Re: 8/22 Michael AMPS 309 +4 184
Happy Friday Paula!!
Looks like Michael is clearing that bounce nicely! Hopefully he'll continue to surf or even go ahead and keep coming down a little more, but sometimes they'll bounce up, come down some and then bounce back up again. Just because they start to "break the bounce" doesn't necessarily mean they'll keep it down. Some will go up/down/up/down for several cycles until they finally settle down.
Don't stress out so much on the numbers...they are what they are! The people here will be watching along with you and will let you know if you need to increase, decrease or hold, and when you need to make changes. Yes, I understand it takes a "leap of faith" to trust a bunch of crazy cat people on the internet with your precious Michael, but our first rule is to be safe....after that, the protocol will really help to get his numbers better controlled but there's no quick fixes (Darn it!!)
It is important for you to learn to "shoot low" though, and yes, the first several times you do it, you'll be scared but if you'll post here and let us know you've got a low Pre-shot and want someone to help, we'll be happy to do it! We have an unwritten "rule" here too...if someone agrees to watch over you when you're shooting low for the first time or you're dealing with low numbers, they won't leave you unless they find someone else to help out.
If you get a pre-shot test that concerns you, just stall and post here. Make sure your first subject line is clear that you need help, like "STALLING..HELP!!" generally works....LOL
Don't feed Michael when you stall though. We're going to want you to retest him 20 minutes or so later and see if the number is rising without the influence of food. Depending on what happens will dictate what we'd suggest you do.
Of course, if you can't be home to test, are running low on any of the supplies in your "hypo kit" or something just tells you to the core of your being that it's wrong, you should skip or give a reduced dose. We DO want Michael safe first! Other than that though, please let us help the next time you get a pre-shot you're concerned with shooting. It really does work wonders to shoot those low numbers! I know it sounds wrong when you see a cat that can go from 400 to 200 and now you're seeing a 90 and we're saying "shoot!!" but when they start low, they usually have nice flat green curves...a cat that starts at 90 can't drop 200 points to -110....lol
Enjoy the rest of your Friday, and hopefully Michael will continue his nice, bounce breaking cycle and give you a good PMPS number tonight!
OH....and as far as that "World wide Vets with expertise in Feline Endocrinology"....that SHOULD be discussing diabetes! Hopefully your vet will come home from it better educated!!