8/22 Chewie AMPS 389/ +2 392 /+4 402/ PMPS 359

Virginie & Chewie (GA)

Member Since 2022
Previous thread

Since Chewie started being in the pink at PS, her numbers at +2 have invariably been higher than at PS, but have been lower when tested at +3, I wonder if she might have a later onset than most cats?

I think I'll test again at +3, just out of curiosity.
 
All the AM cycle +2s on Chewie's sheet are pretty much flat with the AMPS numbers, if you take into account the 20% meter variance. Not sure if you learned about meter variance yet?
 
All the AM cycle +2s on Chewie's sheet are pretty much flat with the AMPS numbers, if you take into account the 20% meter variance. Not sure if you learned about meter variance yet?
I have not - what does it mean? Is it the accuracy margin of meters?

Also while I'm quizzing you :cat: what does a "high and flat curve" mean? Is it something that happens when the cat doesn't have enough insulin in their system yet?

at +4 she was at 402... I sniffed her fur all over the area where I injected but couldn't smell insulin, so not sure what's going on.
 
Last edited:
yes a high and flat curve is an insulin cycle where kitty's BG stays pretty high but is stable and not spiking up or diving down. High for the BG level, flat for the flatness of the line if you were to graph it.

402 is not a bad number for this early in the game imo but I'm no expert guru person just someone who recently went through it.

[edit] every time you shoot it is considered a new 12 hour insulin cycle. Multiple tests taken during this 12-hour period is the curve part.


20% meter variance is basically accuracy of a test, yes. BG meters are required to have a +/- 20% accuracy. I think there's a sticky on it somewhere let me look
 
Thanks @Hendrick Cuddleclaw - I searched the board for that phrase, and from what I understand it means that any number that's within 20% under or above can be considered the same?
I guess at this early stage of treatment it doesn't matter all that much, compared to when cats actually get to healthy range!
According to TR rules, Chewie should go up 0.5 to a 1.5 units dose tomorrow, right @Wendy&Neko / @tiffmaxee ?
 
Since Chewie started being in the pink at PS, her numbers at +2 have invariably been higher than at PS, but have been lower when tested at +3
It's possible. Maybe try some tests at +2.5 and see if that's a better indicator. Neko had a late onset too and for her the +2 wasn't a good indicator of how the cycle would go.

Yes on the 0.5 unit increase. We've got our paws crossed she'll ditch those pinkies soon.
 
Thanks @Wendy&Neko - she just had 359 PMPS, I will test at +2.5.

Technically I guess I could increase her dose tonight since she has done 3 full cycles, but seems more prudent for later on to do it in the morning so I can monitor more easily. Hopefully we will start seeing some new color in that SS!
 
Back
Top