8/22 Jetta PMPS 174 +1 143 +2 87 +3 58 +4 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacspets

Member Since 2011
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50474
Happy Monday.
Long night last night. Many thanks again to those who were up to talk to me. Looks like Jetta does get lower pm numbers. I'm going to try for a curve today.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta AMPS 365

Good morning! Looks like you had an eventful night. You did great! Hope you get some rest today and have a wonderful Monday!
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta AMPS 365 +3 170

Thanks Melissa! I'm so happy I was up with her. Like Julie told me, lower numbers at night! She's coming down nicely today, I think that's good. I'll check again at +6 and +9.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta AMPS 365 +3 170

Morning Jaclyn: good job last night!!! I know it startled you but all is good. If you don't have HC food with gravy around, it's a good idea to get it as the a/d is pretty carb loaded.

Nice to see her coming down today!
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta AMPS 365 +3 170

Thanks again Marjorie!

I do have some gravy food on hand. She's slowly converting over to canned food. She's been an Iams Original Dry free feed kitty her 13 years, so switching to canned has been a challenge. She likes the a/d thankfully and she takes syringe feeding really well, so I can syringe the gravy if ever needed...

Hope you and Gracie have a great Monday.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta AMPS 365 +3 170

wow, today's numbers look a lot better than yesterday's!

if punkin dropped from 365 to 170 at +3, i'd be certain to keep testing him in the next 3 hours. try to catch a 3.5 or 4 and see what jetta's doing. that's a lot of action.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta AMPS 365 +3 170

Hi Julie, Great advice as always! I got a +4.5 I couldn't manage one sooner due to being stuck on a conference call.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta AMPS 365 +3 170 +4.5 136 +6.5 127

Hi guys .. surfing nicely for sure! These blues look really good on jetta .. great job handling last night!
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta AMPS 365 +3 170 +6.5 127 +10 115

Pretty low +10. I even tried a second meter. That was lower -96.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta AMPS 365 +3 170 +6.5 127 +10 115

VERY nice day for Jetta....such lovely numbers! Will be very interesting to see what PMPS is.....will be watching.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174- need advice

So her PMPS is pretty low. She's due for her shot right now, but I'm holding off until I get some advice. Should I back down to 1u? OR test in a few hours? and go from there?
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174- need advice

Hello!

I am not a dosing expert by any stretch.....but.....I would go ahead and shoot....if you are going to be home and able to test. This is a rising number. That is just what I would do......you could always reduce Jetta's dose to 1.25 if you want.....but these are the numbers you want to see. Hate to lose the progress you are seeing.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174- need advice

I would go ahead and shoot, as well. You're seeing numbers going up. Remember, it will be about 2 hours before the new dose of Lantus begins to start working plus, you'll have food on board. All of that should increase numbers.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174

great job - it's like you're an old pro now! you should really be encouraged at how well jetta is settling in and responding to your care! some cats take a lot longer to settle.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174

Thank you Julie! That really means a lot to hear!!! cat_pet_icon I have to give credit to Jetta for being such a good patient. Will do on the +1 and +2. Already told DH I may spend another night on the bathroom floor. Fine by him, more room for him and the 2 civvies.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174

Very nice day,Jaclyn and Jetta! And a good PMPS, too. If you are going to spend the night on the bathroom floor I hope you have a good sleeping pad!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174

Couple of great cycles and some lovely surfing for Miss Jetta there. You're doing great - nice 'hooting tonight! Hopefully she'll continue the surf and you'll get to sleep in a bed instead of on the floor :-D !

Amy
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174 +1 143

WOW - awesome work going on here. You've done really well with jetta - it is so nice to see her responding so well. These are wonderful numbers! Good luck tonight. Jetta: be good and surf well.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174 +1 143 +2 87

So at PMS +2 we're at 87. She hadn't really eaten so I reminded her it was there and she ate about 2 tbps.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174 +1 143 +2 87 +3 58

Hills prescription diet a/d. It's their critical care formula.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174 +1 143 +2 87 +3 58

Here are the basic guidelines for dealing with low numbers:

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

So is the a/d is HC canned?
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174 +1 143 +2 87 +3 58

Jaclyn --

Do you have HC food with gravy? Rather than force feed a/d which lots of cats really dislike, most cats really, really like gravy. You can feed just the gravy part and not the solids which means your cat won't get filled up. Also, a 58 is a perfectly safe number. Sometimes, before jumping to HC, it's worth feeding LC and testing in 30 min. to see if the LC helped your cat to start surfing.
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174 +1 143 +2 87 +3 58

She won't lick the gravy. She's been on 50/50 a/d and lower carb food for the past week. Thus far she will not eat canned food unless it is mixed with a/d. She's been a dry food kitty for 13 years and given her near starvation pre-DX I'm happy to mix it until she is eating the lc stuff on her own. 58 is safe but won't she be dropping still for another few hours?
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174 +1 143 +2 87 +3 58

She may drop. Or, she may level off. There's no way to know. It's fine to feed the higher carb food now.

FYI - the A/D is actually a medium carb food (13%). If you were to use your usual mix of LC + A/D and add a bit of honey or Karo to it. would Jetta eat it? That's an alternative to gravy. (For cats with inflammatory bowel problems, gravy contains gluten and causes them to have GI problmes. They use syrup instead.)
 
Re: 8/22 Jetta PMPS 174 +1 143 +2 87 +3 58

She has IBD and there's still a suspicion of GI Lymphoma. Anyway, for now she seems to be leveling a bit. I'm staying with her and will post if anything comes up. I have my Karo next to me. I can hear her tummy gurgling a lot right now. Today was her first day off Cerenia and I'm wondering if that's having an effect on both her numbers and her tummy.
 
hi jaclyn - i'm going to keep checking with you and jetta for the next little while so sienne can go to bed. marjorie might be online too - i'm not sure. but we won't leave you alone.

looks like you might be at :15 or so after the hour? is that right? i'll check back at 9:45 my time - in 7 minutes and see if you've posted. in the meantime i'll go look in on other kitties and see how things are.
 
Hi Jaclyn:

Sienne is going to go to bed and Julie or I will be here with you.

Looks like she is surfing. When did you last test?
 
it's you and me baby! ;-)

with numbers in the 50's in the first half of the cycle, i think a check every 30 minutes or so would be smart.

just to add some perspective, we don't treat til they are below 50, but they aren't in any danger til the 30's or so. punkin popped up a 32 on me early on and never showed any signs of hypo. my only point in telling you that is that if you test and jetta's 40, don't panic. we're just going to feed him to pull him up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top