8/22 Maggie AMPS=88, +2=76, +5=65, +7=77, PMPS=98, +2=55, +4=54, +5=90

Status
Not open for further replies.
I find that i get much more blood - and more easily - if Girlie's ear is warm. Have you tried using some rice in a sock warmed very briefly in the microwave before you try to prick Maggie's ears? That has worked for me in the past.
Yes, I did that when we first started with injections, but stopped when it didn't seem necessary. Thanks for the reminder!
 
I'm starting to think the main reason Maggie's BG readings are getting lower and lower on smaller doses is so she can avoid the ear pokes all together by going into remission! Fine with me! :)
Oh I hope so! Go, Maggie, go! Girlie thinks I've developed a peculiar ear fetish, but she's fortunately very good about the ear pricks - she'd better be with the amount of tests I put her through. I use the lancing device with the AlphaTRAK2. I've tried to do manual tests a couple of times, but she clearly thinks that the AlphaTRAK lancet does a better job. Usually I can get blood with her on the lowest number (1); I only use 2 if her ears are cold and I'm lazy... It's still (officially, I think) winter here in Australia, so she gets the heater on when she wants for her arthritis, and then I have it really easy as her ears are already toasty warm.

Just looked at your SS: I love your numbers! So much blue and green there...:-)
 
I started out using the lancet, but have had better luck (usually!) by hand. Thanks for the words of encouragement Darrah! I see Girlie has had a nice string of blues lately. Way to go!
What I wouldn't give for your SS numbers, I tell you! Girlie is back on the trampoline again after her first sustained foray into the greens, but I'm hoping she stays away from the diving board for the next two days when I have to be away at work. She can be as entertaining as she wants from Friday to Tuesday, but she has to behave over the next two days. At least she's not in the blacks...yet... don't go there, Girlie, don't go there! :eek:
 
Girlie is back on the trampoline again after her first sustained foray into the greens, but I'm hoping she stays away from the diving board for the next two days when I have to be away at work. She can be as entertaining as she wants from Friday to Tuesday, but she has to behave over the next two days. At least she's not in the blacks...yet... don't go there, Girlie, don't go there! :eek:
Yes, they always want to be "entertaining" at the most inconvenient times, don't they? :rolleyes: Sending positive thoughts your way. :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top