8/22 Mannie PMPS 399, +2 360, +3 318, +4 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Mannie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning LL!! ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) (peppermint white mocha today! YUMMMMM!), and Happy Wednesday!

Dental day in MannieLand

8/21 RECAP:
8/21: fed meal at ps, mini meals @ +1, +2, +3: AM CYCLE: NO FOOD (ps , +1, +2, 3): dental day , after dental: FF EMedley Chicken Florentine 11%, Friskies Beef and Salmon in Gravy 19%, PM CYCLE: FF Chicken and Tuna 8%
8/21 amps 245: 1st cycle on this dose (S1.00u), reduced dose due to dental
+1 226
+7 58 (64 on retest), fed 11% MC :mrgreen:
+7.5 84 fed 11 % MC
+8 68 fed 19% HC
+8.5 96 fed 19% HC
+9 109 fed 19% HC
+9.5 149 fed 11% MC
+10 191
+10.5 204
8/21 PMPS (+11): 211: 1st cycle on this dose (F.5u), reduced dose due to dental
+1 285 fed 8% LC
+2 268 fed 8% LC
+3 225 fed 8% LC
+4 252 fed 8% LC
+5 fed 8% LC
+6 fed 8% LC
8/22 amps 402: 1st cycle on this dose (1.5u), fed 3% LC
+1 399 fed 3% LC
+2 418 fed 3% LC
+3 fed 3% LC
+4 410
+7 419
+10 410
8/22 pmps 399: 1st cycle on this dose (2.0u), fed 3% LC + Gerber Chicken BF
+1 440 fed Gerber Baby Food
+2 360 fed Gerber baby Food
+3 318 fed Gerber baby Food
+4 326

Yesterday was dental day in MannieLand. He did well - no extractions, and seemed to recover quickly. I dropped him off at 7:45, his dental was done around 8:45, by 9:30 he was in recovery, and by 1PM ready to come home. :-D :-D He did well when he got home. We had the initial wobblies, but appy was good, no nausea, he was alert. A little stoned, but alert. :lol: It was interesting though - I checked his BG when I walked in the door with him - good thing too. It was a 58. :shock: Seems the vet techs didn't do that while he was there. :shock: seriously? with a diabetic??? seriously! So we spent the next 5 hours trying to get the numbers up, which we eventually did. I shot a BCS for the PM cycle. There were alot of carbs behind that number, and I just couldn't trust him not to head back down later on in the cycle. SO we played it safe. We were also trying to get his shot time back on track: something that is so needed when DGS is here, as he is today. So.... super played it safe. So, Mannie - back to the norm today? Lubs ya big guy! cat_pet_icon

All is well in MannieLand. :-D :-D He has made sure! All has been inspected, and inspected once again. Seems that when one goes to the vetty, and comes home nothing is ever right, and everything smells funky. I have never seen his nose worked so hard! :lol: :lol: He was so happy to be back with his nanners too. He hasn't left them! It will be fun to see what happens when Nicholas tries to help him with them. ;-) Somehow I think Mannie will let him, things will be normal once again then. This morning we had a great test, feed, shoot and clean plate club (YAY), AND the auto feeder was ignored by Mannie, (again!) :shock: Elsa ignored it too!... Normalcy in MannieLand. :-D It is nice to be able to day that :-D :-D

Have a great day everyone. I am on DGS duty through Friday! YAY!!! Nicholas! it is a swim day today, and then wherever the skies and the weather lead us. as always we hope for a creek to a river.... I will try and get to condos, but it is so difficult when he is here. I will be thinking of you guys, and your furkids. Think blue think green kitties!

HEY EVERYBODY! I feel GREAT! thanks for coming and seeing me yesterday - I is sorry I smelled so bad - darn vetty - and that I was kinda out of it for a while, buts... I LUBS you guys! The iced soup was sooooooooooo good! and Tess' catmnit crisps soaked in milk - OOOOOOOOOOOO! The best! and Maggie's catnip laced custard YUMMMMMMMMMMMMM! So - how about a chillaxin' day? Maybe we could go to Rusty's and hang out on the porches? what'd'ya think? I kinda wanna veg today... See you guys later? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie AMPS 402, +1 399

Hey Mannie, The porches are ready for a day of chillaxin'. You should take it easy today. OK? Come over whenever you and the gang want. My papabean will provide us with liquid refreshment. And we can harvest some of the catmint to make catmint juleps. See ya later,
Rusty


Hi Michelle, This will be a good day for the Mannster to relax and get gradually back to blue/green. Sounds like you and Nicholas have a nice day planned. Enjoy it!

Ella
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie AMPS 402, +1 399

Morning! ~O) ~O)

Hi Jane - and thanks - it was a good dental. The 58 was a sicker, but we got through it OK. Today we focus on helping him feel better, still a little "hung over"this morning. ;-)

Hi Ella - Yes, it will, and that is the plan. He can relax, and get back to being just Mannie. Still a little off this morning, just the after effects I am sure of the anesthesia. Tonight we can start on working on getting him back to those blues he likes so much. :-D Thanks too on Nicholas - always fun!

Rusty! DUDE!! You are on! That sounds SOOOOOOOOOO GOOD! wow - really, he will? I lubs your papabean - he is the best! I so wanna harvest the catrmint too . I promise I won't eat too much before we gets to make the catmint juleps. See you soon! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie AMPS 402, +1 399, +2 418

Wow we missed your dental day :oops: :oops: :oops: weez is so sorry Mannie but so happy to hear you did well now lets just come down from that ugly red floor
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie AMPS 402, +1 399, +2 418

Hi Michelle, exciting day yesterday for Mannie and great news on no extractions. I bet that 58 was a shocker! You did a great job on bringing him up gradually with carbs. They are wobbly at first from the anesthesia, but I bet in no time Mannie will be back to himself and yard patrolling. Have fun with DGS. I bet he can't wait to see Mannie and hug him and nanner decorating, too. Mannie watch out! It looks like the Manster is giving permission for a day pass. Maggie's Vet Tech didn't bother taking her bg either last dental. He told me, "Maggie looks good." :lol:
Have a great day with DGS

Mannie, hanging out on Rusty's porch sounds like the perfect thing to do today. We can just lounge around and raid the Beans' frig, too. See ya soon at the curb, Mags
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie AMPS 402, +1 399, +2 418

So glad to see all is well again in MannieLand. I'm sure he's still feeling a bit icky from yesterday, but he's well on his way to making it all a distant memory!

Come down a bit, though, Mannie. No need for the 50s like yesterday, but maybe some yellows and blues??

Have fun with DGS!!!
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie AMPS 402, +1 399, +2 418

Nice on the dental! :-D What is the deal today though Mannie? Those reds are NOT a good color for you. I guess you got a definite "get the heck out of here" pass today Michelle! I imagine it is that BCS shot from yesterday but you gotta do what ya gotta do. Have a great time with DGS!

Chillaxin today sounds awesome. You need to take it easy today with all you went through yesterday. See ya soon! - Tarragon
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie AMPS 402, +1 399, +2 418

Hi guys .. it sure was nice hearing that mannie did so well at his appt (I hope yours was just as easy michelle!) Crazy on them not testing while he was there .. I'm glad you were able to get his numbers back up .. now he just needs to know it's ok to bring them back down! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie AMPS 402, +1 399, +2 418

Glad the dental turned out fine! Yes, the thing to do now is to get Mannie into better shape, for the anestesia to fade away.
The numbers will fall into place later. What a relief!
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie AMPS 402, +1 399, +2 418, +4 410

Hooray that another dental day was successfully survived! The numbers this morning are understandable, but time to come back down big guy! I'm sure he will be happy to see nicholas and get decorated w/ nanners again too!

Mannie, I'm on my way in the Furrari, we'll put the top down and totally blow out all the remaining vetty smell from your fur! You can just sit back and relax! -- Tess
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie AMPS 402, +1 399, +2 418, +4 410, +4 419

419 @ +4. :sad: These numbers about break my heart... They are understandable, but so s disheartening nonetheless. Well, on the good side at least they are FLAT. OK, so back to business tonight, back to the old dose, rebuild the shed and get those blues back. :-D

Hi Lisa - It's OK - no problem! He did do well, and I so agree - time to vacate the red floor. :-D :-D

Hi Ann - It was an exciting day - on so many levels. I am so glad that there were no extractions. Oh yes on the 58. I will mention that too them at the vet's office - so they can learn, hopefully, that they need to monitor the diabetics... what if I hadn't shown up early to pick him up????? And thanks - we did what we felt we needed to do yesterday, as he is so unpredictable. Nichols was glad to see Mannie, gave him a hug and a nanner or two. YUPP - Mannie has for sure given us a day pass. so we went to the pool, and are now off to the beach! SWEET!

Hi Amy - Thanks! I think he still does too - you can see it on his face. Slowly things are getting better. Now the bean has to help him with the numbers. I could so go for some yellows and blues right about now. ;-) :-D thanks - always fun with DGS!! :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D

Hi Melissa - yupp - he did have a great dental, now to survive the aftermath. :shock: :lol: oh yes on the reds and the get the heck out of here pass - that is a for sure! still i came home to check on him.... silly. and yes - it is all becasue of the BCS doses - I have no doubt. So back to the good one tonight. I just felt that I had no choice yesterday...

Hi Devon - oh yeah on them not testing. I will make sure they know - at least they can maybe flag his file that they need to monitor him. Oh yes on getting the numbers back down. oh wow!

Hi Pat - yes, in the end we really did. He's doing ok, better as the day wears on. :-D

Hi Helen - yes - that is the thing to do, and so we shall today. the anesthesia should be out of his system today, dose will be back on track tonight, shed should be refilling, so good to go! :-D all in all - it really is a huge relief. There is a reason for all that is today,and it will be better tomorrow. :-D

Hi Ann - oh yes - one more dental successfully survived. Thanks on the numbers today - they are just that. sure makes me feel bad, but i know thew why He was happy to see Nicholas, and DGS to see him - good deal!

Tess - WOO HOO!!! The Furrarir - I am so stoked! I LOISE the top down idea - that will do it! :-D :-D Pronise youn will drove fast? I LUBS That! See you soon! ~~ Mannie

Hey mr T! Thanks dude, i think so too.... I still feel kinda yucky, ya know? I will picks you up - we are off to Rustys! ~~Mannie

Maggie - i think so too! Off to Rusty's porches. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I like the raid the beans frig idea - way cool! See ya at the curb!! ~ ~Mannie
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie AMPS 402, +1 399, +2 418, +4 410, +4 419

Ah shucks, post-dental numbers + bounce = get the ropes.
 

Attachments

  • cat ropes.jpeg
    cat ropes.jpeg
    17.2 KB · Views: 493
Re: 8/22 Mannie AMPS 402, +1 399, +2 418, +4 410, +4 419

Ouch on today's numbers, Michelle. Tomorrow, Mannie will be back to nice blues, I bet :-D
I'm truly glad he didn't have to have any extractions yesterday. flip_cat

Thank you for visiting Checkers while I was gone today. :-D
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie PMPS 399

That's crazy the vet didn't check Mannie's BG after the dental. I have a dental scheduled for Furball in September. My vet told me they don't check the BG of a diabetic cat because they usually don't go low due to the stress. That concerns me. I am going to ask them to check her and hope they will.

Nice that Mannie and DGS had their usual routine with the nanners. I'm sure that made Mannie feel better.
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie PMPS 399

399 @ PMPS. UGH, but better. Mannie's appy is almost non-existent - dinner was baby food, at least he would eat that. ARRGGHHHH!!!!

Hi Anne - we may need two sets of those ropes! :lol: :lol:

Hi Barb - I so hope so - this high stuff is so stressful. :shock: ;-) and me too on the extractions- that was good news!! I hope you and checks had a good day today. :-D :-D
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie PMPS 399

Glad all is well in Mannieland and the dental went well! Hope Mannie is about done with the red zone and eases right back down for you. Have a great evening!
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie PMPS 399

Well, he's flat at least, hopefully that means the next cycle will be better! nailbite_smile Did you have appy problems w/ his last dental too?

Mannie? I'll bring some of the duck treats mom just fixed! They make everything taste soooooo good! You GOTS to eat! Just think of the Clean Plate Club!!!!! -- Tess
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie PMPS 399

We had lots of appy issues after Zener's dental. He would only eat when we were giving him bupe. Seems that the anesthesia had a dampening effect on his GI motility and he didn't want to eat because he couldn't work food through his system. Some kitties are sore and have discomfort after a dental too for a few days. At least you don't need to worry with those BLECH numbers.

Poor guy, we have paws crossed his appy is back on track soon! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie PMPS 399

Michelle, sorry Mannie's numbers are so high. He was so low when brought home that carbing up seemed to be the way to keep him safe. Good he's eating some bf. Sending some appy vines.
 
Re: 8/22 Mannie PMPS 399, +2 360

Hi All! Many thanks - been one stressful evening. At least the Numbers are starting to come down.

Hi Leslie - thanks! it was a god dental - he did do very well. Now just to get through the aftermath. He seems to be headed down, so this is good! :-D

Hi Ann - yep, at least it is flat. And I so hope so on the next cycle. I cannot tell you how stressed I am. I can deal with high Numbers, but this no appy ting is just awful! I had no issues with his dental last year - now the year before was horrific! This is so reminiscent of his dental two years ago - high Numbers made it so hard for him to rid his system of the anethesia, it was a slow process. He wouldn't eat for two days, was vomiting, numbers were red and black - omg! all because the combo of high glucose and something else that I have forgotten made it s hard for him to metabolize the anesthesia. OMG! The dental portion was excellent then and yesterday - the afterwards is just awful.... :sad:

Hi Anne - I thought of you and Zener and Liz - wondered how you dealt with it. Mannie's issue seems to be more of an inability to remove the anesthesia - it is just taking a very long time. Slowly things are better, but omg! I am so lucky that I was able to get him to eat when the Numbers were so low yesterday afternoon - went through alot of different ones to keep the carbs going. He'd only eat a type for one feeding and then no more. sheshhhhh! And thanks - I think if I can get his numbers down things will be better. paws crossed!

Hi Ann and Maggie - I do believe that I did the right thing yesterday - i had to, the same with the reduced dose. oh well, today is a culmination of a bounce, low dose, and dental aftermath. I think tings will be better tomorrow.

Tess - AWESOME!!! I lubs them - that would taste really good! THX! I will try - I like he baby foods stuff, so my mamabean has been giving me that. it's kinda good.... See you soon! ~~ Mannie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top