8/22 Chigga AMPS~ 306 +4~329 CONFUSED...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Chigga (ChiggaButt)

Member Since 2010
Good afternoon everyone. Just wanted to check in and see if anyone had any advice. I've got Chigga on 2u of insulin and tonight would be her third cycle on it (unless it really was a fur shot though I don't think it was just based on her numbers it seems that way) and I am not sure what to do. Her numbers seem to be getting higher with the more insulin I give and I'm kind of scared to give her more insulin.

I don't know - I'm confused and scared and just don't know what to do. I'm taking her to the vet today for a check up - full blood work and ultrasound to check on her.

Do her number indicate that I need to still increase the insulin or am I going to high? It hasn't even been a month of her being back on so is it normal for her not to be regulated yet? Could something else be going on that's causing the high numbers? I'm going to ask my vet about doing a dental - he wanted to wait til her IBD and things had calmed down.

Ugh. I'm just frustrated and worried and feeling clueless. :sad:

Any advice would be helpful.

Thank you,

Erica and Chiggabutt
 
I think what you're not factoring in is the prednisolone. Pred will elevate BG numbers. You're going to need to work your insulin dose around the pred. So yes, Chigga will need a dose increase to 2.25u tomorrow at AMPS.

Also, your 6th cycle will start with your PM shot. There are 2 cycles per day. You raise the dose after 6 cycles/3 days.
 
You're fighting with the prednisolone which raises glucose, so I suspect you'll need to raise the dose.

A note on the prednisolone - it can really upset the stomach, so it can be helpful to feed something before giving it, so it isn't on an empty stomach. Docs tell humans this, too.
 
Thanks, Sienne. I'll raise it tomorrow. I'm hoping today when we see the doc that perhaps he may lower the pred dose or if we can possibly put her on budesdonide which apparently diabetic kitties do better on because it stays in the gut and doesn't affect the BG's (or at least as much) so we shall see what he says today.

BJM - thankfully Chigga typically is eating right before she gets her meds but that's really good advice so thank you.

Ugh. I really hate that she has to be on the steroid at all but when we tried to take it down to every other day she started to throw up more frequently again - there's no doubt she needs it as a diet change didn't do the trick to take care of her IBD. As long as she's happy then that's all that matters, right? I just feel bad for her. They're also going to check her protein levels today as they are keeping an eye on her kidneys. Just wish she could get a break.
 
BJM - I did actually - it's been a great help and I feel lucky too because a lot of people on that board have little kitties less than 2 years old already dx with IBD and my Chigga is 12. I would do anything for my little fur baby.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top