMPS +2 333 back to Pink!
Have a great day! Wishing all the furbabies safe #'s.
Oh, and a big Thank You for being here for me!
Paula & kitty Michael
 
Re: 8/22 Michael AMPS 309

Have I given you some examples yet of people who have shot the full dose into normal numbers? I'm thinking about yesterday morning - I know you're not going for remission, but I think you would have a whole different experience if you can convince yourself that shooting the full dose into Michael regardless of the number would be to his benefit. The caveats - you have to be able to monitor after the shot, you don't shoot less than 50, and he should be feeling good and willing to eat. So in other words, don't do it if you have to leave home or if he seems like he's not wanting to eat.

Here is a post where we talked about it on Darin/Charlie's condo: 7/12 Charlie When you look at the spreadsheets that are mentioned, you want to look at the amps column, just scroll down until you start seeing the amps be green. Then look across that day and see what the blood sugar does in that cycle after the person shot a green. Notice how the first time it happens, they might get several hours of green.

After shooting green several times in a row, the spreadsheet will stop having pink numbers, then yellow, then eventually you see a sea of green numbers as the cat's pancreas heals. it's pretty amazing.

when i see Michael giving you a green preshot amps, like yesterday, i think it's an opportunity for you to get rid of the pink numbers and bring his whole range of numbers down out of those highs.
 
Re: 8/22 Michael AMPS 309 +4 184

Happy Friday Paula!!

Looks like Michael is clearing that bounce nicely! Hopefully he'll continue to surf or even go ahead and keep coming down a little more, but sometimes they'll bounce up, come down some and then bounce back up again. Just because they start to "break the bounce" doesn't necessarily mean they'll keep it down. Some will go up/down/up/down for several cycles until they finally settle down.

Don't stress out so much on the numbers...they are what they are! The people here will be watching along with you and will let you know if you need to increase, decrease or hold, and when you need to make changes. Yes, I understand it takes a "leap of faith" to trust a bunch of crazy cat people on the internet with your precious Michael, but our first rule is to be safe....after that, the protocol will really help to get his numbers better controlled but there's no quick fixes (Darn it!!)

It is important for you to learn to "shoot low" though, and yes, the first several times you do it, you'll be scared but if you'll post here and let us know you've got a low Pre-shot and want someone to help, we'll be happy to do it! We have an unwritten "rule" here too...if someone agrees to watch over you when you're shooting low for the first time or you're dealing with low numbers, they won't leave you unless they find someone else to help out.

If you get a pre-shot test that concerns you, just stall and post here. Make sure your first subject line is clear that you need help, like "STALLING..HELP!!" generally works....LOL

Don't feed Michael when you stall though. We're going to want you to retest him 20 minutes or so later and see if the number is rising without the influence of food. Depending on what happens will dictate what we'd suggest you do.

Of course, if you can't be home to test, are running low on any of the supplies in your "hypo kit" or something just tells you to the core of your being that it's wrong, you should skip or give a reduced dose. We DO want Michael safe first! Other than that though, please let us help the next time you get a pre-shot you're concerned with shooting. It really does work wonders to shoot those low numbers! I know it sounds wrong when you see a cat that can go from 400 to 200 and now you're seeing a 90 and we're saying "shoot!!" but when they start low, they usually have nice flat green curves...a cat that starts at 90 can't drop 200 points to -110....lol

Enjoy the rest of your Friday, and hopefully Michael will continue his nice, bounce breaking cycle and give you a good PMPS number tonight!

OH....and as far as that "World wide Vets with expertise in Feline Endocrinology"....that SHOULD be discussing diabetes! Hopefully your vet will come home from it better educated!!
 
Re: 8/22 Michael AMPS 309 +4 184

Yeah the concept of shooting low to stay low is very hard concept to wrap your head around, until the first time you do and see how the numbers really don't drop that much. Then you are like that was easy and painless. Great numbers for Michael.
 
Re: 8/22 Michael AMPS 309 +4 184

Thanks for the encouragement. After yesterday, just reading about shooting low #'s makes me nervous. But all I can do is try. When the time comes when I need to stall, I hope someone will be online the same time I am. I've been testing M on his right ear & applying Neosporin. His ear reall seems to bother him. Any suggestions what I can do to ease the discomfort? I know, try his left ear. Then he has two sore ears.
He is sooo good about letting me test, that it breaks my heart to see him uncomfortable.
After yesterday, I think his #'s a pretty good. Maybe he is trying to get use to lower #'s.
Paula
 
Re: 8/22 Michael AMPS 309 +4 184

I switch ears, right today, left tomorrow. By the time I'm back to the right ear it has healed. It helps also to apply a bit of noesporin prior to poking. That is all I have on ear pokes.
 
Re: 8/22 Michael AMPS 309 +4 184

just double-checking - your neosporin is one with pain relief added, right? not just plain neosporin? because it's the pain relief that does it. if it has the pain relief added, maybe you're not using enough. the directions use the word "slather" i believe. or maybe it's "generous" - either way, it means use enough. i put it on punkin's ear (same ear for 2+ years) every night and it was healed by morning. sometimes he got poked 20+ times a day and it worked for us. His ear was always healed by morning.

Beyond that, I'm not sure what to suggest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top