8/22 Marley AMPS=367

Status
Not open for further replies.

laurencuth

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=102669

Can someone please look at Marley's spreadsheet and tell me if I should have bumped him up to 6.75?

Marley's pattern seems to be that we get a few blue numbers right at the end of being on a dose for 6 cycles. Then he bounces. I know bounces can last for 72 hours. Should I wait 72 hours to make SURE the numbers aren't on their way back down? I've done the reading, and I still don't know how to tell for sure a) if he is bouncing and b) when the bouncing has stopped.

Marley is having some new behavior changes. He is spraying the walls near his litter box, and he is becoming more aggressive toward the children. I'm terrified that we are going to make some tough decisions if aggression escalates. I'm so upset and crying over all of this today.
 
I think you were fine to increase his dose.

Have you spoken with your vet about the aggressive behavior? It may be possible to medicate Marley to help reduce the aggression as well as the spraying. (Often, Prozac or a similar drug is prescribed.) Is there any possibility that the kids are bothering Marley and he's reacting to them at other times?
 
They are bothering him in that they look at him / talk to him / try to walk by him. They never touch him. He used to run and hide from them, but now he lies in the middle if the hall and if they try to walk past him, he hisses and attacks their legs. He does the same to my husband. I am the only one who can walk past him. It's really a problem with the kids when they need to run to the bathroom and he won't let them by. They are scared of him now, and they never used to be. This behavior is new - started a month or so ago and has gotten worse. I will talk to my vet.
 
Lauren - I hope you can find a solution for Marley's behaviour soon. I know when Neko was in higher numbers for a while, she would get a bit "cranky". One thing you might think about is a Feliway plug-in. They are supposed to help calm the cat. I've also seen people use calming collars or Thundershirts.

I have a comment about your SS. I noticed that on the night of the 20th, he started at 344 at was a 152 three hours later. That almost 200 point drop in 3 hours would be a trigger for me to set a alarm for 2 or 3 hours later to see where he got to. I know it's hard to do with kids, but if you have the testing kit nearby and use a cell phone alarm, I find I can be up, test, and back to bed within minutes.

Good luck on this new dose. Hoping for more blues on Marley's SS soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top