? 8/22 Govie pmps 104..Need Dose Advice. I just fed, no shot. Got no response from board

Status
Not open for further replies.
I can't stay up much longer. I'm sick and have 2 hospital procedures in the morning.

Can you do another test? How late can you give a shot, bearing in mind that you have to get the time back by shooting 30 minutes early once a day OR 15 minutes per cycle.

Given that there isn't a lot of data yet. Unless there is a very experienced person online to stay up with you, I would skip the shot.
 
Next time this happens, and it will cause you are dealing with a cat:cat:, try stalling or waiting an extra 20-30 minutes without feeding, to see if she comes up to a number you feel comfortable shooting.

Pity there wasn't an AMPS number this morning. Tonight was a perfect example of why we always test before shooting.
 
Next time this happens, and it will cause you are dealing with a cat:cat:, try stalling or waiting an extra 20-30 minutes without feeding, to see if she comes up to a number you feel comfortable shooting.

Pity there wasn't an AMPS number this morning. Tonight was a perfect example of why we always test before shooting.
I had to go to work that morning was unable to do a morning test. But last night I put the question mark in my thread heading and got no response for an hour and a half. I was very very discouraged having had nothing but good luck prior to this on this board. Now I don't know about stalling, I'm just learning about this. I don't know how long to keep going with it because I heard that if you delay the shot it takes this much off, if shoot too early it increases I don't know it's just too much right now I can't I can't sort it all in my head right now I'm getting really confused
 
But last night I put the question mark in my thread heading and got no response for an hour and a half. I was very very discouraged having had nothing but good luck prior to this on this board
I'm sorry no one was about, this happens sometimes, folk are very generous with their time but sometimes there is just more traffic than others:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Skipping was a good choice given the circumstances. He will get back on track.
Now I don't know about stalling, I'm just learning about this. I don't know how long to keep going with it because I heard that if you delay the shot it takes this much off, if shoot too early it increases
How long it makes sense to stall is down to your availability.

I'll try to explain.
If you usually shoot at 7am, but you stall and shoot at 8am, then your next shot needs to be 12 hours after you shot ie at 8pm, there is some flexibility though, you could shoot at 7.30pm (ie at +11.5) as long as the numbers were shootable, upto about 30min for most cats we don't see much of a difference.
In some cases, if a kitty bounces and numbers are very high, you may be able to safely shoot at +11, and get back to your normal shooting schedule straight away, though this is best done with some guidance from an experienced member, and there is no guarantee that they will be high enough to shoot that early.

So at some point, depending on your schedule, skipping may become a better option.


There is no limit really on how long you can stall for, it's more a question if you can put up with the altered shot time, I once stalled for 3 hours, I had to work my way back on schedule over about a week, changing the shot time by 30min each day. I was able to do that because I wasn't working at the time, if I had had strict schedule to adhere to then I would have had to skip altogether.
 
I'm sorry no one was about, this happens sometimes, folk are very generous with their time but sometimes there is just more traffic than others:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Skipping was a good choice given the circumstances. He will get back on track.

How long it makes sense to stall is down to your availability.

I'll try to explain.
If you usually shoot at 7am, but you stall and shoot at 8am, then your next shot needs to be 12 hours after you shot ie at 8pm, there is some flexibility though, you could shoot at 7.30pm (ie at +11.5) as long as the numbers were shootable, upto about 30min for most cats we don't see much of a difference.
In some cases, if a kitty bounces and numbers are very high, you may be able to safely shoot at +11, and get back to your normal shooting schedule straight away, though this is best done with some guidance from an experienced member, and there is no guarantee that they will be high enough to shoot that early.

So at some point, depending on your schedule, skipping may become a better option.


There is no limit really on how long you can stall for, it's more a question if you can put up with the altered shot time, I once stalled for 3 hours, I had to work my way back on schedule over about a week, changing the shot time by 30min each day. I was able to do that because I wasn't working at the time, if I had had strict schedule to adhere to then I would have had to skip altogether.
Oh wow..thanks..well stated. I get it, many thanks. Had a high number this morning which is to be expected I guess from skipping the shot last night I just figured better safe than sorry. But I just came home from work and did a plus three and got a 213
 
looks like she settled back in quickly that is good. I have done no shot when not comfortable shooting a low, or half dose. With half dose you still need to take into consideration that the depo is in play, so it's not a true half dose. I would have done the same thing since it was the lowest pre-shot number you have had. It takes a bit of time to get used to shooting with lower than normal pre-shots, and if you are like me, I actually preferred doing it when someone here was available the first few times so I can get used to it. Good job :)
 
looks like she settled back in quickly that is good. I have done no shot when not comfortable shooting a low, or half dose. With half dose you still need to take into consideration that the depo is in play, so it's not a true half dose. I would have done the same thing since it was the lowest pre-shot number you have had. It takes a bit of time to get used to shooting with lower than normal pre-shots, and if you are like me, I actually preferred doing it when someone here was available the first few times so I can get used to it. Good job :)
Hey thanks Nat.. boy did I feel lost yesterday after I just complimented how I always get an answer within like 10 15 minutes. That's why I did the pre-shot test like 15 minutes earlier so I allow for that time to get an answer. Even if that I just knew it was low and I'd rather not gave it at all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top