Gracie's 8/19 Condo
8/21 Recap:
AMPS: 153
+2: 227
+5: 340
+10: 314
PMPS: 294
+2: 289
+5: 244
+9: 115
+10: 107
Happy Fursday!!! Sending out healing vines to all who need them and hip hip hoorays for Beast and Ollie on their OTJ Trials. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, TARRAGON!!!! We love you, Lil T!
LBG has been a little brown blur this morning so I can tell she is much happier in green numbers than the ick numbers she's had lately. She was sitting on the back of the overstuffed chair in the den this morning and when I went up to love on her, she just fell backwards behind the back of the chair which is like a big pillow so she was kind of in a crack. She had her front paws straight out over her head and in her little contortion, she was purring up a storm.
It's been a rocky few days and we don't really know why. It started when we changed pen on the evening of 8/17. I still had a little bit in the old pen but it had been close to 50 days and so we decided to start new juice. ICK on the numbers! Thinking that it must not have been the pen (because it was BRAND new), we figured she failed a reduction so took the dose back up but that night, she skyrocketed into mid-pink. I gave her some R which brought her down for a little bit but she went back up. The next morning, I went back to the old pen just to see if it made a difference and she dove, little brown stripey paws first, from 193 to 35 in 2.5 hours. :shock: :shock: We knew it was going to be a hard bounce because the dives really do it to her. And she did and I gave her a little R as the bounce started and she surfed some flat mid-blue numbers for quite a while but then the bounce continued. The R knocked it back but didn't open that lev door. Since, by then, my old pen was empty, I started an entirely new pen and just chucked the other new pen. She bounced back up yesterday but I didn't give her R because it looked like the high before the break to me....and so it was as she started clearing the bounce. We also increased the dose last night. Word of caution to any new caregiver or lurker.....we have the data and experience to increase the dose when we think a bounce might clear. Please do not do this unless you have data and experience. We're hoping the increased dose will smooth her back out and those ugly bounces will be bye bye.
I did talk to Dr. B this morning about whether she felt there was any chance of a UTI since Gracie's numbers went wonky so fast. She said since Gracie has had no symptoms at all, it's doubtful but not impossible. So she wanted me to free catch some urine to bring in today. I asked her about a cysto but she said with Gracie having no symptoms and getting so stressed at the vet, she prefers to just see if there are any white blood cells, blood, or protein in the sample. If there are any of those things, then we need to do a cysto as any of those being present would be a hint that a UTI might be brewing. She said if the urine has none of those things and Gracie is having no symptoms, she would feel fine saying there is no UTI. We've been staying on top of the ketones and they've been negative. So...back to bidness, Principessa!
Jason left much to our sorrow as we were having such a wonderful time with him. Sorry to be absent and I see we have some new members. I'll be back around tonight; we've got some errands to take care of today. Have a super day! We sure missed you all!
8/21 Recap:
AMPS: 153
+2: 227
+5: 340
+10: 314
PMPS: 294
+2: 289
+5: 244
+9: 115
+10: 107
Happy Fursday!!! Sending out healing vines to all who need them and hip hip hoorays for Beast and Ollie on their OTJ Trials. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, TARRAGON!!!! We love you, Lil T!
LBG has been a little brown blur this morning so I can tell she is much happier in green numbers than the ick numbers she's had lately. She was sitting on the back of the overstuffed chair in the den this morning and when I went up to love on her, she just fell backwards behind the back of the chair which is like a big pillow so she was kind of in a crack. She had her front paws straight out over her head and in her little contortion, she was purring up a storm.
It's been a rocky few days and we don't really know why. It started when we changed pen on the evening of 8/17. I still had a little bit in the old pen but it had been close to 50 days and so we decided to start new juice. ICK on the numbers! Thinking that it must not have been the pen (because it was BRAND new), we figured she failed a reduction so took the dose back up but that night, she skyrocketed into mid-pink. I gave her some R which brought her down for a little bit but she went back up. The next morning, I went back to the old pen just to see if it made a difference and she dove, little brown stripey paws first, from 193 to 35 in 2.5 hours. :shock: :shock: We knew it was going to be a hard bounce because the dives really do it to her. And she did and I gave her a little R as the bounce started and she surfed some flat mid-blue numbers for quite a while but then the bounce continued. The R knocked it back but didn't open that lev door. Since, by then, my old pen was empty, I started an entirely new pen and just chucked the other new pen. She bounced back up yesterday but I didn't give her R because it looked like the high before the break to me....and so it was as she started clearing the bounce. We also increased the dose last night. Word of caution to any new caregiver or lurker.....we have the data and experience to increase the dose when we think a bounce might clear. Please do not do this unless you have data and experience. We're hoping the increased dose will smooth her back out and those ugly bounces will be bye bye.
I did talk to Dr. B this morning about whether she felt there was any chance of a UTI since Gracie's numbers went wonky so fast. She said since Gracie has had no symptoms at all, it's doubtful but not impossible. So she wanted me to free catch some urine to bring in today. I asked her about a cysto but she said with Gracie having no symptoms and getting so stressed at the vet, she prefers to just see if there are any white blood cells, blood, or protein in the sample. If there are any of those things, then we need to do a cysto as any of those being present would be a hint that a UTI might be brewing. She said if the urine has none of those things and Gracie is having no symptoms, she would feel fine saying there is no UTI. We've been staying on top of the ketones and they've been negative. So...back to bidness, Principessa!
Jason left much to our sorrow as we were having such a wonderful time with him. Sorry to be absent and I see we have some new members. I'll be back around tonight; we've got some errands to take care of today. Have a super day! We sure missed you all!