8/22 Cosmo AMPS 484, +3 470, +6 263, +7 119, 7.5 104, +9 211, +10 274, PMPS 398, +2 277, +4 270

thebigfuzz

Member Since 2012
Yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-21-cosmo-amps-477-2-405-4-436-6-391-9-466-pmps-495.233938/

Sadly, no bounce break yesterday or last night :( A bit of a high curve, but no jumping off the Rollercoaster. He had a great day otherwise - engaged and hanging out with us, waddling around, rather than in the office - his high BG spot.

I woke up a bit late this am around +10.5 on his PM cycle. I reminded him that I am on vacation! He wasn't pleased, because he had eaten all his overnight food and wanted more... Immediately :rolleyes: A quick test was high 400's, so I am holding off till AMPS, much to his dissatisfaction LOL.
 
Last edited:
Gobbling up all his food! He even came into the kitchen while I was prepping his food this am :) I call those activity points LOL for a guy with bad arthritis, a torn knee ligament and neuropathy.

Have a good day everyone!
 
Nice to see Cosmo's bounce breaking :cat:, and that he actually listened to Briere Fur Mom. Now Cosmo, don't waddle into any shark infested waters, ok?
Hoping the HC stops the rapid slide...I'll be hanging around to watch and cheer if need be.
 
Do you think I should give him another snack? I'd kind of like to see where he is at at +8. Maybe the food will kick in?
 
It takes about 20-30 minutes for the food to go from the plate to the blood stream, so your +7.5 probably included his previous food.
 
Thanks @Wendy&Neko

I don't like that this is happening every 3 or 4 days :eek: and then he bounces to the moon in between...

I've been thinking about SLGS and how starting at too high a dose can set us back in the long run. We started at 2 when he was having all that stress and sickness in June. He is better now (megacolon) and not all stressed out. Is he on too high a dose still, do you think?
 
He had even worse numbers when he was on 2 units. Since then you changed his diet to high carb, which can make a huge difference in the amount of insulin needed. If he goes below 90, then his dose is too high.

As an experiment, you might want to keep daily track of how much kibble he eats. You have been recording it some days. Kibble is generally even higher carb. Might want to see if there is any correlation between diet and his numbers.
 
We've been feeding the exact same since 8/13 (except when he drops, he gets extra at those times)

3/4 can gastro wet at AM pre shot
1/4 cup gastro kibble to graze during the day
3/4 can gastro wet at PM pre shot
1/4 cup gastro kibble to graze overnight.
 
rainbowcat.jpg
 

Attachments

  • rainbowcat.jpg
    rainbowcat.jpg
    7.3 KB · Views: 108
Cosmo is good :cat:

I'm very happy that Cosmo broke his bounce, but the sharp drops every 3-4 days are concerning. He is probably going to bounce for a few days now.

I'm not sure what to do to prevent his paniky liver? It causes higher BG for longer than he is in ok numbers. Are the lower numbers part of his 'normal' non bouncy cycle?

Not sure what to do to help?
 
PMPS 398 (ate full can of gastro wet)
Dropping again at +2 277 (put out 1/4 cup, ate about 15pcs, gave 2 chicken treats with 1ml amino bplex)

Planning on a +4 test. Do think we need a +5?

@Wendy&Neko
 
Huge drop to +2, hope you can get a later test in tonight. Oops, was typing while you were. :p +4 will tell you if you need a +5.
I'm not sure what to do to prevent his paniky liver?
He has to spend more time in blues and greens. If you see fast drops, slow them down with food. Fast drops also cause bounces. The lower numbers are what his cycles might look like, without bounces. Though bounce breaking cycles have a lot of downward momentum, which can send them a little lower than they might otherwise go.
 
There are a couple members from elsewhere in the world who might be on later. I see a few of the UK members on now. Paws crossed for nothing too exciting.
 
+4 is 270 (I did give him a tsp of just the gravy of his gastro food at +3)

For anyone just tuning in, Cosmo broke his bounce today, is prone to steep fast drops, tends to late nadir, eats HC wet and dry food due to megacolon.

We aren't in the danger zone, but the goal is to slow his drops, so when he drops, it is a bit like a low number event for us. :)
 
I'm a little worried he may slide sharply again? He can go from 500-50 in the same cycle. I was contemplating whether I needed a +5 or +6.
 
Back
Top