8/22 foster Tzuri (lev) - tinier dose or skip?

Status
Not open for further replies.

laur+danny+horde

Member Since 2009
last post is here .

My gut has been telling me that Tzuritza has been rebounding, and this morning she went from 402 to 119 in 3 hours on 0.1u with having eaten a full can of FF at shot time (well mixed with water). Should I stop insulin for a couple days to see what happens, or (gulp) try to somehow manage an even tinier dose?

Any tips for measuring the super tiny doses? I have seen the 'Romlin' fine gradations close up photos in the past, but the link seems to be broken now. Seems to me that someone was using some sort of calipers to measure the tinies? How do you deal with the air bubble issue on such a tiny dose?

advice please? It is always very much appreciated.

laur
 
I'm not sure I'm following your logic. You reduced the dose on 8/19 and numbers haven't improved. I'm not sure why you would think further reducing or skipping would make things better. I would hypothesize that you'd not only have pre-shots above 300, your mid-cycle numbers would be similar. Tzuri's numbers were better with doses larger than what you've been shooting. While there may be bounces, that's a normal part of the process. The insulin will flatten out the curve if you give it enough time and if you're at the right dose.

If you take a look at Gabby's SS, beginning in April, I've been increasing her dose. The bounces have been less and less and the curve has become flatter. This wouldn't have happened with dose reductions.
 
My logic is that if Tzuri's insulin needs have reduced, not reducing the dose would make her numbers worse.

Giving more insulin to a cat that drops nearly 300 points in 3 hours on a tiny dose seems real risky. Her drops are way steeper than what I see on Gabby. And I'm not home during the day to test, like you are. I am limited in how much I can test by schedule and medical issues. I am not dismissing your advice -- I've spent the last half hour or so pondering it -- It just seems to me that our two situations are pretty different. Thank you though.

laur
 
my suggestion would be to go back up to 0.25 and see if that will bring the preshots down. You can try front loading the cycles with food to prevent the steep drops. I haven't seen any kitties go OTJ directly from the 400's, usually we try to get them to where they are under 120 24/7 first.

I'm also thinking that if the possible fur shot last night left her at 400, then she's probably not ready to do it alone yet...
 
hi laur. i have to agree with the others. looks to me like Tzuri needs more insulin, not less.
for starters, i would take the dose back up to 0.25 unit.
just my thoughts...
 
How can I front load her any more with food? She ate a full can of FF between shot time and the +3 and still dropped 300 points.

I see your point on the possible fur shot, but the flip side is what if it wasn't a fur shot (I think it got in before Tzuri shifted), and that dropped her low, causing the 400? I have to keep an open mind for both possibilities. I hate this. My stomach is all in knots. I suppose the only thing at this late point is to see where she is in the morning.

laur
 
I can appreciate the difference in our situations. I'm actually not home during the day. I just have some flexibility with my schedule and arrange my shot times so I'm here to monitor early in the cycle. There are also some days when I can make a mad dash home for "lunch." I'd also encourage you to look back earlier in Gabby's SS. There was at least one day when her AM and PM pre-shots were in the 400s and she earned a decrease with numbers in the 40s at nadir. Gabby was notorious for her plummets. It has taken a great deal of experimentation and persistence and the input of several people here to get Gabby where she is now. I completely agree that you have to consider your schedule and other limitations that would have an impact on Tzuri's safety -- safety always comes first.

Are you letting Tzuri graze? As for food, I feed Gabby at pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3. This has helped to stop some of the plummeting.
 
Tzuri does graze. I test her then set her food out. She tends to eat at least half right away then finishes it up in a couple hours.

So I guess the consensus is to go back to 0.25. I appreciate the guidance.

laur
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top