? 8/22 Ivy AMPS 353, +2 175,+3.5 81 +4 60 (Libre) +6 78 (contour), +9 122 PMPS 241, +1 400 PM Dose?

ETA, + 4 drop to 60 on Libre. Then she got a food bump from her regular 12% lamb food, right after I saw the bg number. Too fast to get an ear prick.

Will see if she drops again.
If she goes very low I will ear prick and test on the Contour meter.

day 2, This dose seems to be really kicking in (or is it the drop after the NDW of the new dose and the highs of yesterday, first day on the dose or is it a bounce break)?
I’m not sure how to interpret what I’m seeing. Any ideas? @tiffmaxee
@Angela & Cleo
Here’s a visual of this am so far:
upload_2023-8-22_10-25-34.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-8-22_10-25-34.jpeg
    upload_2023-8-22_10-25-34.jpeg
    20.8 KB · Views: 151
Update, Ivy has been surfing low all morning and I’ve been feeding her approximately every half hour something to keep her surfing.
I just double checked
BG reading 2X on the handheld contour meter. She was 78 and 81.

I assume I need to reduce her dose and go back down to 2.5 units, since we are SLGS and this is day 2 on this dose?
Can someone please confirm, I assume this dose is too high for her? Do you agree?
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Angela & Cleo
upload_2023-8-22_12-46-14.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-8-22_12-46-14.jpeg
    upload_2023-8-22_12-46-14.jpeg
    70 KB · Views: 127
From the sticky on dosing.
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.

Lather, Rinse, and Repeat!

How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:
 
From the sticky on dosing.
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.

Lather, Rinse, and Repeat!

How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:
Does it seem the higher dose was just too high? I gave 3 doses.
She hadn’t been giving daily nadirs 90-149 consistently with all the bouncing she does, so I figured she was due for an increase.
Do you think I was wrong having given the increase?
 
From the sticky on dosing.
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.

Lather, Rinse, and Repeat!

How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:
@tiffmaxee
Another question: Ivy is still very low, for her, now at +8 (64 on Libre).
Since she’s earned a reduction today,
** is it advisable to give a full dose at PMPS?? since she’s struggling to bring her BG up today, even this late in her am cycle.
I know she will still have a powerful depot at work for the next several cycles.
Thanks.
 
Lots can happen with the BG between now and PMPS. Post her +11 and that may help the decision. If the lowest she's gone is 78 on the Contour, that's not dangerously low. Since you were only on the 2.75 dose for 3 cycles, the depot would not have been completely full.
 
See what her BG is at pmps. Follow SLGS guidelines. It’s not that her BG is too low. It would be ok if following TR. It is too low for SLGS.
 
Lots can happen with the BG between now and PMPS. Post her +11 and that may help the decision. If the lowest she's gone is 78 on the Contour, that's not dangerously low. Since you were only on the 2.75 dose for 3 cycles, the depot would not have been completely full.
I am concerned that since this dose took her lower (for her), she may have extra momentum from the larger depot at the PMPS. It’s taken her all day to come up at all. she’s 185 now on Libre, which is much lower than her pre-shots, usually are.
I’d like to try to avoid an evening that repeats the day I just had with her feeding her every 30 minutes through the first eight hours of the cycle.
 
Lots can happen with the BG between now and PMPS. Post her +11 and that may help the decision. If the lowest she's gone is 78 on the Contour, that's not dangerously low. Since you were only on the 2.75 dose for 3 cycles, the depot would not have been completely full.
Her +11 is 200 on Libre. So while not “too low” just worried about the depot etc.
Do I shoot a full 2.5u (the reduced dose) in 1 hour?
Should I expect her to drop low again this coming cycle?
She sure didn’t rebound and go shy high like she usually does after a string of lows.
 
I am concerned that since this dose took her lower (for her), she may have extra momentum from the larger depot at the PMPS. It’s taken her all day to come up at all. she’s 185 now on Libre, which is much lower than her pre-shots, usually are.
I’d like to try to avoid an evening that repeats the day I just had with her feeding her every 30 minutes through the first eight hours of the cycle.
And now she dropped to 177.
upload_2023-8-22_17-9-20.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-8-22_17-9-20.jpeg
    upload_2023-8-22_17-9-20.jpeg
    21.9 KB · Views: 119
There's a good chance she'll bounce too. You've shot full dose on lower preshots. The little drop now is likely just a Lantus double dip. Where they do a tiny drop at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main nadir earlier in the cycle.
 
There's a good chance she'll bounce too. You've shot full dose on lower preshots. The little drop now is likely just a Lantus double dip. Where they do a tiny drop at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main nadir earlier in the cycle.
Give full dose?
 
She is going up now, what do you think you should do?
Ok I shot full dose 2.5.

Next question…should I not have given the increase yesterday based on her SS?
Should I have seen the dose would be too high for her based on her nadirs?
(Trying to understand things better.)
 
I'm glad you shot full dose. I didn't want to tell you what to do, I wanted you to figure out what to do.

With SLGS, you would increase if all the nadirs were above 149 on a human meter.
 
I'm glad you shot full dose. I didn't want to tell you what to do, I wanted you to figure out what to do.

With SLGS, you would increase if all the nadirs were above 149 on a human meter.
Based on “all nadirs above 149” I would have to say yes, they were above. So it appears I was ok to give the increase.
But then she couldn’t handle the increase by dropping to 78 yesterday.
So how do we make any progress?
Do I go in between the 2 doses next time (a fat 2.5 u dose?)
 
Back
Top